Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,739,099 Members 45,618 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Soft brick when trying to root

Tip us?
 
fylim
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 41
Posts: 560
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: PETALING JAYA
Default Soft brick when trying to root

Hi, folks

I was using this procedure to root my Note 3 Neo SM-N750

http://androidxda.com/root-samsung-g...-3-neo-sm-n750

But when I started flashing with Odin, it got stuck at writing Cache.img and screen when black with lots of coloured dots. Please see attached file for odin error screenshot.

Now it says I have to recover with Kies when powering up the phone.

Please advise.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	odin.JPG
Views:	68
Size:	96.7 KB
ID:	2757284  
 
sgatechwork
Old
#2  
sgatechwork's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 296
Posts: 419
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mumbai
i also faced the same long time ago u must be rooting ur device 2nd time.. be this only happen at 2nd time root on a new phone 1st time root it works totally fine.. bt if u flash stock.. rom and than again you try to root than it stuck... than u will c some gots lime video games... and phone gets heated.. than u hav 2 pull out battery .. bro when this thing happend 2 me.. my phone was just 2 days old so i went to service center to DO my phone means replacment i got a new phone... bt am sure.. dis will happen 2 this phone also.. bt am nt gonna do d same thing again flashing a stock rom than try 2 root again.. bt aftee facing that issue i did little reserch.. and found d resion.. why it stuck.. its may b bec of partation size.. of cache try flash your stock rom.. go to recovery.. wipe ur cache partation.. and try again.. bec if that will mt fix this than there is only 1 thing which can fix dis that.. is flashing the fresh rom.. with pit and all other files.. nt just one package file bec pit file os the only way 2 repartation your mobile and wipe everything back 2 factory ... bt on o9 there is no leak of that firmware bec mostly that all files service center ppl having... and o9 u will get a kies extracted 1 package file.. that cannot repair ur phone it can just restore all d files.. bak to normal... try wipe ur cache partation... or u can also try firmware of another country.. than try 2 root.. any ways good luck...

Sent from my SM-N750 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
If I helped you,please press "THANKS BUTTON"....
 
fylim
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 41
Posts: 560
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: PETALING JAYA
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgatechwork View Post
i also faced the same long time ago u must be rooting ur device 2nd time.. be this only happen at 2nd time root on a new phone 1st time root it works totally fine.. bt if u flash stock.. rom and than again you try to root than it stuck... than u will c some gots lime video games... and phone gets heated.. than u hav 2 pull out battery .. bro when this thing happend 2 me.. my phone was just 2 days old so i went to service center to DO my phone means replacment i got a new phone... bt am sure.. dis will happen 2 this phone also.. bt am nt gonna do d same thing again flashing a stock rom than try 2 root again.. bt aftee facing that issue i did little reserch.. and found d resion.. why it stuck.. its may b bec of partation size.. of cache try flash your stock rom.. go to recovery.. wipe ur cache partation.. and try again.. bec if that will mt fix this than there is only 1 thing which can fix dis that.. is flashing the fresh rom.. with pit and all other files.. nt just one package file bec pit file os the only way 2 repartation your mobile and wipe everything back 2 factory ... bt on o9 there is no leak of that firmware bec mostly that all files service center ppl having... and o9 u will get a kies extracted 1 package file.. that cannot repair ur phone it can just restore all d files.. bak to normal... try wipe ur cache partation... or u can also try firmware of another country.. than try 2 root.. any ways good luck...

Sent from my SM-N750 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Strange. I pulled the batt and retry flashing same procedure and file and it worked! Glad else will be sad bricking the device on day and can't claim warranty since tripping Knox.
 
sgatechwork
Old
#4  
sgatechwork's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 296
Posts: 419
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mumbai
it worked its good but most of the it dosent work
If I helped you,please press "THANKS BUTTON"....
 
ron1999
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 19
Join Date: Dec 2013
How can it sometimes work and sometimes doesn't? It means that this sw is unstable that's all.

Btw, after a month with my 7505 i think it was a mistake getting it, its worth adding this 100$ and get a phone that runs kitlat.
This 4.3 android is just not as good

Sent from my SM-N7505 using Tapatalk
 
sgatechwork
Old
#6  
sgatechwork's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 296
Posts: 419
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mumbai
Quote:
Originally Posted by ron1999 View Post
How can it sometimes work and sometimes doesn't? It means that this sw is unstable that's all.

Btw, after a month with my 7505 i think it was a mistake getting it, its worth adding this 100$ and get a phone that runs kitlat.
This 4.3 android is just not as good

Sent from my SM-N7505 using Tapatalk
its depending on d issue which ur facing and d way and process how ur doing thinga depending upon that issues comes out.. and ya.. these flasing issue.. n all ntn to do wid OS even its jb or kk the basics r always same wid all android devices.. 4.4 just a next version of 4.3

Sent from my SM-N750 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
If I helped you,please press "THANKS BUTTON"....
 
ron1999
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 19
Join Date: Dec 2013
I could not understand a word
Any chance for another message in English?
(I'm guess I'm not updated with all the shortcuts u used)

Sent from my SM-N7505 using Tapatalk
 
fylim
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 41
Posts: 560
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: PETALING JAYA
Quote:
Originally Posted by ron1999 View Post
How can it sometimes work and sometimes doesn't? It means that this sw is unstable that's all.

Btw, after a month with my 7505 i think it was a mistake getting it, its worth adding this 100$ and get a phone that runs kitlat.
This 4.3 android is just not as good

Sent from my SM-N7505 using Tapatalk
I don't know why it didn't work the first time. I have had Samsung phones and rooted and flashed then since S1. So I know how Odin suppose to work. Else I wouldn't have flashed it one first day.

So this is one of those exceptions where I was stumped at least for 15 kind what when wrong.

Anyways .. All good now. As they always say use at your own risk.

Sent from my SM-N750 using XDA Free mobile app

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Browse the Internet with the Innovative Atlas Web Browser

For the most part, Chrome, Firefox, and Dolphin Browser have no real rivals among … more

Choose from Over a Thousand Battery Styles with 3Minit Battery Mod

The battery style in stock Android looks pretty dull. It doesn’t … more

Organize Your Cloud Storage Files with Unclouded

Cloud storage services like Dropbox or Google Drive have grown in popularity dramatically … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: Blur Your System Notification Panel – XDA Developer TV

Listen, we love innovative applications and modules that … more