Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,804,576 Members 43,988 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Can't factory reset

Tip us?
 
naes007
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 40
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Cleveland
Default Can't factory reset

Hello all, I need some help or a nudge in the right direction. Last night my fiance's htc one reset itself in the middle of the night and got stuck. I was able to factory reset using then volume down power button method. Now, the device turns on but keeps reseting itself. I tried to go back in and do another factory reset but all I get is the red triangle. When I volume + power, I get an error message- mount SD card failed, 5 times. Can not mount SD card {no such device}, write host_mode:0

Any ideas what I can do to get working again or are we bricked?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
naes007
Old
#2  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 40
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Cleveland
I forgot, phone is running stock, kit Kat and locked

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
cmlusco
Old
#3  
cmlusco's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 922
Posts: 3,138
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Michigan City, IN

 
DONATE TO ME
You are soft bricked. Since your s-on and bootloader locked and we have no ruu for kk available, there isint much you can do. However if you take it to a verizon store, they can most likley fix it for you. Dont know how much that would cost if your out of warranty, but you might get a nice employee who will do it for free.
Sent From My HTC One (M7WLV) S-OFF Rooted
Hboot: 1.56.0000 (Unlocked)
Recovery: TWRP 2.6.3.4
Baseband: 1.13.41.0109_2
Kernel: ElementalX 13.5
PRL: 15287
Rom: Stock OTA 3.11.605.1

VZW HTC One Files - VZW1FILES.DYNDNS.ORG

HTC Incredible Files - DINC.DOES-IT.NET
The Following User Says Thank You to cmlusco For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
naes007
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 40
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Cleveland
Thanks! That's what I was afraid of. I appreciate your reply!!
 
naes007
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 40
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Cleveland
Well, it's been about a month and I am wondering if there is an RUU for kit Kat yet? I have searched but am not necessarily sure I found the right RUU. Can anyone verify yes or no and push towards where I may find it if it is available?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
dottat
Old
#6  
dottat's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 987
Posts: 2,236
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: york, pa

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by naes007 View Post
Well, it's been about a month and I am wondering if there is an RUU for kit Kat yet? I have searched but am not necessarily sure I found the right RUU. Can anyone verify yes or no and push towards where I may find it if it is available?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
No encrypted RUU's for the M8 on VZW exist yet. Have you looked into sending the phone out to sonic to have him S-off it via a java card? If you did that, you would be able to use the RUU I made for this phone to return it to usable fashion.
The Following User Says Thank You to dottat For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
santod040
Old
#7  
santod040's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 8,285
Posts: 6,139
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NorCal

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by dottat View Post
No encrypted RUU's for the M8 on VZW exist yet. Have you looked into sending the phone out to sonic to have him S-off it via a java card? If you did that, you would be able to use the RUU I made for this phone to return it to usable fashion.
M8 or M7?
There is no kit Kat Ruu posted for m7vzw if that's what's needed here.
I assume it is based on the forum we are in.
Just looking for clarification...as there are signed ruus, just not for kitkat for m7vzw.

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk
Current Devices: HTC Thunderbolt | HTC Droid DNA | HTC One - m7 | HTC One - m8


Follow me on Twitter
ULTIMATE WALLS WVGA Wallpaper Collection
Donations always appreciated! Never required!


The Following User Says Thank You to santod040 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
dottat
Old
(Last edited by dottat; 29th May 2014 at 08:03 PM.)
#8  
dottat's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 987
Posts: 2,236
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: york, pa

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by santod040 View Post
M8 or M7?
There is no kit Kat Ruu posted for m7vzw if that's what's needed here.
I assume it is based on the forum we are in.
Just looking for clarification...as there are signed ruus, just not for kitkat for m7vzw.

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk
That's what it sounds like. Kit Kat M7. My bad... My tapatalk is acting stupid as hell when it's on wifi lately and at my office (same ISP). The OPs options are basically continue to wait or go the javacard S-off route....
The Following User Says Thank You to dottat For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
naes007
Old
#9  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 40
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Cleveland
Yep, M7. This stinks! Thanks for everyone's replies!
 
dottat
Old
#10  
dottat's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 987
Posts: 2,236
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: york, pa

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by naes007 View Post
Yep, M7. This stinks! Thanks for everyone's replies!
Just so you know....I sent my own m7 out to sonic to get s-off before there even was an exploit. It's not a bad process

Sent from my HTC6600LVW using Tapatalk

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes