FORUMS

Index Project For XDA Device Subforums

Another ambitious project from the collaborative efforts of Recognized Contributors and Forum … more

The Atlas of XDA

A few weeks ago, we asked you “How Does Your Location Affect Your Life As A Power User?”. In the days that … more

New Snapdragons: Some Context & Contrast

It hasn’t been a good year for Qualcomm so far. Every device featuring the Snapdragon 810 … more

Google To Launch Next Gen Android One On July 14

The first gen of Android One devices to be launched in India in September 2014 were … more

[Q] Rooted, soft bricked phone with locked bootloader

5 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By boobaboobler, Junior Member on 27th May 2014, 10:26 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Basically what the title says.
I just want to preface this by saying I'm a beginner and I have no idea what I'm doing.
I tried to use safestrap and it did delete all my data but I accidently deleted my backup and my ROM I wanted to install.
Safestrap doesn't seem to want to work anymore. It gives me the screen saying that so and so is disabled and it will boot in 10 seconds, but I can't interact with this screen.
What can I do? Safestrap just doesn't work so I can't flash a ROM from SDcard, and the only thing that seems to work is Fastboot, and that's locked, so what are my options?
 
 
28th May 2014, 08:01 AM |#2  
RikRong's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 554
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by boobaboobler

Basically what the title says.
I just want to preface this by saying I'm a beginner and I have no idea what I'm doing.
I tried to use safestrap and it did delete all my data but I accidently deleted my backup and my ROM I wanted to install.
Safestrap doesn't seem to want to work anymore. It gives me the screen saying that so and so is disabled and it will boot in 10 seconds, but I can't interact with this screen.
What can I do? Safestrap just doesn't work so I can't flash a ROM from SDcard, and the only thing that seems to work is Fastboot, and that's locked, so what are my options?

You can use RSD to flash the firmware from here http://sbf.droid-developers.org/ , you can use House of Moto http://www.droidrzr.com/index.php/to...se-of-moto-23/ , or you can update to stock KK (keep in mind you'll lose root on KK) http://www.droidrzr.com/index.php/to...to-kitkat-ota/
The Following User Says Thank You to RikRong For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th May 2014, 08:16 AM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Sorry but what file am I supposed to be using to flash? The entire folder?
Again, I don't know much about this, I'm just a beginner. I probably should have heeded people's warnings about possibly bricking your phone.
29th May 2014, 03:35 AM |#4  
poppers162's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 59
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by boobaboobler

Sorry but what file am I supposed to be using to flash? The entire folder?
Again, I don't know much about this, I'm just a beginner. I probably should have heeded people's warnings about possibly bricking your phone.

The house of moto tutorial tells you exactly what to do with the files and folders and where to put them

Sent from my XT907 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
29th May 2014, 04:42 AM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by poppers162

The house of moto tutorial tells you exactly what to do with the files and folders and where to put them

Sent from my XT907 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

For some reason my phone didn't want to let anything flash ICS to it so I flashed KitKat instead and everything went OK.
29th May 2014, 05:25 AM |#6  
poppers162's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 59
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by boobaboobler

For some reason my phone didn't want to let anything flash ICS to it so I flashed KitKat instead and everything went OK.

Alright, good to hear that it worked.

Sent from my XT907 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
30th May 2014, 07:17 AM |#7  
RikRong's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 554
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by boobaboobler

For some reason my phone didn't want to let anything flash ICS to it so I flashed KitKat instead and everything went OK.

Yeah, you can't downgrade if your bootloader is locked, but it is good to hear you got it working.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes