FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

s4 i9505 problem with wifi signal

17 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By redsocks95, Junior Member on 28th May 2014, 06:19 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
i have a problem with my i9505 updated to kitkat 4.4.2: wifi signal is very very low and i can connect only if i am near to my router ( max 4-5 metres) ... if I go little further ( or in other rooms where other phone works perfectly with wifi ), I lost the signal and the phone disconnects. Anybody could help me ? it could be something such as broken wifi antenna?
 
 
28th May 2014, 06:45 PM |#2  
Joku1981's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 917
 
Donate to Me
More
Dial *#1234# and attach what appears.
28th May 2014, 07:35 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
here is it:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-05-28-19-48-09[2].png
Views:	346
Size:	58.9 KB
ID:	2767900  
28th May 2014, 08:09 PM |#4  
Joku1981's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 917
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by redsocks95

here is it:

Firmware seems ok and you have wifi how I see. It isnt normal that ur phone haven't wifi and other phones yes. Wifi antenna can be broken or maybe is about config of the router.
28th May 2014, 09:28 PM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
problem is that I have 2 bars of signal even though i am a few feet from the router...
29th May 2014, 12:12 AM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joku1981

Firmware seems ok and you have wifi how I see. It isnt normal that ur phone haven't wifi and other phones yes. Wifi antenna can be broken or maybe is about config of the router.

I don't think it's a hardware issue if it's only since his update.. to much of a coincidence for my taste.

From what I now, these antennas are very very sensitive. Is your phone using any sort of custom software? (kernel, recovery, ROM etc..)

I did a bit of googling and this issue is somewhat known. Advice there was to factory reset your device.
29th May 2014, 12:25 AM |#7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetaA

I don't think it's a hardware issue if it's only since his update.. to much of a coincidence for my taste.

From what I now, these antennas are very very sensitive. Is your phone using any sort of custom software? (kernel, recovery, ROM etc..)

I did a bit of googling and this issue is somewhat known. Advice there was to factory reset your device.

no , firmware is 100% stock...i've already tried to wipe data/facotory reset and wipe cache and reflash stock firmware with odin
29th May 2014, 12:33 AM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by redsocks95

no , firmware is 100% stock...i've already tried to wipe data/facotory reset and wipe cache and reflash stock firmware with odin

Maybe try flashing back to 4.3. If the issue resolves, just keep it until an update is published.
If it persists then it probably is a hardware issue, in that case you need to get it fixed.

All the best
29th May 2014, 12:39 AM |#9  
Joku1981's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 917
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetaA

Maybe try flashing back to 4.3. If the issue resolves, just keep it until an update is published.
If it persists then it probably is a hardware issue, in that case you need to get it fixed.

All the best

It's not possible flash android 4.3 without void the warranty. And ODIN dont let you downgrade either. Unique solution if your phone don't have normal WIFI signal is get it to one service center.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes