Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Root and Flash ROMs on 757 firmware

OP matthewsucks

23rd May 2014, 11:01 AM   |  #21  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
166 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueether

"flash 290" was written a long time ago when it was the 'current' firmware. I would flash 757 first and see how that works out.

Oh ok, then I will try that. I have a C6802 but I can't find a 757 FTF for that, so I'm using one for the C6806, I hope that will be fine.

(Found the C6806 at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uFSeSe8gQOY through http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2714511)

Thanks for all your help and for taking out the time! People like you are what makes XDA great for learners and generally everyone, not just devs

---------- Post added at 02:31 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:26 PM ----------

Sorry, nevermind, found a Ukraine C6802 757 FTF here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2453921
23rd May 2014, 11:04 AM   |  #22  
blueether's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Thanks Meter: 1,522
 
3,191 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ishaang

Oh ok, then I will try that. I have a C6802 but I can't find a 757 FTF for that, so I'm using one for the C6806, I hope that will be fine.

(Found the C6806 at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uFSeSe8gQOY through http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2714511)

Thanks for all your help and for taking out the time! People like you are what makes XDA great for learners and generally everyone, not just devs

Yeah c6806 will do, it will make the ZU think it can get the LTE bands but will only connect on 3G

Thanks for the last comments, we all started as noobs
The Following User Says Thank You to blueether For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd May 2014, 03:47 PM   |  #23  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
166 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueether

Yeah c6806 will do, it will make the ZU think it can get the LTE bands but will only connect on 3G

Thanks for the last comments, we all started as noobs

So I finally found a download with good speed, for C6806 14.3.A.0.681 (Generic Hong Kong). Flashed it, and now the baseband and imei are back, the phone is fully working, and I have an OTA update notification for 757. Ofcourse, the bootloader is still unlocked and I do not have root access anymore.

Thank you so much blueether, I am glad my phone is back in working order!

I'm still interested in installing Slim though, could you point me in the right direction please?
Last edited by ishaang; 23rd May 2014 at 03:52 PM. Reason: Model number typo
23rd May 2014, 09:14 PM   |  #24  
blueether's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Thanks Meter: 1,522
 
3,191 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ishaang

So I finally found a download with good speed, for C6806 14.3.A.0.681 (Generic Hong Kong). Flashed it, and now the baseband and imei are back, the phone is fully working, and I have an OTA update notification for 757. Ofcourse, the bootloader is still unlocked and I do not have root access anymore.

Thank you so much blueether, I am glad my phone is back in working order!

I'm still interested in installing Slim though, could you point me in the right direction please?

try the [semi] official one? http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2712065
The Following User Says Thank You to blueether For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th May 2014, 03:00 AM   |  #25  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
166 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueether

try the [semi] official one? http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2712065

Ok so I followed the instructions on LordManhattan's guide down to every letter and managed to do everything right finally. Again, thank you for helping me out and the whole process made things clearer for me now.

Just one last question - now that I have a custom rom working with baseband and imei, and if I want to try a different custom rom like Carbon after a few days, are these the only steps I will have to take to install a new rom:

1. place rom zip and gapps zip on the phone/sd card
2. reboot into recovery
3. wipe data/cache/dalvik
4. install rom and gapps zips
5. reboot

or do I have to first:

i. flash NUT's 532 firmware
ii. Root it using Root_with_Restore_by_Bin4ry
iii. flash boot.zip (I used the one for which links are provided in LordManhattan's guide)
iv. then follow the steps 1 to 5 above
Last edited by ishaang; 24th May 2014 at 03:16 AM. Reason: typo
24th May 2014, 03:18 AM   |  #26  
blueether's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Thanks Meter: 1,522
 
3,191 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ishaang

Ok so I followed the instructions on LordManhattan's guide down to every letter and managed to do everything right finally. Again, thank you for helping me out and the whole process made things clearer for me now.

Just one last question - now that I have a custom rom working with baseband and imei, and if I want to try a different custom rom like Carbon after a few days, are these the only steps I will have to take to install a new rom:

1. place rom zip and gapps zip on the phone/sd card
2. reboot into recovery
3. wipe data/cache/dalvik
4. install rom and gapps zips
5. reboot

or do I have to first:

i. flash NUT's 532 firmware
ii. Root it using Root_with_Restore_by_Bin4ry
iii. flash boot.zip (I used the one for which links are provided in LordManhattan's guide)
iv. then follow the steps 1 to 6 above

Just the 5 steps, and I would be tempted to not wipe data, but I like to live dangerously If you are inexperienced I would wipe data as well, less likely to have issues.
The Following User Says Thank You to blueether For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th May 2014, 12:11 PM   |  #27  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
166 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueether

Just the 5 steps, and I would be tempted to not wipe data, but I like to live dangerously If you are inexperienced I would wipe data as well, less likely to have issues.

Everything worked out fine. Thank you blueether.

Turns out Slim has baseband issues for the XZU anyway, so Carbon is working out pretty good for me.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes