Boost the Brightness of Your Sony Xperia Z1’s LED

I think the last time anyone has ever used a physical torch to find their earphones, … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: Modify the Look of Your Volume Control – XDA TV

How many screenshots have you seen with a volume status bar in the … more

Prepare Your Nokia X2 for Battle with Nokia X2 Tools

Unveiled in June this year, the Nokia X2 is the Finnish companys second crack at an … more

Increase the Speaker Volume of Your Samsung Gear 2 with Tool and Tutorial

I think its pretty safe to say that any sound coming out of a … more
Post Reply

[Q] root Verizon Razr XT912 Version: 98.72.165.XT912.Verizon.en.US

11th January 2014, 05:13 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
I need some help, I have been trying to root my Verizon Razr XT912 running Device Software Version: 98.72.165.XT912.Verizon.en.US with the only tool I can find to use on DROID_RAZR_Utility_Jellybean_XT912_WinMacLin
Can anyone guide me in the right direction? thanks
11th January 2014, 06:03 AM   |  #2  
beyedup's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Did you extract tool to desktop and then open it? It will give you all the instructions you need. Make sure you have USB debugging on too.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XDV_72mPt4k

http://droidrazrroot.com/droid-razr-...on-droid-razr/

There are two links that might be helpful to you. Hope it helps.
21st January 2014, 11:20 PM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
I lost root upon this last Verizon upgrade to 98.72.165. I think it was 98.72.16 before this weekend's update. I am going to try and go back to the original JB (98.72.16), enable root and hopefully find some type of rootkeeper utility that will stop this craziness. I can keep you posted if this works as I don't know what else to do. I use the Tasker application and most of my tasks are not functioning.
22nd January 2014, 12:27 AM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Everything worked well. I was able to reinstall the 98.72.16 image and then I applied root. So, I am back at the point before the upgrade of the software. I have root back and just completed a full titatium backup. Now, I need to figure out what others are using to keep root enabled so when a software update is applied I do not lose root. Anyone who can suggest what they use would be helpful.

To the first person who posted, I may be able to walk you through what I did and we can then learn what others are doing to keep root together.
Last edited by mwyarm; 22nd January 2014 at 12:30 AM.
10th February 2014, 05:07 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
98.72.165.en.US version
I am rooted. Haven't changed from the Moto/Verizon JellyBean update (4.1.2) but have deleted a lot of the programs I don't like or use. When I've tried to let the 98.72.165.en install it starts, then the Droid animation goes "belly up" with a "!"

I know others with root have installed it and I wouldn't mind having the update since I do travel within Canada about once a year. But, if I can't get it to install, then how do I tell the updated I don't want this? It's getting a bit tiresome to tell the installer "Not Now" every twelve hours.
21st February 2014, 02:25 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Anybody have an answer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by fredlpage

I am rooted. Haven't changed from the Moto/Verizon JellyBean update (4.1.2) but have deleted a lot of the programs I don't like or use. When I've tried to let the 98.72.165.en install it starts, then the Droid animation goes "belly up" with a "!"

I know others with root have installed it and I wouldn't mind having the update since I do travel within Canada about once a year. But, if I can't get it to install, then how do I tell the updated I don't want this? It's getting a bit tiresome to tell the installer "Not Now" every twelve hours.

10th May 2014, 02:14 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by mwyarm

Everything worked well. I was able to reinstall the 98.72.16 image and then I applied root. So, I am back at the point before the upgrade of the software. I have root back and just completed a full titatium backup. Now, I need to figure out what others are using to keep root enabled so when a software update is applied I do not lose root. Anyone who can suggest what they use would be helpful.

To the first person who posted, I may be able to walk you through what I did and we can then learn what others are doing to keep root together.

How did you go back to 98.72.16?
Can you show me the steps please?
28th May 2014, 07:06 PM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
39 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
I was able to successfully root my phone after the update without a re-flashing or a wipe with Matt's Utility.

I followed the instruction in the link below. However, once I put the phone into BP Only mode, nothing happened. I let it sit there for about 5 minutes, then rebooted it normally and finished the exploit. It rooted the phone just fine.

http://mobility.forumsee.com/a/m/s/p...r-ota-165.html

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Questions and Answers by ThreadRank