Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Voice phone call problems

OP B-Mod

26th May 2014, 04:52 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
368 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Voice phone call problems. I can make a receive voice phone calls around my local area (approx. 30 min driving circle), outside of that area, I can not make or receive calls, data and texts work fine. Called Verizon, over an hour on the phone trying many things, settings, sim card removal, refreshing network, checking for call restrictions, nothing worked. Took the phone it to a Verizon store, got a new sim card, same thing, no go. I have a refurbished phone coming from Verizon, but would rather keep my new phone.

Any guesses? Roaming is turned on phone, everything seems good, just no out of area calls. If I try to place a call, all it does is sit there saying "dialing" but I here no sounds. After a bit I get error message "out of service area", and then "call lost". It may have done this from day one, as I do not use this phone much for traveling, as I have a work cell. Any help would be great. Thanks.
26th May 2014, 10:06 PM   |  #2  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
368 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Would a screen shot from the app LTE on/off, help someone to see if some radio setting is wrong?
26th May 2014, 11:34 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
368 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
I know one thing that is different from my phone to the other two m8's I have here is under the heading radio band, I only have two choices, usa band, and 1800-1900 band, my wife and daughter's phones have a third choice, 800-900 band. Could this be it? And how do I get the third choice back?
27th May 2014, 10:52 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Ok guys, what I found out is that you have to use thunderbolt lte app from the play store. Choose cdma+lte, then choose the other radio band, not the US band. Exit out and you are good to go.

Now every time you reboot the phone, you have to go through it again. I don't know why it doesn't stick. Maybe some one can help

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using xda premium
30th May 2014, 04:16 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
368 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Another thing I see different is, in the list of stuff in the lte on off app, Next to GSM service, my phone says emergency only, and the other phones say GSM service, in service. How do I change it from emergency only to in service?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes