Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,771,386 Members 52,010 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] [A510] Just stopped working (can boot into CWM)

Tip us?
 
Ghoorg
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: May 2014
Default [Q] [A510] Just stopped working (can boot into CWM)

Hi guys,

My A510 just turned itself off with no apparent reason. Now I'm experiencing the following, looping :
- It tries to boot,
- freezes on the boot logo (previously "NoThrills", now "Acer"),
- vibrates and reboots.

I can boot in recovery (CWM). When I do, CWM apparently can't access the logs. Here's what I tried :
- wiping everything (data, cache, dalvik)
- restoring Nandroid backup (it was previously a NoThrills JB, now it's back to a stock JB) but I get an error when it tries to restore /data ("Error while restoring /data!").

My computer doesn't detect the tablet when it's plugged in... so I think I can't push or adb anything.

I guess it might be a hardware problem, but does anyone have any idea ? Maybe I could try to diagnose the problem?

Thanks a lot!
 
Shreps
Old
#2  
Shreps's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 551
Posts: 425
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Paris

 
DONATE TO ME
You can try to put a full update.zip on your sdcard, and flash it with your recovery
(a custom ROM or a full Acer Stock ROM)

You can also try to format every partitions via fastboot and then, reflash a proper ROM
* Acer Liquid S100 (LCR E/S/F, LiquidNext)
* Samsung Galaxy S2 (7comp)
* Acer Iconia A510 (CM10*, CM11, AOKP, 7comp)
* Acer CloudMobile S500 (CM 10, 7comp, MIUI)
* Acer Liquid E1 V360 (Root)
* Acer Liquid E2 V370 (CWM & CM11)
* Acer Iconia A1-810 (Root + custom UI/framework)
* Acer Liquid S1 S510 (Root + custom UI/framework)
* Acer Aspire P3 i3 (Dual boot : Windows 8 + Android 4.2.2 Root)
* Acer Liquid S2 S520 (Root + custom UI/framework)
* Acer Liquid E3 E380 (Root + custom UI/framework)
 
Ghoorg
Old
(Last edited by Ghoorg; 22nd May 2014 at 05:48 PM.)
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: May 2014
Hey Shreps,

Thanks for your answer.

- I tried flashing NoThrills' CM10 from the external SD card, it didn't throw any error (although it skipped formatting the boot partition as well as extracting the files to the data partition, I don't know if it's a valuable information or not). Now instead of having the Acer logo during boot, the screen is doing weird stuff and it still won't boot. I can still boot into recovery though.

- I'm not sure how to use fastboot on this device. I get the option to boot into fastboot on my Moto G, but not on my A510. Do I need to flash a more recent CWM to enable it?

Thanks!
 
Shreps
Old
#4  
Shreps's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 551
Posts: 425
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Paris

 
DONATE TO ME
Boot in Fastboot via physical button http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1747802
* Acer Liquid S100 (LCR E/S/F, LiquidNext)
* Samsung Galaxy S2 (7comp)
* Acer Iconia A510 (CM10*, CM11, AOKP, 7comp)
* Acer CloudMobile S500 (CM 10, 7comp, MIUI)
* Acer Liquid E1 V360 (Root)
* Acer Liquid E2 V370 (CWM & CM11)
* Acer Iconia A1-810 (Root + custom UI/framework)
* Acer Liquid S1 S510 (Root + custom UI/framework)
* Acer Aspire P3 i3 (Dual boot : Windows 8 + Android 4.2.2 Root)
* Acer Liquid S2 S520 (Root + custom UI/framework)
* Acer Liquid E3 E380 (Root + custom UI/framework)
 
Ghoorg
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: May 2014
Thanks!

Volume down + Power on + Rotation switch got me to a black screen with the Acer logo and the following on top :
"Bootloader Version JB-d0ca683 (Unlock Mode)" -> that's normal
"Bootloader VJB-d0ca683(UnlockMode): Starting Fastboot USB download protocol" -> It's stuck there and I'm not sure it completes the operation.

My PC doesn't detect the A510, and "fastboot devices" returns nothing in the terminal.

Any idea?

Thank you!
 
Shreps
Old
#6  
Shreps's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 551
Posts: 425
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Paris

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghoorg View Post
Thanks!

Volume down + Power on + Rotation switch got me to a black screen with the Acer logo and the following on top :
"Bootloader Version JB-d0ca683 (Unlock Mode)" -> that's normal
"Bootloader VJB-d0ca683(UnlockMode): Starting Fastboot USB download protocol" -> It's stuck there and I'm not sure it completes the operation.
That's normal/ok

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghoorg View Post
My PC doesn't detect the A510, and "fastboot devices" returns nothing in the terminal.

Any idea?

Thank you!
Should work, try to proper install the Acer drivers & check your USB Cable/port
"fastboot devices" should return a device with its ID
* Acer Liquid S100 (LCR E/S/F, LiquidNext)
* Samsung Galaxy S2 (7comp)
* Acer Iconia A510 (CM10*, CM11, AOKP, 7comp)
* Acer CloudMobile S500 (CM 10, 7comp, MIUI)
* Acer Liquid E1 V360 (Root)
* Acer Liquid E2 V370 (CWM & CM11)
* Acer Iconia A1-810 (Root + custom UI/framework)
* Acer Liquid S1 S510 (Root + custom UI/framework)
* Acer Aspire P3 i3 (Dual boot : Windows 8 + Android 4.2.2 Root)
* Acer Liquid S2 S520 (Root + custom UI/framework)
* Acer Liquid E3 E380 (Root + custom UI/framework)
 
Ghoorg
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: May 2014
Still no luck after reinstalling the acer drivers... I think some components may be fried at this point?
 
Ghoorg
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: May 2014
There's something I'm wondering, it seems I can't mount anything from my pc but I can see files and folders from CWM. Is there any way I could copy everything on the external SD card that's in my A510?

Thanks!
 
loki-kun
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Dec 2013
Default Reply

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghoorg View Post
There's something I'm wondering, it seems I can't mount anything from my pc but I can see files and folders from CWM. Is there any way I could copy everything on the external SD card that's in my A510?

Thanks!
With the Tablet in CWM Recovery you can do a Backup on an SD Card

search for cwm recovery backup on the net


lists you the possibilities.

I had the same Problem, fastboot did not list my device because the mode was for receiving data only. But you can try this:

Tablet off.
Enter the Fastboot Commands in the Command-Line
Then turn your tablet in fastboot-mode.

Good luck.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Droid X Receives KitKat Port, Upcoming Google Glass Firmware Improvements – XDA Developer TV

Android 4.4.3 lands on the European HTC … more

Calc+ is a Smart and Beautiful Android Calculator

As we’ve said inthe past, there are quite a few calculators available on Android. … more

Get Better Debug Data with Crash Report SDK

Developing an application is a hard and often times ungratifying task. It also requires quite a … more

Navigate to Your Favorite Places with LocationDetector

If you’re enjoying an active way of life, you probablytravel a lot, go fishing, … more