Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Disable Pen detect

OP fredbull

27th May 2014, 02:23 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
191 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Hi,

In s-pen settings, i have "disable s-pen detection. (keep battery life)"

What does it mean ? What it should do ?
Because when i enable or disable, i dont feel any difference of behavior.
It seems to always detect when i put the Pen off.

Regards
The Following User Says Thank You to fredbull For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th May 2014, 03:21 PM   |  #2  
4aces's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,073
 
732 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fredbull

Hi,

In s-pen settings, i have "disable s-pen detection. (keep battery life)"

What does it mean ? What it should do ?
Because when i enable or disable, i dont feel any difference of behavior.
It seems to always detect when i put the Pen off.

Regards

Every once in a while your phone checks if the pen is still there I guess? A really must have feature thanks for asking though just turned it off
30th May 2014, 08:00 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
191 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Thanks
30th May 2014, 08:51 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Dubai
Thanks Meter: 67
 
271 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4aces

Every once in a while your phone checks if the pen is still there I guess? A really must have feature thanks for asking though just turned it off

Quite possible that you're right. The S-Pen detection is a feature that keeps the digitiser active even when the s-pen is stored in it's tube. This is why it uses a bit of battery.
Why you might not want to disable it - if you have another s-pen then it doesn't work when the box is ticked. so if you also have another Note series phone or tablet then you can't use the same s-pen for each.
I have the Bluetooth S-Pen (HM5100) and it just doesn't work when the box is ticked.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes