Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,769,758 Members 46,567 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

help with adb commands for s-off and perm root

Tip us?
 
commandocon
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 71
Join Date: Mar 2014
Default help with adb commands for s-off and perm root

Well let me first off say i'm feeling really dumb atm.
Just bought my wife the new m8 , I've already s-offd and perm rooted mine but for some reason im having trouble getting the commands to work for hers .
im using a mac btw but like ive said i did successfully do this on this exact setup


adb reboot <–important!!!!
adb wait-for-device push firewater /data/local/tmp <<<<<<<<
adb shell
su
chmod 755 /data/local/tmp/firewater
/data/local/tmp/firewater


do i actually put the data local tmp part in or am i supposed to be putting in my local directory where i have the file on my computer
when i adb devices , i can see my device, so it is connected
in adb when i " adb reboot" it does reboot my phone
but when i try to push the firewater file it does not push , i get this

cannot stat 'firewater': No such file or directory

firewater file is in my adb folder on my desktop and its the right size etc etc .

thanks in advance if anyone can tell me what im doing wrong!!!!
 
wtoj34
Old
#2  
wtoj34's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 147
Posts: 575
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: San Antonio, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by commandocon View Post
Well let me first off say i'm feeling really dumb atm.
Just bought my wife the new m8 , I've already s-offd and perm rooted mine but for some reason im having trouble getting the commands to work for hers .
im using a mac btw but like ive said i did successfully do this on this exact setup


adb reboot <–important!!!!
adb wait-for-device push firewater /data/local/tmp <<<<<<<<
adb shell
su
chmod 755 /data/local/tmp/firewater
/data/local/tmp/firewater


do i actually put the data local tmp part in or am i supposed to be putting in my local directory where i have the file on my computer
when i adb devices , i can see my device, so it is connected
in adb when i " adb reboot" it does reboot my phone
but when i try to push the firewater file it does not push , i get this

cannot stat 'firewater': No such file or directory

firewater file is in my adb folder on my desktop and its the right size etc etc .

thanks in advance if anyone can tell me what im doing wrong!!!!
Have you already temp rooted her phone with weak sauce?

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk
If I help any one any where at any time, please let me know by clicking thanks!
Current devices: HTC ONE M8, Galaxy Nexus, Motorola Xoom Former devices: Droid X2, Droid Charge, Note 2,
 
commandocon
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 71
Join Date: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by wtoj34 View Post
Have you already temp rooted her phone with weak sauce?

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk
yes i have temp root and su installed
 
wtoj34
Old
#4  
wtoj34's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 147
Posts: 575
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: San Antonio, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by commandocon View Post
yes i have temp root and su installed
Hmm. Are you copy pasting the messages? Make sure you don't have any spaces in wrong places. Maybe try a factory reset on said device. Just confirming firewater and adb are in the same directory?

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk
If I help any one any where at any time, please let me know by clicking thanks!
Current devices: HTC ONE M8, Galaxy Nexus, Motorola Xoom Former devices: Droid X2, Droid Charge, Note 2,
 
commandocon
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 71
Join Date: Mar 2014
yeah theyre in the same folder
 
markanthonyjohn
Old
#6  
markanthonyjohn's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 26
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: New Jersey
Quote:
Originally Posted by commandocon View Post
yeah theyre in the same folder
Click on weaksauce to make sure it is still working and you may have to click on a prompt and then try ADB again after that.
 
commandocon
Old
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 71
Join Date: Mar 2014
Figured out what it was at about 12 midnight, I had to add in the directory then put the data/local/ tmp/ etc after that.
So problem is all solved thank god was justa long night of trying commands

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes