Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,772,000 Members 38,743 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Help moving big apps to my sd card.

Tip us?
 
Fma15
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 23
Join Date: May 2014
Default [Q] Help moving big apps to my sd card.

I'm trying to move anomaly 2 to my sd card, but it doesn't work. When I go to the application manager I have the option to move it to my sd card, but when I try it takes forever and then at the end it says unable to move app. I have moved many apps this way, but this one wont move. The only difference I can think of is the size of the app, anomaly 2 is 1.8gb which is the biggest game I have. I am using kitkat 4.4.2, and I am also rooted (this problem happened before I rooted though.)
 
x102x96x
Old
#2  
x102x96x's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 278
Posts: 1,272
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Linux

 
DONATE TO ME
Info 2 i

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fma15 View Post
I'm trying to move anomaly 2 to my sd card, but it doesn't work. When I go to the application manager I have the option to move it to my sd card, but when I try it takes forever and then at the end it says unable to move app. I have moved many apps this way, but this one wont move. The only difference I can think of is the size of the app, anomaly 2 is 1.8gb which is the biggest game I have. I am using kitkat 4.4.2, and I am also rooted (this problem happened before I rooted though.)

You cannot move data app to sd-card
it s just for .apk
it means system install it on sd-card but Data will remains in internal memory

But do u use built-in app manager or another app?

 
Java.Symbian.WP8.iOS4/5/6/7
Android; Fy \GB \ICS \JB \KK \CustomROM
Devices; Nexus \Xperia \Galaxy \LG \htc \Lenovo
./Android-Ubuntu Programming

 
Fma15
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 23
Join Date: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by x102x96x View Post
You cannot move data app to sd-card
it s just for .apk
it means system install it on sd-card but Data will remains in internal memory

But do u use built-in app manager or another app?

I don't mind if I cant move the data, I just want to move the huge app from my internal storage to my sd card. I used the built-in app manager.
 
x102x96x
Old
#4  
x102x96x's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 278
Posts: 1,272
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Linux

 
DONATE TO ME
Info 2 i

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fma15 View Post
I don't mind if I cant move the data, I just want to move the huge app from my internal storage to my sd card. I used the built-in app manager.
IF "move to sd-card" option is available in built-in app manager but u cannot move it.
that can be bug in that app. ask other user of app or its developer

 
Java.Symbian.WP8.iOS4/5/6/7
Android; Fy \GB \ICS \JB \KK \CustomROM
Devices; Nexus \Xperia \Galaxy \LG \htc \Lenovo
./Android-Ubuntu Programming

 
Fma15
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 23
Join Date: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by x102x96x View Post
IF "move to sd-card" option is available in built-in app manager but u cannot move it.
that can be bug in that app. ask other user of app or its developer

Thanks, I didn't know it was up to the developer. I emailed the developer and unfortunately, I can't move it. Is there anyway to move it since my phone is rooted?
 
x102x96x
Old
#6  
x102x96x's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 278
Posts: 1,272
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Linux

 
DONATE TO ME
Info 2 i

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fma15 View Post
Thanks, I didn't know it was up to the developer. I emailed the developer and unfortunately, I can't move it. Is there anyway to move it since my phone is rooted?
do say thanks hit it

cause it s on app the answer is NO.

if that was because of android system can use something like mount stick to mount sd-card with internal
(that is available on galaxy devices by default)

 
Java.Symbian.WP8.iOS4/5/6/7
Android; Fy \GB \ICS \JB \KK \CustomROM
Devices; Nexus \Xperia \Galaxy \LG \htc \Lenovo
./Android-Ubuntu Programming

The Following User Says Thank You to x102x96x For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Fma15
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 23
Join Date: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by x102x96x View Post
do say thanks hit it

cause it s on app the answer is NO.

if that was because of android system can use something like mount stick to mount sd-card with internal
(that is available on galaxy devices by default)

That sucks. Thanks anyway though.

Tags
kitkat, unable to move app
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Google Chromecast Rootable Once Again!

Over the six months, theGoogle Chromecasthas gained a considerable amount of official functionality. … more

YAATA isn’t Just Another Android Texting App

Although our mobile devices today are capable of executingnearly every task we normally … more

MacroDroid Update Brings Android Wear Automation

A few months ago, we talked about MacroDroid. For those who don’t remember, MacroDroid … more

Droid X Receives KitKat Port, Upcoming Google Glass Firmware Improvements – XDA Developer TV

Android 4.4.3 lands on the European HTC … more