Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,780,205 Members 40,359 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Ram Usage

Tip us?
 
sareen
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 125
Join Date: Jul 2010
Default [Q] Ram Usage

Hi guys I currently have the S3 and going to upgrade to the S5. However, I played with my friends new S5 and he hasn't got any real power hungry apps installed and i find it had to believe that when the phone is in idle mode it is using 1.4GB of RAM with "no tasks running". Is it just his phone or does everyone have the same issue? Also his phone makes a creaking noise when squeezed is this also a common issue? thanks in advance. I'm considering either buying this phone or m8 or wait for a month and see whether the s5 Prime rumors are true and get that.
 
jopat
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 107
Join Date: May 2014
Default 4599684 3359

Android keeps the recent apps in its memory so that they will be accessed faster next time. Android tries to learn which apps you are frequently using. But the bulk of the memory usage of S5 is from Samsung's pre-installed apps. The good thing with S5 is you can set majority of the apps to hibernate or to totally disable or uninstall them.
 
sareen
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 125
Join Date: Jul 2010
so if use a nova launchers for example does that mean touchwiz will not take up that much ram as its not being used? is it easy to disable app? cause i thought the only way to disable pre loaded apps was through rooting the phone, which i personal wouldn't do as im scared of bricking a brand new phone put i dont see the benefit in doing so,
 
mediumsteak
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 251
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: T0r0nt0!
Nova launcher uses significantly less resources than TouchWiz. Using it with 0 lag issues

Sent from my SM-G900W8 using Tapatalk
 
Hellscythe
Old
#5  
Hellscythe's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 450
Posts: 1,714
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: straya kienttt
my S5 uses 1.1gb of ram with nothing open.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes