MultiROM Once Again Available for the Galaxy S4

Multiboot, or the ability to select betweenmultiple operating systems on a single device at … more

Build an Impractical But Awesome Lego Mindstorm Dock

The vast majority of what we cover here on the XDA-Developers News Portal relates to … more

MultiROM Makes its Way Over to the HTC One (M8)

While browsing our forum, you will undoubtedly find more than a few enticing ROMs available … more

Welcome to the New XDA-Developers Portal!

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we opened up the XDA-2015 forum themesto intrepid users … more
Post Reply

Internet browser's window resolution is only 1280x710?

17th May 2014, 07:01 AM   |  #1  
camspy's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Vilnius
Thanks Meter: 228
 
380 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
In comparison with my laptop's 1080 and my desktop monitor's 1440 resolutions, the highest of all resolutions - my tablet has upsetting low resolution when I browse sites.

Any way of increasing it at least to 1080?
17th May 2014, 08:27 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Honolulu, Hawaii
Thanks Meter: 179
 
780 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
What makes you feel that the resolutions is low? The amount of info shown on the screen or the actual clarity of the image?

Sent from my SM-P900 using Tapatalk
17th May 2014, 09:55 AM   |  #3  
camspy's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Vilnius
Thanks Meter: 228
 
380 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
To make it short: http://whatsmy.browsersize.com/
17th May 2014, 06:47 PM   |  #4  
ShadowLea's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Enschede, The Netherlands
Thanks Meter: 906
 
3,692 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Maybe stop using Samsung's stock browser?
17th May 2014, 09:55 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Honolulu, Hawaii
Thanks Meter: 179
 
780 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
No, change the dpi setting for the browser using Xpo sedan module App Settings. Setting Chrome to 213 gets me closer to 1080 though not exactly 1080.

Text is small though so I'm not leaving it like this.
26th May 2014, 12:42 PM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
I am seeing 1280x800 on both stock browser and Chrome. I am wondering if that is just the browser that rescaled to make it easier to read the text. I will check my GN10 2014 to see it will say the same?
26th May 2014, 12:53 PM   |  #7  
ShadowLea's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Enschede, The Netherlands
Thanks Meter: 906
 
3,692 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by double07

I am seeing 1280x800 on both stock browser and Chrome. I am wondering if that is just the browser that rescaled to make it easier to read the text. I will check my GN10 2014 to see it will say the same?

I ran the test on every android device I have, none came above the 750 pixels wide. Which is a nightmare, because all the responsive design sites think anything below 1080 wide is 4" or smaller, so you get forced onto the mobile website with no way to the desktop version (as that's how responsive works, there's no "go to desktop view" and "use desktop mode" doesn't work.)
26th May 2014, 01:17 PM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShadowLea

I ran the test on every android device I have, none came above the 750 pixels wide. Which is a nightmare, because all the responsive design sites think anything below 1080 wide is 4" or smaller, so you get forced onto the mobile website with no way to the desktop version (as that's how responsive works, there's no "go to desktop view" and "use desktop mode" doesn't work.)

I misread. The screen size is 1280x800 while the browser is 1280x750 as you mentioned. However, the very strange thing is: The reading seems to vary. I am getting browser size from 1280x688, 710, 750 ???

Using Dolphin browser, the sreen size is 2560x1600 while the browser size is 980x525.

I am beggining to question the the test app? if it is getting the correct info or different browsers are really skew the resolution?

I don't know what to believe at this point?
26th May 2014, 06:32 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag Honolulu, Hawaii
Thanks Meter: 179
 
780 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Blech, I just realized that I had typos in my prior post. Have any of you tried setting dpi in xposed module App Settings yet? I have settled on a setting of 256 and get a browser window width of 1600 on the test site that camspy linked above.

Sent from my SM-P900 using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Galaxy Note Pro 12.2 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank