Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,809,814 Members 44,271 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Change from 1080 to 720

Tip us?
 
acreatorius
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 12
Join Date: Jan 2013
Question [Q] Change from 1080 to 720

I own an HTC One (M7) which has a 1080p screen but pretty bad battery life. Since I switched from a Galaxy Nexus to the M7 I personally don't have a problem switching back to a 720p screen. Here is my question:
Is there any way of changing the screens resolution (I am rooted and have a custom ROM with Xposed)?
(Like on windows you can set a 1080p screen to display the content in 720p or even lower, which makes the system run faster since the GPU doesn't need to push around that many pixels)
 
Lgrootnoob
Old
#2  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 108
Posts: 485
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Dallas

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by acreatorius View Post
I own an HTC One (M7) which has a 1080p screen but pretty bad battery life. Since I switched from a Galaxy Nexus to the M7 I personally don't have a problem switching back to a 720p screen. Here is my question:
Is there any way of changing the screens resolution (I am rooted and have a custom ROM with Xposed)?
(Like on windows you can set a 1080p screen to display the content in 720p or even lower, which makes the system run faster since the GPU doesn't need to push around that many pixels)
does this help?
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2329080

and https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...rs.ScreenSpecs

I also think that in cyanogenmod you could change to 16 bit output
The Following User Says Thank You to Lgrootnoob For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
acreatorius
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 12
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lgrootnoob View Post
does this help?
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2329080

and https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...rs.ScreenSpecs


I also think that in cyanogenmod you could change to 16 bit output
Thanks a lot for the quick reply but sadly the app doesn't support android 4.4
 
polobunny
Old
#4  
polobunny's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2,434
Posts: 6,049
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Montreal
Quote:
Originally Posted by acreatorius View Post
Thanks a lot for the quick reply but sadly the app doesn't support android 4.4
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...lution_changer

Tried, works fine.
Please press THANKS if someone helps you!

My current configuration:
 

Device: Samsung Galaxy S3 SGH-i747M
ROM: cm-11-20140919-NIGHTLY-d2lte
Kernel: stock (testing harkness bld!)
Baseband: I747MUMUEND3
Bootloader: I747MVLDMF1
Governor: Interactive


Older device: Nexus S i9020A
 
acreatorius
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 12
Join Date: Jan 2013
Didn't work for me either but I came across the terminal emulator which gave me ability to change it myself. But still thanks
The Following User Says Thank You to acreatorius For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Tags
1080p, batterylife, change, desity, screen
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes