Google Play Music Customizations – XDA Xposed Tuesday

If Cyanogen Inc. has its way, you won’t be forced into the Google … more

Sony Xperia Z3 Lollipop Framework Ported to CM12

Android 5.0 for Xperia has a unique look and feel. You don’t have to get a Sony … more

Do You Use Recents as a Task Switcher?

Google introduced a revamped Recents interface with Lollipop in the hopes of making it easier for … more

YU Yureka All-in-One ToolBox (CM12S Only)

This packed toolbox by XDA Senior Member gohel.vishal makes many useful tweaks … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Root/Re-Flash ONE M8

29th May 2014, 06:11 PM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Hey guys.

I got an HTC ONE M8 today, I've had a lot of android phones before (majority being samsung) and one being a Nexus 4.

I know how to root on Samsung using Odin on Windows.

But I'm not sure and don't understand how to root my phone, also I don't know how to flash a Google Play edition ROM (or a ROM which looks like Stock).

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Oli
 
 
29th May 2014, 06:18 PM |#2  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
If it helps, my software number is 1.54.401.10.
29th May 2014, 06:25 PM |#3  
dsmpampis's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 183
 
755 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Take a look here How to Root the HTC One M8 (All-in-One Toolkit Me…: http://youtu.be/FOaRQoJWWDw

And if you want S-off here
How to Gain S-Off on the HTC One M8 (Firewater Me…: http://youtu.be/9WWp80tRIuA

Tapatalked with my "refrigerator look" HTC one M8
29th May 2014, 06:55 PM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
I have Mac OS X though. Samsungs used to be so easy to root and flash firmware on. Why does every method seem so hard on this?
29th May 2014, 07:01 PM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
I have tried to install the ADB and fastboot on my computer and every time I go to type in "fastboot oem get_identifier_tag" it just says that the fastboot command can't be found?

Please can someone help. I cannot find any way to do this on a mac computer.
29th May 2014, 08:12 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,083
 
3,818 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
locate fastboot
Should tell you where fastboot is installed. I guess it's not in your path.
29th May 2014, 08:12 PM |#7  
Member
Nottingham
Thanks Meter: 10
 
37 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Have you followed the instructions for unlocking boot loader on HTC dev site I suggest using the all in one toolkit as mentioned

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Free mobile app
Last edited by paul chambers; 29th May 2014 at 08:15 PM.
29th May 2014, 11:24 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 205
 
774 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
If I were you I'd stop right now before you do something you might regret until you have enough know how to carry on. Why do you want to flash another Rom so soon? Sense 6 is pretty good.
To use fastboot or adb run the command from the same folder as the binary .
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes