Gaming Console with Lollipop? Ouya Gets an Android TV Port

Android is a very flexible platform, and it can be used on a large variety of … more

Android App Review: Manage Your Connections Automagically – XDA TV

Material Design is all the buzz in the Android world right now. … more

Official TWRP Recovery Lands on Micromax Canvas Magnus

With the recent release of Android One, Micromax and MediaTek released fully buildable … more

Update Overload: SuperSU Heavily Updated

There are apps and apps out there. Very few can reach the level of popularity required to stay at … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Internet browser's window resolution is only 1280x710?

OP camspy

17th May 2014, 08:01 AM   |  #1  
camspy's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Vilnius
Thanks Meter: 231
 
380 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
In comparison with my laptop's 1080 and my desktop monitor's 1440 resolutions, the highest of all resolutions - my tablet has upsetting low resolution when I browse sites.

Any way of increasing it at least to 1080?
17th May 2014, 09:27 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Honolulu, Hawaii
Thanks Meter: 195
 
842 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
What makes you feel that the resolutions is low? The amount of info shown on the screen or the actual clarity of the image?

Sent from my SM-P900 using Tapatalk
17th May 2014, 10:55 AM   |  #3  
camspy's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Vilnius
Thanks Meter: 231
 
380 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
To make it short: http://whatsmy.browsersize.com/
17th May 2014, 07:47 PM   |  #4  
ShadowLea's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Enschede, The Netherlands
Thanks Meter: 1,012
 
4,045 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Maybe stop using Samsung's stock browser?
17th May 2014, 10:55 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Honolulu, Hawaii
Thanks Meter: 195
 
842 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
No, change the dpi setting for the browser using Xpo sedan module App Settings. Setting Chrome to 213 gets me closer to 1080 though not exactly 1080.

Text is small though so I'm not leaving it like this.
26th May 2014, 01:42 PM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
I am seeing 1280x800 on both stock browser and Chrome. I am wondering if that is just the browser that rescaled to make it easier to read the text. I will check my GN10 2014 to see it will say the same?
26th May 2014, 01:53 PM   |  #7  
ShadowLea's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Enschede, The Netherlands
Thanks Meter: 1,012
 
4,045 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by double07

I am seeing 1280x800 on both stock browser and Chrome. I am wondering if that is just the browser that rescaled to make it easier to read the text. I will check my GN10 2014 to see it will say the same?

I ran the test on every android device I have, none came above the 750 pixels wide. Which is a nightmare, because all the responsive design sites think anything below 1080 wide is 4" or smaller, so you get forced onto the mobile website with no way to the desktop version (as that's how responsive works, there's no "go to desktop view" and "use desktop mode" doesn't work.)
26th May 2014, 02:17 PM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShadowLea

I ran the test on every android device I have, none came above the 750 pixels wide. Which is a nightmare, because all the responsive design sites think anything below 1080 wide is 4" or smaller, so you get forced onto the mobile website with no way to the desktop version (as that's how responsive works, there's no "go to desktop view" and "use desktop mode" doesn't work.)

I misread. The screen size is 1280x800 while the browser is 1280x750 as you mentioned. However, the very strange thing is: The reading seems to vary. I am getting browser size from 1280x688, 710, 750 ???

Using Dolphin browser, the sreen size is 2560x1600 while the browser size is 980x525.

I am beggining to question the the test app? if it is getting the correct info or different browsers are really skew the resolution?

I don't know what to believe at this point?
26th May 2014, 07:32 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag Honolulu, Hawaii
Thanks Meter: 195
 
842 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Blech, I just realized that I had typos in my prior post. Have any of you tried setting dpi in xposed module App Settings yet? I have settled on a setting of 256 and get a browser window width of 1600 on the test site that camspy linked above.

Sent from my SM-P900 using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes