FORUMS

Google Now Interfaces With Third-Party Messaging Apps

Google has announced that Ok Google voice commands can now be used to send … more

Make Your Lockscreen More Productive With Widgets

Are you running Android Lollipop? Do you miss the ability to add widgets to your lock … more

Moto X Style, Moto X Play and Moto G Forums Are Here!

The latest family members of the new generation of Motorola devices are … more

Galaxy Unpacked: What is Samsung Going to Unveil?

Amidst all the hype of the OnePlus 2 and the rain of Moto 2015 news, Samsung tried … more

[Q] HTC One strange G-Sensor problem

28 posts
Thanks Meter: 3
 
By CryptoCombat, Junior Member on 16th January 2014, 08:45 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
17th January 2014, 01:29 AM |#11  
OP Junior Member
Flag Houston, TX
Thanks Meter: 3
 
Donate to Me
More
Calculator
Quote:
Originally Posted by LibertyMarine

I'll analyse over the weekend. this is quite some data. I'll write a short program that reads it out^^

I parsed them into excel using csv format mode. Check out sheet two for a graph. the orange line (labeled sum) is the sum of the x,y and z readings' absolute values. there's some very interesting data in the magnetometer file. anytime I really hammered down on the gas, the magnetic field shot up. Beyond 100 in a spot or two in sum!
Attached Files
File Type: xlsx accelerometer.xlsx - [Click for QR Code] (259.3 KB, 4 views)
File Type: xlsx magnetometer.xlsx - [Click for QR Code] (208.6 KB, 6 views)
Last edited by CryptoCombat; 17th January 2014 at 01:34 AM.
 
 
17th January 2014, 04:34 PM |#12  
LibertyMarine's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 152
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by CryptoCombat

I parsed them into excel using csv format mode. Check out sheet two for a graph. the orange line (labeled sum) is the sum of the x,y and z readings' absolute values. there's some very interesting data in the magnetometer file. anytime I really hammered down on the gas, the magnetic field shot up. Beyond 100 in a spot or two in sum!

ok, I think the accelometer looks ok. but the magnetic field is indeed very strange. Today I tested it too.. but there was no special effect to the magnetic field.
Maybe ask your bike vendor if the bike emmits electromagnetic radiation. If yes, it's totally ok that your magnetometer on your phone mesures this. If not, there might be another reason.
But sorry, I can't give you more informations or ideas. But if I think about something possible I'll notify you.

---------- Post added at 05:34 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:19 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by CryptoCombat

I parsed them into excel using csv format mode. Check out sheet two for a graph. the orange line (labeled sum) is the sum of the x,y and z readings' absolute values. there's some very interesting data in the magnetometer file. anytime I really hammered down on the gas, the magnetic field shot up. Beyond 100 in a spot or two in sum!

Sorry, I checked your accelometer graph again. You calculated the sum the wrong way. The actual way to calculate it is:

sum = √(a₁ + a₂ + a₃)

And with that you get this graph:

17th January 2014, 06:26 PM |#13  
OP Junior Member
Flag Houston, TX
Thanks Meter: 3
 
Donate to Me
More
Interesting update: with no headphones plugged in, the skipping does not occur. I started a playlist through the built in speakers and after a very fast drive it was on track to the second.

I'm guessing the magnetic field generated by the alternator is causing induction feedback in the headphone wires. Otherwise I'm stumped.

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
17th January 2014, 10:07 PM |#14  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
mmm
try a differnet pair of headphones maybe?
17th January 2014, 10:23 PM |#15  
OP Junior Member
Flag Houston, TX
Thanks Meter: 3
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by stldaniel

try a differnet pair of headphones maybe?

Yup. That's my next step. Sadface, these Beats earbuds are nice

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
18th January 2014, 10:27 PM |#16  
LibertyMarine's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 152
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by CryptoCombat

Interesting update: with no headphones plugged in, the skipping does not occur. I started a playlist through the built in speakers and after a very fast drive it was on track to the second.

I'm guessing the magnetic field generated by the alternator is causing induction feedback in the headphone wires. Otherwise I'm stumped.

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

why didn't you mention or quote me? I would have been able to answer... but I didn't get any notification. Yes.. maybe, because this graph was quite strange. You can make an isolation with another magnetic field that compensates these fluctiations.
11th February 2014, 06:57 PM |#17  
vvelvetelvis's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sacramento
Thanks Meter: 64
 
More
i am so glad i found this post. i just got my one and am having the exact same problem. i even have htc sending me a new pair of headphones. i was going to try using my old s3 headphones but the one wont even recognize them when i plug them in.

i have to say, all your graphs and math is way to much for me. all i know is my phone hates my motorcycle. whats really weird is, i can make it on the streets to the fwy. its once i get on the fwy that things go all skippy.

did you ever find a solution?
30th May 2014, 03:26 PM |#18  
OP Junior Member
Flag Houston, TX
Thanks Meter: 3
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vvelvetelvis

i am so glad i found this post. i just got my one and am having the exact same problem. i even have htc sending me a new pair of headphones. i was going to try using my old s3 headphones but the one wont even recognize them when i plug them in.

i have to say, all your graphs and math is way to much for me. all i know is my phone hates my motorcycle. whats really weird is, i can make it on the streets to the fwy. its once i get on the fwy that things go all skippy.

did you ever find a solution?

I didn't get a notification about this post. Solution is to use almost any other headphones for anyone else having this problem. The Beats buds that shipped with the m7 Beats model have flat wires which as a general rule are much more susceptible to electrostatic interference.
Last edited by CryptoCombat; 30th May 2014 at 03:45 PM.
30th May 2014, 03:40 PM |#19  
vvelvetelvis's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sacramento
Thanks Meter: 64
 
More
Talking
Quote:
Originally Posted by CryptoCombat

I didn't get a notification about this post. Solution is to use almost any other headphones for anyone else having this problem. The Beats buds that shipped with the m7 Beats model have flat wires which are much more susceptible to electrostatic interference.

That is kind of what I did. I got a pair of skull candy headphones without the mic. Hard to find a pair without the mic. They still have a flat cable but work great.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes