Post Reply

FoxFi no longer needed?

OP donc113

21st May 2014, 11:07 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 26
 
185 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
I've been rooted for a while now under 4.3. I just updated to NC2 ( the leaked KitKat) and then flashed NC4 recovery and modem. I have been using both FoxFi and WiFi Tether (with root) because I have a grandfathered unlimited data plan.

I started up FoxFi to test it, but as usual you have install a private cert and that requires you put in a lock screen PIN or password (pattern no longer an option).

So after testing FoxFi...it works fine, I deleted that cert and removed the PIN lock screen....back to just a swipe.

Well...trying FoxFi again, it wants to reinstall that key...this time I said NO and backed out.

Being someone who likes to tinker with crap....I tried just turning on the native hotspot app. IT WORKS FINE!

That's right...IT STILL WORKS without FoxFi loaded. I am not going to totally remove FoxFi (yet) but strongly suspect it is no longer needed.

Again....this is on rooted NC2 leak but with NC4 modem flashed.

Sent from my Note 3 via Tapatalk
22nd May 2014, 12:04 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 131
 
664 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
That's because the leaked n2 already had the tethering provisions included.

Sent from my XT1060 using Tapatalk
25th May 2014, 12:43 AM   |  #3  
Tada10's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 135
 
392 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
You never know when you might need the Bluetooth tether. I kept mine for situations like this.

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk
27th May 2014, 08:01 PM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
82 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
I am running the leaked NC2 rom that I installed using the instructions on this site. FoxFi does work, but only with the cert installed.

Also, just activating the mobile hotspot doesn't work for me. Still checks subscription status and fails.
27th May 2014, 08:09 PM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
44 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by hawkeye680

I am running the leaked NC2 rom that I installed using the instructions on this site. FoxFi does work, but only with the cert installed.

Also, just activating the mobile hotspot doesn't work for me. Still checks subscription status and fails.

You need to install Deoxed version of NC2
28th May 2014, 04:03 PM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
82 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShaunWinSC

You need to install Deoxed version of NC2

Ugh. Thanks. May just stick with Foxfi. With getting my phone replaced a couple weeks ago I've set this thing up so many times I don't want to do it again any time soon.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Top Threads in Verizon Galaxy Note 3 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank