FORUMS

Battery Life Guide Helps You Get More out of Your Device

Battery life is a primary concern when it comes to smartphones these days, and … more

Vinsic Doosl FM Transmitter Review – Accessory Review

A lot of vehicles come with stereos featuring Bluetooth connectivity. This … more

Nexus & Cookies: A More Focused Direction?

It is that time of the year again, and we are approaching the day where Android fans all over … more

LG G4 US Carrier Release Dates

The LG G4 was announced on April 29th with its Snapdragon 808 SoC, a welcomed change from its higher-end … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] How to install from unknown sources without ADB?

24th May 2014, 05:11 PM |#1  
mkhopper's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
So, by going into the settings menu of the FTV and toggling the ADB Debug flag, this allows for installing via a push from ADB.
The text that is displayed when changing this value also says that by enabling the setting, it allows for package installs from unknown sources.

Is this not quite the case though?
Using ES File Manager, when selecting an apk package located in the downloads folder on the device, the message shown in the attached screenshot appears.

Since there's no way to do so from the front-end, I am assuming that we will need root to change the flag to truly allow installing from any source?
Any possible way to do this without root?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20140523_184946.jpg
Views:	201
Size:	54.1 KB
ID:	2760898  
 
 
24th May 2014, 05:22 PM |#2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkhopper

So, by going into the settings menu of the FTV and toggling the ADB Debug flag, this allows for installing via a push from ADB.
The text that is displayed when changing this value also says that by enabling the setting, it allows for package installs from unknown sources.

Is this not quite the case though?
Using ES File Manager, when selecting an apk package located in the downloads folder on the device, the message shown in the attached screenshot appears.

Since there's no way to do so from the front-end, I am assuming that we will need root to change the flag to truly allow installing from any source?
Any possible way to do this without root?

Yeah, this isn't currently possible for the public. There is a root exploit(s) already developed but they have not been released yet. The developer, jcase, said he will release an exploit on the same day the upcoming Fire TV update is pushed (the exploit will not be compatible with the update so if you want it you'll need to follow the instructions in the other thread for blocking OTA updates).
27th May 2014, 03:24 PM |#3  
Chahk's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 194
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkhopper

Any possible way to do this without root?

Are you having issues with ADB? We can probably help you get those resolved.
27th May 2014, 04:36 PM |#4  
mkhopper's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chahk

Are you having issues with ADB? We can probably help you get those resolved.

Thanks, but no. I use the automatic tool to push packages with no problems. I was just looking for other methods of package installation that could be done directly while on the FTV.
27th May 2014, 05:35 PM |#5  
Chahk's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 194
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkhopper

Thanks, but no. I use the automatic tool to push packages with no problems. I was just looking for other methods of package installation that could be done directly while on the FTV.

Not at this time. Amazon disabled side-loading of APKs from the device itself. Root would be the only way to get around that.
29th May 2014, 12:10 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag Near Center of Ukraine
Thanks Meter: 31
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkhopper

Thanks, but no. I use the automatic tool to push packages with no problems. I was just looking for other methods of package installation that could be done directly while on the FTV.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2715315

Sent from my MZ617 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Kramar111 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th May 2014, 09:14 PM |#7  
tarvoke's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Slightly Outside America
Thanks Meter: 44
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kramar111

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2715315




several days ago it occurred to me to alternatively use sshd for terminal access, because:

-a) I feel a little unsafe leaving adb wifi enabled all the time (ok it's only a small thing to turn it on and off, but still) - and for security reasons there is no way to enable/disable it programmatically e.g. from a script/shell/terminal/app (well theoretically this is not exactly true, but practically it is)
-2) some people (i.e. me) would like to do shell/terminal remotely sometimes, rather than on the AFTV (and other people don't have/want a keyboard)

ssh access makes a great alternative to Term.apk, but the problem is:

- Term.apk and/or (pick your favorite android ssh server) don't have permission to run e.g. "pm install foo.apk" - it will fail. (btw 'pm' is a great command, take a look sometime at all the options. it shares a lot of functions as the adb command itself. 'am' is another fun command...)

- so, the hilarious workaround of enabling adb wifi, "adb connect", and then finally "adb shell" or "adb install" etc., is still required. (b/c the adb user is in the 'shell' group, among others - giving it permission to run /system/bin/pm) - oh well.


for random reference:
Code:
127|shell@android:/ $ id
uid=2000(shell) gid=2000(shell) groups=1004(input),1007(log),1009(mount),1011(adb),1015(sdcard_rw),1028(sdcard_r),3001(net_bt_admin),3002(net_bt),3003(inet),3006(net_bw_stats)
shell@android:/ $ exit
u0_a9@android:/ $ id
uid=10009(app_9) gid=10009(app_9) groups=1015(sdcard_rw),1028,3003(inet),50009(app_40009)
(also note it appears the adb shell user might possibly have 'mount' abilities, but since the /dev/block/sd* nodes permissions' are really locked up, who knows...)
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes