Make Calling Your Loved Ones Easier and Cheaper this Diwali

Diwali, or Deepawali as some Indians call it, is the pride and joy of Indian … more

Big Android BBQ 5.0 Recap – XDA TV

This fifth annual Big Android BBQ has come and gone. The speakers have spoke, the sponsors have … more

Microsoft to Counter “OK Google” with Bing Torque

When Microsoft is making apps for Android, users should be aware that something … more

Google Confirms “Android Lollipop Day” for November 3rd

A little over a week ago, Google announced the latest iteration of … more
Post Reply

[Q] Nook Wifi Grayed Out

OP mikegonz

28th May 2014, 03:04 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
San Antonio, TX
Thanks Meter: 48
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
I am fixing up a Nook Color for a good friend who is having some problems with his Wifi. He currently has CM 11 installed, and has a proper 6.0.4.8 CMW installed (for the most recent version). Wifi is grayed out, and the switch constantly sits in the "off state" and can't be changed, while the main screen reads "Turning Wifi on". He also has a bootable CMW 3.2.1.0 SD, which I have used to install the partition 2 fix, which ran without any errors. Also ran the partition repair and formats for the other partitions to be safe, but no dice.

Within terminal emulator, I can read the MAC address as root under /rom/dev/MACAddress, but not as a standard user. Other than that, it is inaccessible. A mac address is there for sure, but it seems that I cannot gain permissions over the directory. Does anyone know what they should read? the /rom directory is 770 with system system permissions.

I've tried multiple CM roms, including CM 7, 9, 10, and 11, and none seem to fix.
Last edited by mikegonz; 28th May 2014 at 04:10 AM.
28th May 2014, 03:44 AM   |  #2  
hwong96's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 217
 
662 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikegonz

I am fixing up a Nook Color for a good friend who is having some problems with his Wifi. He currently has CM 11 installed, and has a proper 6.0.4.8 CMW installed (for the most recent version). Wifi is grayed out. He also has a bootable CMW 3.2.1.0 SD, which I have used to install the partition 2 fix, which ran without any errors. Also ran the partition repair and formats for the other partitions to be safe, but no dice.

Within terminal emulator, I can read the MAC address as root under /rom/dev/MACAddress, but not as a standard user. Other than that, it is inaccessible. A mac address is there for sure, but it seems that I cannot gain permissions over the directory. Does anyone know what they should read? the /rom directory is 770 with system system permissions.

I've tried multiple CM roms, including CM 7, 9, 10, and 11, and none seem to fix.

Look in dmesg for tags WL12xx and WLAN0. Is firmware booted? Greyed out wifi means no authentication/association between WLAN0 and router/AP.
28th May 2014, 04:03 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
San Antonio, TX
Thanks Meter: 48
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Sorry, by "grayed out" I mean that the switch in Settings is grayed out and is immovable. The main screen sits stuck in "Turning on Wifi" at all times, even on a fresh new install of a new ROM.
Last edited by mikegonz; 28th May 2014 at 04:12 AM.
28th May 2014, 09:40 PM   |  #4  
hwong96's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 217
 
662 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikegonz

Sorry, by "grayed out" I mean that the switch in Settings is grayed out and is immovable. The main screen sits stuck in "Turning on Wifi" at all times, even on a fresh new install of a new ROM.

Go into terminal as root and type dmesg. Look for tags WL12XX and WLAN0. See if wifi firmware loaded/booted. Also look to see if WLAN0 authenticated/associated.
29th May 2014, 02:23 AM   |  #5  
OP Member
San Antonio, TX
Thanks Meter: 48
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hwong96

Go into terminal as root and type dmesg. Look for tags WL12XX and WLAN0. See if wifi firmware loaded/booted. Also look to see if WLAN0 authenticated/associated.

There is one case that simply says wl127x_vio_leakage_fix and thats it. Bluetooth shows as starting, and I can actually toggle. But it looks like theres no instance of WLAN0 or WL12XX starting. Is there a way to fix?
29th May 2014, 07:04 PM   |  #6  
hwong96's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 217
 
662 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikegonz

There is one case that simply says wl127x_vio_leakage_fix and thats it. Bluetooth shows as starting, and I can actually toggle. But it looks like theres no instance of WLAN0 or WL12XX starting. Is there a way to fix?

As you can see from the screen pic of TI's Wl1271 spec, wifi is connected via SDIO. Bluetooth is connected via UART. If the SDIO connection is borked you will not get wifi connectivity. Do you have a nandroid backup from when wifi was working? If so, try installing the nandroid backup to verify wifi connectivity.

Also attached are screen pics of the permissions for /devconf and MACAddress.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot from 2014-05-29 12:48:19.png
Views:	18
Size:	169.3 KB
ID:	2769650   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-05-29-12-32-23.png
Views:	19
Size:	76.8 KB
ID:	2769651   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-05-29-12-32-52.png
Views:	19
Size:	62.5 KB
ID:	2769652  
29th May 2014, 07:07 PM   |  #7  
OP Member
San Antonio, TX
Thanks Meter: 48
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hwong96

As you can see from the screen pic of TI's Wl1271 spec, wifi is connected via SDIO. Bluetooth is connected via UART. If the SDIO connection is borked you will not get wifi connectivity. Do you have a nandroid backup from when wifi was working? If so, try installing the nandroid backup to verify wifi connectivity.

Also attached are screen pics of the permissions for /devconf and MACAddress.

Thanks. I'll check with my friend to check if he has a nandroid of when wifi was working. I know for sure he mentioned it was at one point. Will report back soon.
29th May 2014, 10:40 PM   |  #8  
OP Member
San Antonio, TX
Thanks Meter: 48
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Yeah it doesn't look like he has the nandroid backup of a working copy. Is it possible to restore the rom fully to its original state? should I just extract the factry.zip and try to install that via cwm? I can see in system/lib/modules that the wl12xx and wlan0 modules are there on the current rom.
29th May 2014, 11:06 PM   |  #9  
hwong96's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 217
 
662 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikegonz

Yeah it doesn't look like he has the nandroid backup of a working copy. Is it possible to restore the rom fully to its original state? should I just extract the factry.zip and try to install that via cwm? I can see in system/lib/modules that the wl12xx and wlan0 modules are there on the current rom.

If you want to use CWM to flash the stock B&N ROM go to LeapinLar's tips item A15. Good luck.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
grayed out, wifi
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes