Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,728,909 Members 48,940 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

How difficult is it to add WiFi calling to other klte S5s

Tip us?
 
numbR7
Old
(Last edited by numbR7; 28th May 2014 at 05:38 PM.)
#1  
numbR7's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 72
Posts: 171
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: via lactea
Default How difficult is it to add WiFi calling to other klte S5s

I like the WiFi calling feature. Right now with service FUBAR in my area for what they say is a couple of weeks I actually need it. Could it be as simple as transferring a few apks like the phone, etc... or is it more complex than that. Forgive my ignorance in advance I just switched to T Mobile to get custom recovery back but I am running into all sorts of weird stuff I haven't seen before. I guess it's 4.4 related or even bugs in the S5 rollout.

I have a rooted SM-G900T with custom recovery to address the reply below. I want to be able to have wifi calling on any klte device Firmware based ROM-- namely the SM-G900F Firmware based ROMs.

Thanks a lot for any help at all....
"“There are no absolutes,” they chatter, blanking out the fact that they are uttering an absolute."

--AYN RAND--
 
grncherry
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 161
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by numbR7 View Post
I like the WiFi calling feature. Right now with service FUBAR in my area for what they say is a couple of weeks I actually need it. Could it be as simple as transferring a few apks like the phone, etc... or is it more complex than that. Forgive my ignorance in advance I just switched to T Mobile to get custom recovery back but I am running into all sorts of weird stuff I haven't seen before. I guess it's 4.4 related or even bugs in the S5 rollout.

Thanks a lot for any help at all....
You offer very little info, such as the type of phone, are you rooted ,what rom you are using, etc,etc.
 
jawmail
Old
(Last edited by jawmail; 28th May 2014 at 06:58 PM.) Reason: minor correction
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 171
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by numbR7 View Post
I like the WiFi calling feature. Right now with service FUBAR in my area for what they say is a couple of weeks I actually need it. Could it be as simple as transferring a few apks like the phone, etc... or is it more complex than that. Forgive my ignorance in advance I just switched to T Mobile to get custom recovery back but I am running into all sorts of weird stuff I haven't seen before. I guess it's 4.4 related or even bugs in the S5 rollout.

I have a rooted SM-G900T with custom recovery to address the reply below. I want to be able to have wifi calling on any klte device Firmware based ROM-- namely the SM-G900F Firmware based ROMs.

Thanks a lot for any help at all....
You need either:
1. Native T-Moble phone with wi-fi calling standard like SM-G900T.
2. If you're rooted w/ non-stock ROM (but still has to be T-Mobile phone), the ROM you're using needs to be based off stock Tmo firmware and have the correct code in it to work.

You will not get wi-fi calling on non-Tmo phone or non-Tmo firmware (like int'l firmware runnng on Tmo phone).
The Following User Says Thank You to jawmail For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
numbR7
Old
#4  
numbR7's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 72
Posts: 171
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: via lactea
Quote:
Originally Posted by jawmail View Post
You need either:
1. Native T-Moble phone with wi-fi calling standard like SM-G900T.
2. If you're rooted w/ non-stock ROM (but still has to be T-Mobile phone), the ROM you're using needs to be based off stock Tmo firmware and have the correct code in it to work.

You will not get wi-fi calling on non-Tmo phone or non-Tmo firmware (like int'l firmware runnng on Tmo phone).
What is the code?
"“There are no absolutes,” they chatter, blanking out the fact that they are uttering an absolute."

--AYN RAND--
 
grncherry
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 161
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by numbR7 View Post
What is the code?
Don't know what you mean, code,but there is no "code ".
 
jawmail
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 171
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by grncherry View Post
Don't know what you mean, code,but there is no "code ".
Sorry for being vague, I meant computer code (programming language) for the Wifi calling to work. This will only work on native Tmo phones.
 
numbR7
Old
#7  
numbR7's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 72
Posts: 171
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: via lactea
Quote:
Originally Posted by jawmail View Post
Sorry for being vague, I meant computer code (programming language) for the Wifi calling to work. This will only work on native Tmo phones.
So, it's built into TMo's Firmware overlay? Since all these models are identical it stands to reason that firmware could be altered and/or apks added to make it work. The "code" might be applied or incorporated. Might. Unless it's proprietary. After all the SM-G900T hardware is identical to a SM-G900F.
"“There are no absolutes,” they chatter, blanking out the fact that they are uttering an absolute."

--AYN RAND--
 
grncherry
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 161
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by numbR7 View Post
So, it's built into TMo's Firmware overlay? Since all these models are identical it stands to reason that firmware could be altered and/or apks added to make it work. The "code" might be applied or incorporated. Might. Unless it's proprietary. After all the SM-G900T hardware is identical to a SM-G900F.
There you go,you got it,it's proprietary.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...