FORUMS

The OnePlus 2 & The Year of Smartphone Compromises

We are very close to entering the last third of 2015, and we have now seen many of … more

OnePlus 2 Teardown, Major Android Vulnerability – XDA TV

The OnePlus 2 has been officially released. That and much more news is … more

What Do You Think About Fingerprint Scanners?

More and more phones are featuring fingerprint scanners, and with many promising … more

What’s Next for Samsung and Its Flagships?

If we were to say that the Galaxy S6 was a leap of faith made by Samsung, we … more

Generic Z1 6906 bootloader unlock NO? :(

924 posts
Thanks Meter: 93
 
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
So I got this phone thinking the bootloader would be unlockable... To my surprise I checked and it says no. I still submitted the unlock request through Sony and they generated a code that was e-mailed to me. So confused. The phone is used so does this mean it is already unlocked?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-05-29-20-58-51.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	112.2 KB
ID:	2769979  
Last edited by quailallstar; 29th May 2014 at 10:01 PM.
 
 
29th May 2014, 10:06 PM |#2  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag King Grumpy Lord from Frown Town, Grumpy Land
Thanks Meter: 5,229
 
Donate to Me
More
A code will always be generated, but you will be unable to use it

Another example of a generic FW, sim unlocked, carrier free phone that has a bootloader that cannot be unlocked.
29th May 2014, 10:27 PM |#3  
quailallstar's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 93
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregbradley

A code will always be generated, but you will be unable to use it

Another example of a generic FW, sim unlocked, carrier free phone that has a bootloader that cannot be unlocked.

Well that sucks! So no hack or way around it?
29th May 2014, 10:52 PM |#4  
eclyptos's Avatar
Senior Member
Planet Earth
Thanks Meter: 621
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by quailallstar

Well that sucks! So no hack or way around it?

Unfortunately No.
30th May 2014, 01:24 PM |#5  
quailallstar's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 93
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by eclyptos

Unfortunately No.

Well this is a huge disappointment. Makes me want to sell the phone now and get something else.
30th May 2014, 02:53 PM |#6  
eclyptos's Avatar
Senior Member
Planet Earth
Thanks Meter: 621
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by quailallstar

Well this is a huge disappointment. Makes me want to sell the phone now and get something else.

This situation can be very frustrating but actually you was not informed about that before brought the Z1, if you will know it you will bring one with Unlockable Bootloader, right? I guess you cannot go back to your provider and switch with another one. If you really give up then I will considering to buy Z2.
30th May 2014, 02:56 PM |#7  
quailallstar's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 93
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by eclyptos

This situation can be very frustrating but actually you was not informed about that before brought the Z1, if you will know it you will bring one with Unlockable Bootloader, right? I guess you cannot go back to your provider and switch with another one. If you really give up then I will considering to buy Z2.

Well I purchased the phone used from someone who has never even heard of XDA. I got it off Swappa at a great price and couldn't pass up it being sold. I mean it is a nice phone and I love the quality of the materials (glass/aluminium). I might just root it and keep the phone. Change the stock launcher and live with it until the Z2 price drops a little.

Would Sony ever consider unlocking the Z1 boot-loader if we complain enough?
30th May 2014, 02:57 PM |#8  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag King Grumpy Lord from Frown Town, Grumpy Land
Thanks Meter: 5,229
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by quailallstar

I might just root it and keep the phone. Change the stock launcher

You don't need root for that
Quote:

Would Sony ever consider unlocking the Z1 boot-loader if we complain enough?

No chance
30th May 2014, 03:10 PM |#9  
quailallstar's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 93
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregbradley

You don't need root for that
No chance

I know I don't need root for the launcher but I use Nova Launcher and that one does. Plus I like to remove pre-installed crap to make the phone faster
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes