Set Up Your MediaTek Device with Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

As can be seen with the use of MediaTek chips in Android One devices … more

Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Stop Your Screen From Turning Off with KeepItOn

We all know the feeling of reading a news article orrather longdocument, when our screen … more

The XDA LG QPair Developer Challenge Voting Has Begun!

It seems like it was just yesterday that weannounced that we had paired up with LGto … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Need help with "[ODIN][TAR] VRUEMK2 Emergency and No-Wipe Odin tars"

OP montejw360

28th May 2014, 07:38 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Working from this thread: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2578209

Started with a phone that had the OTA Kitkat update. Tryed this from Surge1223 http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2726868, didn't work. ended up downgrading (trying) to back MK2 and ended up with phone with no sound.

Came to the " [ODIN][TAR] VRUEMK2 Emergency and No-Wipe Odin tars" thread and tried that. Odin failed on the tar.md5 full wipe file "ALL_I545VRUEMK2_I545VZWEMK2_1937946_REV06_user_lo w _ship_MULTI_CERT.tar.md5" as shown in the log below. Tried the pit file too "JFLTE_USA_VZW_16G.pit" just to get the phone to reboot.

At this point I just want a unrooted stock phone. Kitkat would be fine with me, wanted to root for some stuff, but it's not that important right now. Waited for the PASS in ODIN, phone boots fine, still no sound.

Looking for help, thanks.


<ID:0/006> Added!!
<OSM> Enter CS for MD5..
<OSM> Check MD5.. Do not unplug the cable..
<OSM> Please wait..
<OSM> ALL_I545VRUEMK2_I545VZWEMK2_1937946_REV06_user_low _ship_MULTI_CERT.tar.md5 is valid.
<OSM> Checking MD5 finished Sucessfully..
<OSM> Leave CS..
<ID:0/006> Odin v.3 engine (ID:6)..
<ID:0/006> File analysis..
<ID:0/006> SetupConnection..
<ID:0/006> Initialzation..
<ID:0/006> Set PIT file..
<ID:0/006> DO NOT TURN OFF TARGET!!
<ID:0/006> Get PIT for mapping..
<ID:0/006> Firmware update start..
<ID:0/006> SingleDownload.
<ID:0/006> sbl1.mbn
<ID:0/006> NAND Write Start!!
<ID:0/006> sbl2.mbn
<ID:0/006> sbl3.mbn
<ID:0/006> rpm.mbn
<ID:0/006> aboot.mbn
<ID:0/006> FAIL! (Auth)
<ID:0/006>
<ID:0/006> Complete(Write) operation failed.
<OSM> All threads completed. (succeed 0 / failed 1)
<ID:0/006> Removed!!
Last edited by montejw360; 28th May 2014 at 08:16 AM. Reason: Links and title to wrong OP / thread
28th May 2014, 08:15 AM   |  #2  
joshm.1219's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 1,524
 
3,497 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
You're using the mk2 tar not the nc5 tar, use nc5

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
28th May 2014, 08:18 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshm.1219

You're using the mk2 tar not the nc5 tar, use nc5

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk

Sorry, I linked to the wrong original thread. I was trying to get back to MK2. I corrected the title and link to the thread I was using.

The phone is now on MK2, but with no sound.

Surge1223 said "Flash the NC2 hlos for sound to work and use bypasslkm for wifi" in this thread http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2726868, but I've not found a real clear (for me) description on how to do those. I was hoping to ODIN back to stock and get the sound back.

thanks.
Last edited by montejw360; 28th May 2014 at 08:23 AM.
28th May 2014, 08:27 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
KitKat OTA keeps failing. Most likely because of what I've already tried and failed to make work.
29th May 2014, 03:36 AM   |  #5  
k1mu's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Virginia
Thanks Meter: 1,579
 
1,925 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by montejw360

KitKat OTA keeps failing. Most likely because of what I've already tried and failed to make work.

OTA won't work if you've got a phone with modified files. You've got to return to factory stock before an OTA.

If you're desperate, use the Verizon Recovery agent to wipe and re-flash. Plug your phone into your PC, then open the Verizon Software Upgrade Assistant in the "Verizon Mobile" folder.
29th May 2014, 04:20 AM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by k1mu

OTA won't work if you've got a phone with modified files. You've got to return to factory stock before an OTA.

If you're desperate, use the Verizon Recovery agent to wipe and re-flash. Plug your phone into your PC, then open the Verizon Software Upgrade Assistant in the "Verizon Mobile" folder.

Thanks. Went through this thread [ODIN][TAR] I545VRUFNC5 Factory and No-Wipe Odin tars and got the phone working again.

Tried the Verizon Software Upgrade program, but the links to it always took me to a blank page.

Where is the "Verizon Mobile" folder? On verizonwireless.com, or here on xda?
29th May 2014, 04:28 AM   |  #7  
k1mu's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Virginia
Thanks Meter: 1,579
 
1,925 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by montejw360

Thanks. Went through this thread [ODIN][TAR] I545VRUFNC5 Factory and No-Wipe Odin tars and got the phone working again.

Tried the Verizon Software Upgrade program, but the links to it always took me to a blank page.

Where is the "Verizon Mobile" folder? On verizonwireless.com, or here on xda?

On your phone. Plug it in, and the drive will appear. Windows and Mac apps.
29th May 2014, 04:32 AM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by k1mu

On your phone. Plug it in, and the drive will appear. Windows and Mac apps.

saw that come up many times, just never looked at it. good to know, thanks.
29th May 2014, 11:48 PM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by k1mu

OTA won't work if you've got a phone with modified files. You've got to return to factory stock before an OTA.

If you're desperate, use the Verizon Recovery agent to wipe and re-flash. Plug your phone into your PC, then open the Verizon Software Upgrade Assistant in the "Verizon Mobile" folder.

Can you go into some detail on this? How would the process go with this tool? And why is it a desperation move?
30th May 2014, 02:32 AM   |  #10  
k1mu's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Virginia
Thanks Meter: 1,579
 
1,925 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ovreel

Can you go into some detail on this? How would the process go with this tool? And why is it a desperation move?

It's a "desperation move" because it wipes everything on the phone, downloads a factory stock image, then flashes it. Basically, it's a emergency recovery tool that shouldn't be used if you care about what's on your phone.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes