Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,448 Members 41,232 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Internal memory leak?

Tip us?
 
pinoysw1mmer
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 23
Join Date: Mar 2012
Default [Q] Internal memory leak?

So I've been looking around and trying to fix this problem myself but I've had no luck. I've almost completely run out of internal memory. I'm not sure if its a memory leak or what but its starting to affect my phone's ability to update apps. Currently, of the 16gb I have <800mb left but it used to be as low as ~50mb.

At first I tried just moving every app I could to my SD card, and I already transfer and delete every picture and video I have on my phone asap. So afterwards I wiped cache a few times. Finally I completely wiped and reset my phone to stock and still only freed up 1gb of space. I then flashed the negalite ROM. With this new rom and the core set of apps I use, all moved to the SD card, I have 829mb of internal memory free.

I understand that I really only have 8gb to play around with, but this screencap shows that I have 7gb being taken up by miscellaneous files, yet when I check what's in there it does not add up to 7gb (nothing below those files goes above a few hundred kb tops). Is there any way to free up more memory without deleting literally every app I have? I don't think I even have that many frivolous apps.

So to summarize, my phone is a sprint s4 SPH-L720 with 4.4.2 running the Negalite rom, with only 800mb/16gb internal free, trying to free up more. Not sure if its a memory leak or what.
 
daniel4653
Old
#2  
daniel4653's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2,643
Posts: 8,231
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Southern California
Do you have any nandroid backups with either philz,cwm, or twrp recovery? If so those are about 3-5gbs each.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk


 
Team Kernelizers: Making the best out of your phone
 
CatFood
Old
#3  
CatFood's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 25
Join Date: May 2013
Using a file manager that can show hidden files (ES can) look around and see if you see any folder named something like lost.dir or lost+found it might be that some deleted items were sent or left their instead of going into oblivion. I have had it occur before, after deleting the contents it freed up several 100s of MB to GB of memory.

It's possible it could be this.
 
pinoysw1mmer
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 23
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by daniel4653 View Post
Do you have any nandroid backups with either philz,cwm, or twrp recovery? If so those are about 3-5gbs each.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk
Hm I just went through the CWM folder and deleted some old backups supposedly but those were only like 9mb big... The mysteries keep mounting!

And catfood I tried looking through the files with file explorer but I couldn't find a lost or a variation of it.

Thanks for the replies though every little bit helps!
 
CatFood
Old
(Last edited by CatFood; 24th May 2014 at 02:39 AM.)
#5  
CatFood's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 25
Join Date: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by pinoysw1mmer View Post
Hm I just went through the CWM folder and deleted some old backups supposedly but those were only like 9mb big... The mysteries keep mounting!

And catfood I tried looking through the files with file explorer but I couldn't find a lost or a variation of it.

Thanks for the replies though every little bit helps!
Do you have any cloud apps like Google Drive or something of the like? Try checking sync options, or the programs settings, something might be downloading data to cache offline.
 
jam97
Old
(Last edited by jam97; 26th May 2014 at 07:43 AM.)
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 30
Posts: 157
Join Date: Nov 2009
Backup your data!

Install philz_touch_6.19.6-jflte recovery
then go to Mount and Storage Menu
do a format for{ system, cache, date and(( /data and /data/media ( /sdcard)))
 
pinoysw1mmer
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 23
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jam97 View Post
Backup your data!

Install philz_touch_6.19.6-jflte recovery
then go to Mount and Storage Menu
do a format for{ system, cache, date and(( /data and /data/media ( /sdcard)))
Do I have to install that one or can I just use CWM?


And catfood I will check my cloud settings.
 
jam97
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 30
Posts: 157
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by pinoysw1mmer View Post
Do I have to install that one or can I just use CWM?


And catfood I will check my cloud settings.
I don't know but I used that recovery and it works for me.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes