FORUMS

Hands-on With T-Mo LG G4 and Q&A

XDA Senior Member WinDroidGuy posted a hands-on video of the T-Mobile LG G4, and he is now … more

Quick Notes – Notification Panel Reminders

This app by XDA Senior Member yogi.306 is a quick and productive tool that … more

Who Is Your Favorite YouTuber That Covers Mobile?

There are dozens of talented YouTubers who cover mobile, but we want to know which … more

Galaxy S6 Shipping with Different Camera Models

One of the Galaxy S6’s most flaunted features is its spectacular camera, its 16MP … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] problem restoring a safestrap backup

31st May 2014, 04:42 PM |#1  
OP Member
Central NY
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
my phone is a Galaxy S4 on kitkat rooted via surge's method..

After editing the build file for a tweak and rebooting my s4, it won't boot. I can get into recovery mode, so I went into safestrap 3.72 and selected restore to restore a backup I made a few days ago. it started fine, but now appears to be stuck for the last hour. the progress bar at the bottom is al lthe way to the end but it is still showing "restoring cache". not sure how long I should wait until I give up on it, and if I forcibly stop it will it mess things up even more?
thanks,
Dave
 
 
31st May 2014, 04:59 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag Decatur
Thanks Meter: 842
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by biikman

my phone is a Galaxy S4 on kitkat rooted via surge's method..

After editing the build file for a tweak and rebooting my s4, it won't boot. I can get into recovery mode, so I went into safestrap 3.72 and selected restore to restore a backup I made a few days ago. it started fine, but now appears to be stuck for the last hour. the progress bar at the bottom is al lthe way to the end but it is still showing "restoring cache". not sure how long I should wait until I give up on it, and if I forcibly stop it will it mess things up even more?
thanks,
Dave

Unfortunately. ..3.72 safe strap was for att s4 and has several issues with verizon. Restore a backup maybe one of those. Hash code doesn't really offer us any support for Verizon issues with att release.

sent by baja kitkat S4
31st May 2014, 05:07 PM |#3  
OP Member
Central NY
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by decaturbob

Unfortunately. ..3.72 safe strap was for att s4 and has several issues with verizon. Restore a backup maybe one of those. Hash code doesn't really offer us any support for Verizon issues with att release.

sent by baja kitkat S4

ok, thanks for the quick reply! Looks like I'm doing a full reinstall.
31st May 2014, 05:18 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Flag Decatur
Thanks Meter: 842
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by biikman

ok, thanks for the quick reply! Looks like I'm doing a full reinstall.

I will probably verify if this an issue before I do baja rom update this weekend. Something we need to know that a backup is going to work.

sent by baja kitkat S4
31st May 2014, 05:21 PM |#5  
OP Member
Central NY
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
would it be possible to uninstall 3.72 after everything is set up with KK, root etc and install 3.71 and make a backup using this version, so that a restore is possible? I'm still learning all this so hopefully not a dumb question
31st May 2014, 05:25 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag Decatur
Thanks Meter: 842
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by biikman

would it be possible to uninstall 3.72 after everything is set up with KK, root etc and install 3.71 and make a backup using this version, so that a restore is possible? I'm still learning all this so hopefully not a dumb question

Nope...3.71 won't run right at all on kitkat

sent by baja kitkat S4
31st May 2014, 06:42 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 334
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by decaturbob

Unfortunately. ..3.72 safe strap was for att s4 and has several issues with verizon. Restore a backup maybe one of those. Hash code doesn't really offer us any support for Verizon issues with att release.

sent by baja kitkat S4

Using Hyperdrive 16.1 with safestrap 3.72. I have restored a backup a few times without issue.
31st May 2014, 06:50 PM |#8  
OP Member
Central NY
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by decaturbob

Nope...3.71 won't run right at all on kitkat

sent by baja kitkat S4

so is there a way at this point on KK with safestrap 3.72 to be able to back up and restore reliably using any method?

thx
31st May 2014, 07:03 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 334
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by biikman

so is there a way at this point on KK with safestrap 3.72 to be able to back up and restore reliably using any method?

thx


Like I said above, I haven't had any problems backing up and restoring. The only "drawback" with 3.72 is you can only use the stock slot. Maybe your backup got corrupted somehow.
31st May 2014, 07:27 PM |#10  
OP Member
Central NY
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by riker147

Like I said above, I haven't had any problems backing up and restoring. The only "drawback" with 3.72 is you can only use the stock slot. Maybe your backup got corrupted somehow.

with that in mind I did try again, but first I did a wipe then restore. Success this time. Since I don't install roms the stock slot issue isn't an issue for me.

thanks for everyones help and insight!

Dave
Last edited by biikman; 31st May 2014 at 07:33 PM. Reason: spelling
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes