Android 5.0 Lollipop in 3D–EVO 3D, That Is!

It is that time of the year once again. Flowers bloom (or snow falls, depending on which … more

Gaming Console with Lollipop? Ouya Gets an Android TV Port

Android is a very flexible platform, and it can be used on a large variety of … more

Android App Review: Manage Your Connections Automagically – XDA TV

Material Design is all the buzz in the Android world right now. … more

Official TWRP Recovery Lands on Micromax Canvas Magnus

With the recent release of Android One, Micromax and MediaTek released fully buildable … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

s4 i9505 problem with wifi signal

OP redsocks95

28th May 2014, 07:19 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
i have a problem with my i9505 updated to kitkat 4.4.2: wifi signal is very very low and i can connect only if i am near to my router ( max 4-5 metres) ... if I go little further ( or in other rooms where other phone works perfectly with wifi ), I lost the signal and the phone disconnects. Anybody could help me ? it could be something such as broken wifi antenna?
28th May 2014, 07:45 PM   |  #2  
Joku1981's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 571
 
1,847 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Donate to Me
More
Dial *#1234# and attach what appears.
28th May 2014, 08:35 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
here is it:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-05-28-19-48-09[2].png
Views:	48
Size:	58.9 KB
ID:	2767900  
28th May 2014, 09:09 PM   |  #4  
Joku1981's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 571
 
1,847 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by redsocks95

here is it:

Firmware seems ok and you have wifi how I see. It isnt normal that ur phone haven't wifi and other phones yes. Wifi antenna can be broken or maybe is about config of the router.
28th May 2014, 10:28 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
problem is that I have 2 bars of signal even though i am a few feet from the router...
Last edited by redsocks95; 28th May 2014 at 10:47 PM.
29th May 2014, 01:12 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joku1981

Firmware seems ok and you have wifi how I see. It isnt normal that ur phone haven't wifi and other phones yes. Wifi antenna can be broken or maybe is about config of the router.

I don't think it's a hardware issue if it's only since his update.. to much of a coincidence for my taste.

From what I now, these antennas are very very sensitive. Is your phone using any sort of custom software? (kernel, recovery, ROM etc..)

I did a bit of googling and this issue is somewhat known. Advice there was to factory reset your device.
29th May 2014, 01:25 AM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetaA

I don't think it's a hardware issue if it's only since his update.. to much of a coincidence for my taste.

From what I now, these antennas are very very sensitive. Is your phone using any sort of custom software? (kernel, recovery, ROM etc..)

I did a bit of googling and this issue is somewhat known. Advice there was to factory reset your device.

no , firmware is 100% stock...i've already tried to wipe data/facotory reset and wipe cache and reflash stock firmware with odin
29th May 2014, 01:33 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by redsocks95

no , firmware is 100% stock...i've already tried to wipe data/facotory reset and wipe cache and reflash stock firmware with odin

Maybe try flashing back to 4.3. If the issue resolves, just keep it until an update is published.
If it persists then it probably is a hardware issue, in that case you need to get it fixed.

All the best
29th May 2014, 01:39 AM   |  #9  
Joku1981's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 571
 
1,847 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetaA

Maybe try flashing back to 4.3. If the issue resolves, just keep it until an update is published.
If it persists then it probably is a hardware issue, in that case you need to get it fixed.

All the best

It's not possible flash android 4.3 without void the warranty. And ODIN dont let you downgrade either. Unique solution if your phone don't have normal WIFI signal is get it to one service center.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes