FORUMS

Huawei To Sell Honor Smartphones Via Indian Retail Outlets

World’s fourth largest smartphone maker Huawei plans to now sell its … more

Sunday Debate: Are Smaller Bezels Better or Worth It?

Bezels have been getting smaller and smaller as the years go by, and while devices … more

LG G4 First Impressions and Unboxing – XDA TV

The latest in LG’s signature line of “G phones” has been released. … more

Galaxy S6 Weekly Shooting Challenge

Over in our forums this weekend, XDA Forum member DevonSloan has started a thread for talented … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

trying to get encryption to work

29th May 2014, 01:04 PM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I've been trying to get encryption to work for a while now, but have had no luck. I remember reading somewhere that it was a problem with the version of recovery, but I've now tried the last CWM and TWRP recoveries without any success.

Has anyone been able to encrypt their S4 with Hyperdrive loaded, or is the only solution to go back to stock?

Thanks
 
 
29th May 2014, 01:32 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag Decatur
Thanks Meter: 843
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbonawitz

I've been trying to get encryption to work for a while now, but have had no luck. I remember reading somewhere that it was a problem with the version of recovery, but I've now tried the last CWM and TWRP recoveries without any success.

Has anyone been able to encrypt their S4 with Hyperdrive loaded, or is the only solution to go back to stock?

Thanks

What's your base build?

sent by safestrap enabled bajarom
29th May 2014, 02:14 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by decaturbob

What's your base build?

sent by safestrap enabled bajarom

I'm using RLS 16.1. (I had also tried with the prior release and had the same problems).

I should have included in the original posting that when I say that it doesn't work what happens is that I follow all of the instructions to get encryption started, I briefly get the screen with the Android logo (has a top half and a bottom half, each with ~ "notches") and after 2 seconds the phone reboots.
29th May 2014, 02:18 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Flag Decatur
Thanks Meter: 843
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbonawitz

I'm using RLS 16.1. (I had also tried with the prior release and had the same problems).

I should have included in the original posting that when I say that it doesn't work what happens is that I follow all of the instructions to get encryption started, I briefly get the screen with the Android logo (has a top half and a bottom half, each with ~ "notches") and after 2 seconds the phone reboots.

So you are mdk and nor using safestrap?

sent by safestrap enabled bajarom
29th May 2014, 02:36 PM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by decaturbob

So you are mdk and nor using safestrap?

sent by safestrap enabled bajarom

My baseband is ...MDK. I have not installed Safestrap...is that something that you would recommend trying to get around this issue?

I have to admit that I have not previously been familiar with Safestrap. Googling the heck out of that now...
29th May 2014, 02:40 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag Decatur
Thanks Meter: 843
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbonawitz

My baseband is ...MDK. I have not installed Safestrap...is that something that you would recommend trying to get around this issue?

I have to admit that I have not previously been familiar with Safestrap. Googling the heck out of that now...

No safestrap. ..I was asking because encryption does not work with safestrap.

sent by safestrap enabled bajarom
29th May 2014, 09:19 PM |#7  
thedoman's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ohio
Thanks Meter: 87
 
More
This question should be in q & a section not development, or in Hyper drive thread if it's specific to that rom.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes