Note 4 Full Caller ID Mod

Flash this mod to get a clean full-screen caller ID on your Note 4, which also comes with a Call Recording button … more

Extend System Partition Capacity on Xiaomi Mi Phones

Dualboot is a great feature to have, but sadly it divides the system partition space, … more

Sony Looking to Extend Flagship Life, One Release a Year

Following the news that Sony won’t be announcing a new device at MWC 2015, we … more

Dark Themed Apollo Music Player

Apollo has been thedefault music player in CyanogenMod since Android 4.1. Check out the dark themed version … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

trying to get encryption to work

OP gbonawitz

29th May 2014, 02:04 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
I've been trying to get encryption to work for a while now, but have had no luck. I remember reading somewhere that it was a problem with the version of recovery, but I've now tried the last CWM and TWRP recoveries without any success.

Has anyone been able to encrypt their S4 with Hyperdrive loaded, or is the only solution to go back to stock?

Thanks
29th May 2014, 02:32 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Decatur
Thanks Meter: 834
 
2,466 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbonawitz

I've been trying to get encryption to work for a while now, but have had no luck. I remember reading somewhere that it was a problem with the version of recovery, but I've now tried the last CWM and TWRP recoveries without any success.

Has anyone been able to encrypt their S4 with Hyperdrive loaded, or is the only solution to go back to stock?

Thanks

What's your base build?

sent by safestrap enabled bajarom
29th May 2014, 03:14 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by decaturbob

What's your base build?

sent by safestrap enabled bajarom

I'm using RLS 16.1. (I had also tried with the prior release and had the same problems).

I should have included in the original posting that when I say that it doesn't work what happens is that I follow all of the instructions to get encryption started, I briefly get the screen with the Android logo (has a top half and a bottom half, each with ~ "notches") and after 2 seconds the phone reboots.
29th May 2014, 03:18 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Decatur
Thanks Meter: 834
 
2,466 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbonawitz

I'm using RLS 16.1. (I had also tried with the prior release and had the same problems).

I should have included in the original posting that when I say that it doesn't work what happens is that I follow all of the instructions to get encryption started, I briefly get the screen with the Android logo (has a top half and a bottom half, each with ~ "notches") and after 2 seconds the phone reboots.

So you are mdk and nor using safestrap?

sent by safestrap enabled bajarom
29th May 2014, 03:36 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by decaturbob

So you are mdk and nor using safestrap?

sent by safestrap enabled bajarom

My baseband is ...MDK. I have not installed Safestrap...is that something that you would recommend trying to get around this issue?

I have to admit that I have not previously been familiar with Safestrap. Googling the heck out of that now...
29th May 2014, 03:40 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Decatur
Thanks Meter: 834
 
2,466 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbonawitz

My baseband is ...MDK. I have not installed Safestrap...is that something that you would recommend trying to get around this issue?

I have to admit that I have not previously been familiar with Safestrap. Googling the heck out of that now...

No safestrap. ..I was asking because encryption does not work with safestrap.

sent by safestrap enabled bajarom
29th May 2014, 10:19 PM   |  #7  
thedoman's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ohio
Thanks Meter: 83
 
584 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
This question should be in q & a section not development, or in Hyper drive thread if it's specific to that rom.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes