Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] How to update from 4.3 to 4.4?

OP Mpongr33

24th May 2014, 04:58 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Hello all,
I am new on this forum and i am total noob so I need Your help.

I have HTC One (m7). My phone was locked, and I send it to service to unlocked it to another network carrier. They unlocked it for me but recovery is now CWM 6.0.4.8. I want to update to 4.4 but OTA wont work. How to update to stock recovery and than update OTA? Or how to update with CWM? I found some tutorial on youtube how to change from cwm to twrp (because most of custom roms flash with twrp), but cmd saying some error. I only want 4.4 rom, stock or custom, it doesn't even matter to me. I read some threads but is just to complicated to me and I wont brick my phone. Thank You .

This is cmd error:


C:\Users\Intel\Desktop\recovery\platform-tools>fastboot devices
FA35LW909339 fastboot

C:\Users\Intel\Desktop\recovery\platform-tools>fastboot flash recovery openrecov
ery-twrp-2.7.0.0-m7.img
sending 'recovery' (9948 KB)...
OKAY [ 1.250s]
writing 'recovery'...
FAILED (remote: not allowed)
finished. total time: 1.285s

C:\Users\Intel\Desktop\recovery\platform-tools>
24th May 2014, 05:18 PM   |  #2  
davebugyi's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dolinka
Thanks Meter: 394
 
2,335 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Donate to Me
More
What is your HBOOT version?
fastboot flash recovery openrecovvery works only on older HBOOTs (1.44 I think). You can flash a recovery by using the fastboot flash recovery recoveryname.img
Please refer to threads here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2265618
or
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2173870
or
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2358738

BTW, if they unlocked the device for a different carrier, going back to stock will revert you the the original carrier before.
24th May 2014, 08:11 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by davebugyi

What is your HBOOT version?
fastboot flash recovery openrecovvery works only on older HBOOTs (1.44 I think). You can flash a recovery by using the fastboot flash recovery recoveryname.img
Please refer to threads here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2265618
or
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2173870
or
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2358738

BTW, if they unlocked the device for a different carrier, going back to stock will revert you the the original carrier before.

'''''TAMPERED''''
'''''RELOCKED''''
M7_UL PVT SHIP S-OFF RH
CID-11111111
HBOOT-1.44.0000
RADIO-4A.21.3263.04
OpenDSP-v.32.120.274.0909
eMMC-boot
May 3 2013, 17:22:59:1357

So if I want that phone stay unlocked I must flash custom rom?
Last edited by Mpongr33; 27th May 2014 at 10:18 AM.
24th May 2014, 08:47 PM   |  #4  
majmoz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sonoita
Thanks Meter: 344
 
1,175 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mpongr33

'''''TAMPERED''''
'''''RELOCKED''''
M7_UL PVT SHIP S-OFF RH
CID-11111111
HBOOT-1.44.0000
RADIO-4A.21.3263.04
OpenDSP-v.32.120.274.0909
eMMC-boot
May 3 2013, 17:22:59:1357

So if I want that phone stay locked I must flash custom rom?

Just follow [GUIDE] How to Return to 100% Stock, it has a link to RUU's. Going the RUU route will return you back to stock so you can run the OTA without trouble.
28th May 2014, 10:41 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by majmoz

Just follow [GUIDE] How to Return to 100% Stock, it has a link to RUU's. Going the RUU route will return you back to stock so you can run the OTA without trouble.

But if I flash stock, phone will bi locked to original carrier? I want to flash over this thread http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2265618 but in section "Flashing custom recovery" saying Your bootloader needs to be "UNLOCKED". "LOCKED" or "RELOCKED" bootloaders can't flash custom recovery and mine phone saying RELOCKED...
28th May 2014, 09:27 PM   |  #6  
majmoz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sonoita
Thanks Meter: 344
 
1,175 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mpongr33

But if I flash stock, phone will bi locked to original carrier? I want to flash over this thread http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2265618 but in section "Flashing custom recovery" saying Your bootloader needs to be "UNLOCKED". "LOCKED" or "RELOCKED" bootloaders can't flash custom recovery and mine phone saying RELOCKED...

If you are set on your new carrier then you need to make sure that your MID is the same as the new carrier. You have SuperCID so you can flash any RUU. If you find your new carrier's RUU when you run it the end results will be stock in your new carrier. There is a tool that you can run to change your bootloader locked or unlock status to what you need it to be. Take a look at this guide (nkk71's SuperGUIDE to returning 100% back to stock) it will provide you with both background information and links. Once you get to stock in the carrier of your choice, update OTA then decide if you want to root, custom recovery and custom roms.
The Following User Says Thank You to majmoz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th May 2014, 12:11 AM   |  #7  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal, Quebec
Thanks Meter: 1,276
 
3,296 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mpongr33

but in section "Flashing custom recovery" saying Your bootloader needs to be "UNLOCKED". "LOCKED" or "RELOCKED" bootloaders can't flash custom recovery and mine phone saying RELOCKED...


Recovery:
You need an unlocked bootloader if you want to flash recovery using the ''fastboot flash recovery name_of_recovery.img'' command
like @majmoz said, you can unlock/lock/relock bootloarder using the htc guru bootloader reset tool from custom recovery or via HTCdev.com

now for the RUU part:
because your phone is S-OFF you can flash any ruu (intended for your phone model only: M7_UL). You must make sure both your MID and CID match the ruu you want to use. CID can easily be changed using this command from bootloader:

Code:
fastboot oem writecid YOUR_CID <----- 8 characters exactly, in most cases, 2 underscores i.e HTC__001
then you can change your MID (if required) using this tool from custom recovery.
Last edited by alray; 29th May 2014 at 12:16 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes