Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] rooting issue with 4.2.2 at&t s4

OP fredderf81

28th May 2014, 02:25 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
112 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
hi all, i'm sure someone will be able to quickly identify whats going on here but my wife's at&t s4 phone will not root. i have tried all the root methods listed in the android development forum and nothing works. its on MF3 with 4.2.2. i run the motochopper and it fails. i have run another one and i get the download screen with "cannot do normal boot" on top and i have to flash the 16gb pit file to get it to boot into the OS. root checker always said no root detected. am i doing something wrong? is the phone not rootable?? any light on this would be awesome.
28th May 2014, 03:04 PM   |  #2  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 3,921
 
11,222 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
You can't use motochopper if you're on mf3. Google new root method mf3 xda

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
28th May 2014, 09:49 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
112 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639

You can't use motochopper if you're on mf3. Google new root method mf3 xda

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app

thanks for the info, i tried that and received several error messages "access denied" etc. when running the terminal commands.
i think i'm just going to drop at&t and run to tmobile and grab a phone without knox or something. no worries
30th May 2014, 04:13 AM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
More
AT&T S4 Rooting
Motochopper will indeed not work. I rooted my i337 on 4.2.2 using Saferoot a few months ago. It worked flawlessly. It's a similar method to Motochopper, but worked on my AT&T S4. It was once I updated to 4.3 that I ran into problems due to the locked bootloader; sucks. But try Saferoot. It should still work.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes