Awesome Collection of Wallpapers

more

HTC M9’s New BoomSound Speakers

more

HTC One M9 Spec Sheet

more
Post Reply

[Q] m8_whl can't flash cm11

OP pikuseru

28th May 2014, 05:05 AM   |  #1  
pikuseru's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
More
I have the HTC M8 from sprint. I just finished rooting it and when I went to flash the new nightly (20140527) using TRWP, it showed this:



Did I do something wrong? If there's some way to add "m8_whl" to the list of devices, please let me know.
28th May 2014, 10:59 PM   |  #2  
mjs2011's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,735
 
4,431 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by pikuseru

I have the HTC M8 from sprint. I just finished rooting it and when I went to flash the new nightly (20140527) using TRWP, it showed this:



Did I do something wrong? If there's some way to add "m8_whl" to the list of devices, please let me know.

Usually I would get that message in the case of a bad download.

Sent from my One M8 using Tapatalk
28th May 2014, 11:12 PM   |  #3  
pikuseru's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
More
I tried redownloading it multiple times to no avail. It just refuses to install because ...
Quote:

This package is for "m8,m8wl,m8wlv,m8vzw,m8whl,m8spr" devices; this is a "m8_whl"

... which makes no sense because I got my m8 from Sprint. Doesn't this mean that the device should be an "m8spr"?
28th May 2014, 11:26 PM   |  #4  
EVOuser94's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bloomsdale
Thanks Meter: 490
 
959 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Try using @Captain_Throwback recovery

Sent from my 831C using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
28th May 2014, 11:36 PM   |  #5  
Captain_Throwback's Avatar
Retired Moderator / Recognized Contributor
Flag Bensalem, PA
Thanks Meter: 11,937
 
10
13,069 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pikuseru

I tried redownloading it multiple times to no avail. It just refuses to install because ...

... which makes no sense because I got my m8 from Sprint. Doesn't this mean that the device should be an "m8spr"?

Just open the updater-script in the zip file and add m8_whl to the assert line at the top.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Captain_Throwback For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th May 2014, 12:23 AM   |  #6  
pikuseru's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain_Throwback

Just open the updater-script in the zip file and add m8_whl to the assert line at the top.

It works!
Will I have to add this line every time there's a new update, or can it be added to the official nightlies?

Edit: I may have spoken too soon. My device was rebooting relentlessly. It would show the "Welcome to CM" screen, then google things would crash, rinse, repeat all in about 10 seconds. Then it went to just showing the boot animation. I managed to turn it off using pwr&vol+, but it somehow encrypted itself. Spooky.

Edit 2 (The return of edit): I forgot to wipe /data. No more crashing now, though my question about the updater-script above still stands.
Last edited by pikuseru; 29th May 2014 at 01:58 AM.
30th May 2014, 09:00 PM   |  #7  
joshuaw84's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 207
 
373 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by pikuseru

It works!
Will I have to add this line every time there's a new update, or can it be added to the official nightlies?

Edit: I may have spoken too soon. My device was rebooting relentlessly. It would show the "Welcome to CM" screen, then google things would crash, rinse, repeat all in about 10 seconds. Then it went to just showing the boot animation. I managed to turn it off using pwr&vol+, but it somehow encrypted itself. Spooky.

Edit 2 (The return of edit): I forgot to wipe /data. No more crashing now, though my question about the updater-script above still stands.

If its not in there, yes. If its in there, no.

Sent from my Sprint M8 Running the latest Viper
30th May 2014, 11:09 PM   |  #8  
slimbrady's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Diego
Thanks Meter: 49
 
193 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by EVOuser94

Try using @Captain_Throwback recovery

Sent from my 831C using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

This is the best thing to do OP. Always trust the Cap'n and his code^^ =)

At least, fixed a similar issue I had while using something other than Captain_Throwback's TWRP for the M8....

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes