FORUMS

What Features Do You Look for in a Gallery App?

With so many different options to choose from, finding the right Gallery app may be a … more

Google Photos ‘Unlimited’ Storage Reportedly Being Capped

When Google Photos was announced, many of us thought very highly … more

Sprint Moves to Lift Video Streaming Limit for All-In

Yesterday, Sprint announced a new unlimited scheme that offered customers an … more

Xiaomi Releases Kernel Source Code For Mi4i

If you’ve been following the XDA News Portal lately, you might have noticed an … more

[Q] Internal memory leak?

26 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By pinoysw1mmer, Junior Member on 21st May 2014, 09:53 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
So I've been looking around and trying to fix this problem myself but I've had no luck. I've almost completely run out of internal memory. I'm not sure if its a memory leak or what but its starting to affect my phone's ability to update apps. Currently, of the 16gb I have <800mb left but it used to be as low as ~50mb.

At first I tried just moving every app I could to my SD card, and I already transfer and delete every picture and video I have on my phone asap. So afterwards I wiped cache a few times. Finally I completely wiped and reset my phone to stock and still only freed up 1gb of space. I then flashed the negalite ROM. With this new rom and the core set of apps I use, all moved to the SD card, I have 829mb of internal memory free.

I understand that I really only have 8gb to play around with, but this screencap shows that I have 7gb being taken up by miscellaneous files, yet when I check what's in there it does not add up to 7gb (nothing below those files goes above a few hundred kb tops). Is there any way to free up more memory without deleting literally every app I have? I don't think I even have that many frivolous apps.

So to summarize, my phone is a sprint s4 SPH-L720 with 4.4.2 running the Negalite rom, with only 800mb/16gb internal free, trying to free up more. Not sure if its a memory leak or what.
 
 
21st May 2014, 10:27 PM |#2  
daniel4653's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Southern California
Thanks Meter: 2,856
 
More
Do you have any nandroid backups with either philz,cwm, or twrp recovery? If so those are about 3-5gbs each.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk
22nd May 2014, 01:08 AM |#3  
CatFood's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Using a file manager that can show hidden files (ES can) look around and see if you see any folder named something like lost.dir or lost+found it might be that some deleted items were sent or left their instead of going into oblivion. I have had it occur before, after deleting the contents it freed up several 100s of MB to GB of memory.

It's possible it could be this.
22nd May 2014, 09:04 AM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by daniel4653

Do you have any nandroid backups with either philz,cwm, or twrp recovery? If so those are about 3-5gbs each.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk

Hm I just went through the CWM folder and deleted some old backups supposedly but those were only like 9mb big... The mysteries keep mounting!

And catfood I tried looking through the files with file explorer but I couldn't find a lost or a variation of it.

Thanks for the replies though every little bit helps!
24th May 2014, 02:20 AM |#5  
CatFood's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pinoysw1mmer

Hm I just went through the CWM folder and deleted some old backups supposedly but those were only like 9mb big... The mysteries keep mounting!

And catfood I tried looking through the files with file explorer but I couldn't find a lost or a variation of it.

Thanks for the replies though every little bit helps!

Do you have any cloud apps like Google Drive or something of the like? Try checking sync options, or the programs settings, something might be downloading data to cache offline.
Last edited by CatFood; 24th May 2014 at 02:39 AM.
26th May 2014, 07:39 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 35
 
More
Backup your data!

Install philz_touch_6.19.6-jflte recovery
then go to Mount and Storage Menu
do a format for{ system, cache, date and(( /data and /data/media ( /sdcard)))
Last edited by jam97; 26th May 2014 at 07:43 AM.
26th May 2014, 11:12 PM |#7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jam97

Backup your data!

Install philz_touch_6.19.6-jflte recovery
then go to Mount and Storage Menu
do a format for{ system, cache, date and(( /data and /data/media ( /sdcard)))

Do I have to install that one or can I just use CWM?


And catfood I will check my cloud settings.
27th May 2014, 03:29 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 35
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pinoysw1mmer

Do I have to install that one or can I just use CWM?


And catfood I will check my cloud settings.

I don't know but I used that recovery and it works for me.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes