Nova Launcher Update Brings Lollipop Functionality and Feel

One of the most popular third party launcher on Android, Nova Launcher, has just … more

Check Your I/O Usage with Iotop for Android

Ever needed to check the I/O usage of apps? If so, you probably tried searching for an iotop … more

T-Mobile HTC One M8 Gets Selfie-Friendly Android 4.4.4 OTA

The T-Mobie variant of HTC One (M8) just now received an over-the-air update … more

Android L is for Lockdown

Root is, without a doubt, the (un)holy grail of the Android world. Those wonderful permissions that allow you as … more
Post Reply

[Q] Poor mobile network connectivity...

OP dcmovin

27th May 2014, 06:01 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Verizon M8, live in Washington DC.

I am consistently getting stuck on 3G or single-bar LTE in or outdoors on my M8 in DC and in N. VA.

While on single-bar LTE (or sometimes 2 bar) I'm also getting poor network throughput. Like 2mbps down, .9 up. Sometimes I might actually get 3-6mbps down, and 1-2 up.

This is piss poor. My Moto X had LTE all day all over the place. Wasn't even sure the X had a 3G mode.

Curious if anyone is experiencing this.

I will say the phone walks circles around the X in speed, fluid UI, WiFi performance and reception, and the display is leaps and bounds better. I don't even mind the size of the M8. But if I can't sort this network thing out soon, I'm going to end up dropping it out of my car window some day!
27th May 2014, 06:13 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Huntington Beach
Thanks Meter: 14
 
102 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcmovin

Verizon M8, live in Washington DC.

I am consistently getting stuck on 3G or single-bar LTE in or outdoors on my M8 in DC and in N. VA.

While on single-bar LTE (or sometimes 2 bar) I'm also getting poor network throughput. Like 2mbps down, .9 up. Sometimes I might actually get 3-6mbps down, and 1-2 up.

This is piss poor. My Moto X had LTE all day all over the place. Wasn't even sure the X had a 3G mode.

Curious if anyone is experiencing this.

I will say the phone walks circles around the X in speed, fluid UI, WiFi performance and reception, and the display is leaps and bounds better. I don't even mind the size of the M8. But if I can't sort this network thing out soon, I'm going to end up dropping it out of my car window some day!

I started experiencing this too (Southern California). I got this phone at launch, and didn't start having the problem of 3G until maybe a couple weeks ago. I hadn't changed anything, so I assumed it was Verizon's network rather than the phone's radio. I know they're making some changes to their lte network, so I wonder if that could be to blame. As of now the only solution I have found is to toggle airplane mode. Definitely sucks
27th May 2014, 06:21 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 23
 
167 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
I agree it's the network, not the phone. I have seen speeds of 30 Mbs down, if I'm in a perfect reception area, but 99.9% of the time I'm getting less than 1 Mbs up and down. I wouldn't even mind this since I'm usually within reach of Wi-Fi. I just object to being charged for a data plan when it's useless to me.
27th May 2014, 07:24 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
yes, they're turning on AWS or "XLTE" - our phones can access that band, and it's supposed to be faster, and I think support VOLTE (voice over LTE). The idea was that it was just them turning it on, then our phones would just magically use it.

Maybe our phone is having issues accessing the AWS band, and are in some sort of network limbo?

I recall back in the day there was some sort of mode you could go into to have your phone re-connect to nearest tower, etc.. but I can't remember if that was GSM phones, or for older EDGE phones.
28th May 2014, 05:52 AM   |  #5  
NoFanboy's Avatar
Senior Member
I should go outside...
Thanks Meter: 41
 
269 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
This happened to me too. Got the phone at launch and the lte has been this slow. I'm convinced I have a defective unit. Gonna call vzw when the red one comes out and get a replacement.
29th May 2014, 10:08 PM   |  #6  
Springy_Minaj's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Albany, New York
Thanks Meter: 41
 
220 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Glad to see I'm not the only one experiencing this issue. I'm going to wait it out one more week try flashing another ROM and then just call Verizon, its been happening for about two weeks now.

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
lte, signal
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes