XDA Xposed Tuesday: XHangouts Will Improve Your Hangouts

Ever since Google started supporting text messaging in Hangouts many people have … more

Shattered Screen? Turn Your Broken Device into a Complete Media Center!

A cracked screen usually means you’ll have to spend a hefty … more

Gmail 5.0: Material Design and Multiple Account Support

Google started to materialize many of its applications right after announcing the … more

Some of Our Favorite Features in Android 5.0 Lollipop

Android 5.0 Lollipop is the latest major revision to Google’s mobile operating … more
Post Reply

Regarding power save mode

OP diablo009

27th May 2014, 12:03 AM   |  #1  
diablo009's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Atlanta GA
Thanks Meter: 1,344
 
5,540 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
When I turn on power save mode, I notice that it reduces both screen refresh rate, and brightness too.

Is there any way to allow reduced screen refresh rate, but NOT reducing brightness. Is this even possible?

Reason being that the screen is kinda too dim even in wee bit darker than normal light conditions. Right now I am toggling between auto and manual brightness based on where I am.

Sent from my SM-G900T using XDA premium 4 mobile app.
27th May 2014, 03:44 AM   |  #2  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 912
 
3,121 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by diablo009

When I turn on power save mode, I notice that it reduces both screen refresh rate, and brightness too.

Is there any way to allow reduced screen refresh rate, but NOT reducing brightness. Is this even possible?

Reason being that the screen is kinda too dim even in wee bit darker than normal light conditions. Right now I am toggling between auto and manual brightness based on where I am.

Sent from my SM-G900T using XDA premium 4 mobile app.

Refresh rate? How can you tell that it does that?
27th May 2014, 03:46 AM   |  #3  
diablo009's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Atlanta GA
Thanks Meter: 1,344
 
5,540 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
It says that in the info about the power saving mode.

Sent from my SM-G900T using XDA premium 4 mobile app.
27th May 2014, 03:59 AM   |  #4  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 912
 
3,121 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by diablo009

It says that in the info about the power saving mode.

Sent from my SM-G900T using XDA premium 4 mobile app.

XDA is somewhat down right now. I've been trying to reply to you, but it keeps hanging. All power saving mode does is lower the CPU clock frequency. The refresh rate is never changed. The frame rate is, however. If you're rooted, you can reduce the CPU clock yourself with a number of apps on the play store.
The Following User Says Thank You to aooga For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th May 2014, 04:20 AM   |  #5  
diablo009's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Atlanta GA
Thanks Meter: 1,344
 
5,540 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
That's strange. Check the attached screenshot. It says it reduces frame rate.

What I finally ended up doing is install YAAB for brightness control (includes night mode too). This disabled the auto brightness n things worked out well.

Thank you very much for trying to reply. The very thought is appreciated a lot.



Sent from my SM-G900T using XDA premium 4 mobile app.
27th May 2014, 04:30 AM   |  #6  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 912
 
3,121 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by diablo009

That's strange. Check the attached screenshot. It says it reduces frame rate.

What I finally ended up doing is install YAAB for brightness control (includes night mode too). This disabled the auto brightness n things worked out well.

Thank you very much for trying to reply. The very thought is appreciated a lot.



Sent from my SM-G900T using XDA premium 4 mobile app.

Yeah, frame rate. You said refresh rate
27th May 2014, 04:32 AM   |  #7  
diablo009's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Atlanta GA
Thanks Meter: 1,344
 
5,540 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Oops. My bad.

Sent from my SM-G900T using XDA premium 4 mobile app.

The Following User Says Thank You to diablo009 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in T-Mobile Galaxy S 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank