Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,779,990 Members 36,933 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Band 13 Band 17 and B28 LTE 700Mhz

Tip us?
 
SR96
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 8
Join Date: Dec 2012
Default [Q] Band 13 Band 17 and B28 LTE 700Mhz

Hi everyone,

I wonder if someone can help me, i have asked a smart guy this question and it was suggested that i try it with AU's FW..but im a little new to this and i need some help...

This phone Xperia Z2 has LTE band 17 (700Mhz) .....but here in Australia we will be getting LTE band 28(700mhz)....
Can my phone work in the B28 if it does not say B28 in the specs? because its still 700mhz.

Or do i need software to allow it to operate on B28 (700Mhz)?....maybe some settings, or flash of some sort.

Can someone help...

Thanks.
 
CenteaOSD
Old
(Last edited by CenteaOSD; 29th May 2014 at 11:48 PM.)
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 74
Join Date: May 2014
Location: GoldCoast/Kanagawa(Japan)
Depends on where did you get it from? I purchased my XZ2 from Telstra.
And it is same spec as international one whch doesn't support 700Mhz LTE.
Optus might has got special model and I am not sure abou that.
Only little hope for software update, as they have to register this phone to
certification of conformance to technical standards again.

I think you can flash AU FW by using tool called flashtool. Howevery by using that
tool your warranty may avoid so think carefully.
 
SR96
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 8
Join Date: Dec 2012
Yes i got it from Telstra....Mine has B17 which is LTE 700Mhz ....Im pretty sure.

Its the B6503 which has
B1,B2,B3,B4,B5,B7,B8,B13,B17,B20

I looked up the Spectrum allocation and it says B17 is 700Mz...also B13 is but its different allocation of that band...

Im guessing it just needs a Software upgrade to make it work on that allocation of B28,

But im not an expert and im not really sure how its done or even if it can be done.

Thanks.
 
CenteaOSD
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 74
Join Date: May 2014
Location: GoldCoast/Kanagawa(Japan)
Oops I meant B28... not B17. Collect my mistake.
 
Tea-Aholic
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 30
Join Date: Jun 2013
There are 4 versions of the Z2 sold.

D6502: No LTE

D6503 (AU, NZ, EU, ASIA model): LTE bands 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 13, 17, 20

D6543 (North American model): LTE bands 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8

SO-03F (Japan model for NTT docomo: docomo Xi LTE
 
SR96
Old
(Last edited by SR96; 30th May 2014 at 02:04 AM.)
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 8
Join Date: Dec 2012
Yes,


But is there a way to allow the ones which already have B17 & B13 (LTE 700Mhz) to work on the AU LTE 700mhz B28?

There must be a way to unlock that specific section of the LTE 700Mhz (B28) on this phone considering it already has the capability of 700Mhz LTE.

For example [(B17)-Uplink =704-716 Downlink=734-746]---------[(B13)- Uplink =777-787 Downlink=746-756]---------[(B28)-Uplink =703-748 Downlink=758-803]




Is there a way to operate on the B28 frequency range within the 700Mhz band considering the phone has a 700mhz LTE chipset?
 
CenteaOSD
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 74
Join Date: May 2014
Location: GoldCoast/Kanagawa(Japan)
There must be some way to do that. But as I said in my post. It must be authorized by Government or whatever

authorizes the phones with which band and which frequency the phone uses.

So if you change it by your self it would be against the law and should not happen.(As I am not Australian I am not sure about Australian laws)

I have read some thing about changing frequencies, but I can't remember and it must be done by your own.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Quick Control Panel Updated, Adds Notification Support

As some of you may remember, earlier this year we spoke about Quick Control Panel by … more

Narrate Makes Note Taking Efficient and Beautiful

Technology has put life on the fast track. Whether its travelling to multiple places or … more

Android App Review: How to Speed Up Your Android Phone – XDA Developer TV

Is your Android device running slow? Is your Android device … more

Make a Pre-Rooted Stock Sony ROMs in Just Few Clicks

Many usersdon’t see any particular reason to change out the stock firmware … more