MultiROM Makes its Way Over to the HTC One (M8)

While browsing our forum, you will undoubtedly find more than a few enticing ROMs available … more

Welcome to the New XDA-Developers Portal!

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we opened up the XDA-2015 forum themesto intrepid users … more

An Android Enthusiast’s Apple iPhone 6 Challenge

The media has gone batty again over Apple “revolutionizing” smartphones. … more

Sony to Extend its AOSP Program to Other Devices

Sony will be offering its users the possibility to use AOSP ROMs as an alternative to the … more
Thread Closed

[SOLVED] [Q] How to root samsung galaxy S5 Model:SM -G900 (k3gduosctc)

28th May 2014, 02:29 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
I really need help.Few days ago I traveled china and bought galaxy S5.
Now, I want to root the device but In my device the model is only :SM -G900. nothing is written after G900. for that i cant find the version from internet for rooting the device. At last i installed an apps name CPU-Z. In here the model number is showing SM -G900 (k3gduosctc).
But still i can't find the right version to root the device.
plz help me....
Last edited by Toledo_JAB; 28th May 2014 at 07:12 PM.
28th May 2014, 02:30 PM   |  #2  
Perseus71's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Atlantis
Thanks Meter: 3,980
 
6,555 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
You'd need to look at the Sticker behind the battery for determination of the correct Device Model Number. Sometimes the information you see in Settings > About is not accurate. The apps you'd use may get mislaid.

Having said that Since you bought in China, it is likely to either SM-G900I (for Asia Market) or SM-G900K/L/S (Korea Market). My Money would be on SM-G900I. Given that the device is so new, we do not have sub forum for this specific variant yet. But depending on which carrier you are using or planning to use, here are the links to Relevant forums. Sprint Galaxy S5, Verizon Galaxy S5, T-Mobile Galaxy S5, AT&T Galaxy S5

To your question on Root, here's a nice thread for Sprint S5. It gives you a general Idea. But understandably the specifics would depends on your Model.

You may also use Android Hardware Info app or any other Device info apps that look at the hardware to determine Model Number.
Last edited by Perseus71; 28th May 2014 at 02:56 PM.
28th May 2014, 02:57 PM   |  #3  
It_ler's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 15,264
 
8,391 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nissan0808

I really need help.Few days ago I traveled china and bought galaxy S5.
Now, I want to root the device but In my device the model is only :SM -G900. nothing is written after G900. for that i cant find the version from internet for rooting the device. At last i installed an apps name CPU-Z. In here the model number is showing SM -G900 (k3gduosctc).
But still i can't find the right version to root the device.
plz help me....

Just in addition what Perseus71 already wrote:

Chainfire has already created CF-AutoRoot for various S5 variants.
This is IMO the easiest way to root your device. I have done this with my SM-G900F too.

But first do what Perseus71 has suggested ... you should be sure what exact model of the S5 you have.
28th May 2014, 03:24 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by It_ler

Just in addition what Perseus71 already wrote:

Chainfire has already created CF-AutoRoot for various S5 variants.
This is IMO the easiest way to root your device. I have done this with my SM-G900F too.

But first do what Perseus71 has suggested ... you should be sure what exact model of the S5 you have.

what is Perseus71.I told that the model is showing only SM-G900 nothing else.i know there is various model like SM-G900F,SM-G900L etc but my s5 is only showing SM-G900 nothing else.thats why i asked the question.The only thing i can see the model SM-G900(k3gduosctc) when i use cpu-z apps. I can't find this SM-G900(k3gduosctc) model any where...
28th May 2014, 03:30 PM   |  #5  
Perseus71's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Atlantis
Thanks Meter: 3,980
 
6,555 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
Is that what is mentioned on the Sticker behind Battery, under Model ?
28th May 2014, 03:51 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perseus71

Is that what is mentioned on the Sticker behind Battery, under Model ?

i cant find it...here's a detail that is wtitten on the about:
model:SM-G900(k3gduosctc)
board:MSM8974
HARDWRE:UNIVERSAL5410
ANDROID VERSION:4.4.2
KERNEL ARCHITECTURE:ARMV7I
KERNEL VERSION:3.4.5(G900DKEU1ANCC)
28th May 2014, 03:57 PM   |  #7  
PulseDroid's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor / Themer
Thanks Meter: 2,346
 
2,507 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nissan0808

i cant find it...here's a detail that is wtitten on the about:
model:SM-G900(k3gduosctc)
board:MSM8974
HARDWRE:UNIVERSAL5410
ANDROID VERSION:4.4.2
KERNEL ARCHITECTURE:ARMV7I
KERNEL VERSION:3.4.5(G900DKEU1ANCC)

Hi nissan0808,

I am sorry to inform you that the "UNIVERSAL5410" is commonly used on fake Galaxy devices ( Mostly S4 ). You can make sure by entering your IMEI here: IMEI Analysis. Check under the IMEI Validity Assessment.

Find it by dailing *#06#

This doesn't necessarily mean that you can't root the device, you can try the following tool:

Framaroot

Cheers!
Last edited by PulseDroid; 28th May 2014 at 04:02 PM.

Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes