Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,734,346 Members 46,952 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] XBMC PVR Working?

Tip us?
 
Sympl3x
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 82
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Edmond, OK
Default [Q] XBMC PVR Working?

Has anyone managed to get a PVR working on XBMC or SPMC on the Fire TV? I'm using Windows as my host with a HDHomerunPrime, and so far have managed to get TV channels and the EPG to show up, but when I play I get no sound. I've tried ServerWMC and NextPVR with more luck using ServerWMC (I use Windows Media Center as my primary PVR with Xbox 360 extenders)

I'm thinking my sound issue is something with surround sound, I've connected via optical to an older Sony receiver that supports basic DTS and Dolby Digital.

Also, the EPG is extremly slow to pull up and very laggy. I saw a video on youtube with a guy that had it working with an Ouya SPMC version, possible I need to try that.

If anyone has any input or tips that'd be great. If I can get this working smoothly I am to the point where I'm gonna cut the cord from cable an go to OTA channels with an antenna and apps for the rest.
 
KCHASE731
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 35
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Detroit, MI
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sympl3x View Post
Has anyone managed to get a PVR working on XBMC or SPMC on the Fire TV? I'm using Windows as my host with a HDHomerunPrime, and so far have managed to get TV channels and the EPG to show up, but when I play I get no sound. I've tried ServerWMC and NextPVR with more luck using ServerWMC (I use Windows Media Center as my primary PVR with Xbox 360 extenders)

I'm thinking my sound issue is something with surround sound, I've connected via optical to an older Sony receiver that supports basic DTS and Dolby Digital.

Also, the EPG is extremly slow to pull up and very laggy. I saw a video on youtube with a guy that had it working with an Ouya SPMC version, possible I need to try that.

If anyone has any input or tips that'd be great. If I can get this working smoothly I am to the point where I'm gonna cut the cord from cable an go to OTA channels with an antenna and apps for the rest.
I have it working with server WMC. I have a silicondust and a WMC as my host also. The only issue is the channel numbers were correct then i updated now they are not accurate. Im hoping this weekend i can play with different versions and get that working again.
 
Bray90820
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 189
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by KCHASE731 View Post
I have it working with server WMC. I have a silicondust and a WMC as my host also. The only issue is the channel numbers were correct then i updated now they are not accurate. Im hoping this weekend i can play with different versions and get that working again.
What cable provider do you happen to have
 
sadboyzz
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 44
Join Date: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sympl3x View Post
Has anyone managed to get a PVR working on XBMC or SPMC on the Fire TV? I'm using Windows as my host with a HDHomerunPrime, and so far have managed to get TV channels and the EPG to show up, but when I play I get no sound. I've tried ServerWMC and NextPVR with more luck using ServerWMC (I use Windows Media Center as my primary PVR with Xbox 360 extenders)

I'm thinking my sound issue is something with surround sound, I've connected via optical to an older Sony receiver that supports basic DTS and Dolby Digital.

Also, the EPG is extremly slow to pull up and very laggy. I saw a video on youtube with a guy that had it working with an Ouya SPMC version, possible I need to try that.

If anyone has any input or tips that'd be great. If I can get this working smoothly I am to the point where I'm gonna cut the cord from cable an go to OTA channels with an antenna and apps for the rest.
I have Fios -> hdhomerun -> MythTV -> cmyth on FireTV, everything works out of the box since at least gotham-rc1
 
Bray90820
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 189
Join Date: Apr 2010
I can't seem to get ServerWMC working all it does it say working then stops
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes