FORUMS

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (Apr 17 – 24)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Glimpse Notifications: Easier Lockscreen Notifications

Lollipop brought a revamp to the lockscreen, taking away custom widgets but … more

What Are the Best Looking Apps on Android?

As more developers are updating their apps with Material Design elements, we’re … more

Cyngn Explained: Who’s Cyanogen, What’s Cyanogen OS?

While Cyanogen, Inc has been the source of many headlines lately, there … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

phone wont get past viperrom screen

23rd May 2014, 01:34 AM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Torrance, CA
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
can someone help me asap please. about an hour ago i was using my phone normally, locked the screen with the button, then a couple minutes later tried to unlock the screen to check my browser but it wouldnt turn on. it was like it turned off. the only way to get it back on was by doing the power plus vol down to go into bootloader. i did that and rebooted everything worked normally on the reboot. i sent a text and locked it. a few minutes later i went to unlock it again to check something but it wouldnt turn on again. this time on the reboot nothing worked. it would reboot and just sit on the screen where it says Viper ROM wtih the red V flashing. i went into recovery and reflashed the rom, now it loaded up, did the "updating apps "x out of xxx" and after that it went to "android is upgrading...starting apps" with the spinning circle on the left. it has been stuck on this screen for about 5 minutes now and the circle is still spinning. what should i do?

edit: ive been on 1.1.0 viper rom for months now, since it first came out and havent had problem up until today. havent messed with any settings or anything. i really am trying to avoid doing a system wipe cause i have important texts i cant lose.
 
 
23rd May 2014, 01:54 AM |#2  
drlzanej's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,017
 
More
This would be better suited and more likely to be adressed in Q/A or better yet the Viper Rom thread.

Sent from my HTCONE using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to drlzanej For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd May 2014, 01:56 AM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Torrance, CA
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by drlzanej

This would be better suited and more likely to be adressed in Q/A or better yet the Viper Rom thread.

Sent from my HTCONE using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

sorry about that, i posted in both those places but got no responses so i tried here. really trying to find some help asap cause i havent been able to use my phone for a few hours now
The Following User Says Thank You to vtotheinay For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd May 2014, 02:21 AM |#4  
BD619's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Xda-Dev,NV
Thanks Meter: 8,912
 
Donate to Me
More
Greetings,
I moved this to Q&A and I'll be deleting the duplicate.

Thanks,
BD619
The Following User Says Thank You to BD619 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd May 2014, 06:33 AM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Flag Torrance, CA
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
^thank you sir!

can anyone help me with an answer to this question. if i backup the data portion in recovery mode, do the wipe in team win recovery, then reflash the rom. can i restore just hte data only and have my text messages back since it would be the same rom i was running before?
31st May 2014, 06:45 PM |#6  
OP Senior Member
Flag Torrance, CA
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
i am having the same issue again after i factory reseted and reinstalled the rom. can anyone help?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes