Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,736,958 Members 52,621 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] problem restoring a safestrap backup

Tip us?
 
biikman
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 19
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Central NY
Default [Q] problem restoring a safestrap backup

my phone is a Galaxy S4 on kitkat rooted via surge's method..

After editing the build file for a tweak and rebooting my s4, it won't boot. I can get into recovery mode, so I went into safestrap 3.72 and selected restore to restore a backup I made a few days ago. it started fine, but now appears to be stuck for the last hour. the progress bar at the bottom is al lthe way to the end but it is still showing "restoring cache". not sure how long I should wait until I give up on it, and if I forcibly stop it will it mess things up even more?
thanks,
Dave
 
decaturbob
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 783
Posts: 2,278
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Decatur
Quote:
Originally Posted by biikman View Post
my phone is a Galaxy S4 on kitkat rooted via surge's method..

After editing the build file for a tweak and rebooting my s4, it won't boot. I can get into recovery mode, so I went into safestrap 3.72 and selected restore to restore a backup I made a few days ago. it started fine, but now appears to be stuck for the last hour. the progress bar at the bottom is al lthe way to the end but it is still showing "restoring cache". not sure how long I should wait until I give up on it, and if I forcibly stop it will it mess things up even more?
thanks,
Dave
Unfortunately. ..3.72 safe strap was for att s4 and has several issues with verizon. Restore a backup maybe one of those. Hash code doesn't really offer us any support for Verizon issues with att release.

sent by baja kitkat S4
S4 powered by hashcode 3.72 safestrap and Echo V26 kitkat
 
biikman
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 19
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Central NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by decaturbob View Post
Unfortunately. ..3.72 safe strap was for att s4 and has several issues with verizon. Restore a backup maybe one of those. Hash code doesn't really offer us any support for Verizon issues with att release.

sent by baja kitkat S4
ok, thanks for the quick reply! Looks like I'm doing a full reinstall.
 
decaturbob
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 783
Posts: 2,278
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Decatur
Quote:
Originally Posted by biikman View Post
ok, thanks for the quick reply! Looks like I'm doing a full reinstall.
I will probably verify if this an issue before I do baja rom update this weekend. Something we need to know that a backup is going to work.

sent by baja kitkat S4
S4 powered by hashcode 3.72 safestrap and Echo V26 kitkat
 
biikman
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 19
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Central NY
would it be possible to uninstall 3.72 after everything is set up with KK, root etc and install 3.71 and make a backup using this version, so that a restore is possible? I'm still learning all this so hopefully not a dumb question
 
decaturbob
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 783
Posts: 2,278
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Decatur
Quote:
Originally Posted by biikman View Post
would it be possible to uninstall 3.72 after everything is set up with KK, root etc and install 3.71 and make a backup using this version, so that a restore is possible? I'm still learning all this so hopefully not a dumb question
Nope...3.71 won't run right at all on kitkat

sent by baja kitkat S4
S4 powered by hashcode 3.72 safestrap and Echo V26 kitkat
 
riker147
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 268
Posts: 896
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by decaturbob View Post
Unfortunately. ..3.72 safe strap was for att s4 and has several issues with verizon. Restore a backup maybe one of those. Hash code doesn't really offer us any support for Verizon issues with att release.

sent by baja kitkat S4
Using Hyperdrive 16.1 with safestrap 3.72. I have restored a backup a few times without issue.
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _____________________
Reading Is Fundamental
 
biikman
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 19
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Central NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by decaturbob View Post
Nope...3.71 won't run right at all on kitkat

sent by baja kitkat S4
so is there a way at this point on KK with safestrap 3.72 to be able to back up and restore reliably using any method?

thx
 
riker147
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 268
Posts: 896
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by biikman View Post
so is there a way at this point on KK with safestrap 3.72 to be able to back up and restore reliably using any method?

thx

Like I said above, I haven't had any problems backing up and restoring. The only "drawback" with 3.72 is you can only use the stock slot. Maybe your backup got corrupted somehow.
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _____________________
Reading Is Fundamental
 
biikman
Old
(Last edited by biikman; 31st May 2014 at 07:33 PM.) Reason: spelling
#10  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 19
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Central NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by riker147 View Post
Like I said above, I haven't had any problems backing up and restoring. The only "drawback" with 3.72 is you can only use the stock slot. Maybe your backup got corrupted somehow.
with that in mind I did try again, but first I did a wipe then restore. Success this time. Since I don't install roms the stock slot issue isn't an issue for me.

thanks for everyones help and insight!

Dave

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Cell Phone SIM Unlock Bill Just Steps Away from President’s Desk

For all those who believe that Cinderella stories don’t actually … more

Get Your Cargo to its Destination in 4×4 Military Operations Reborn

Racing games have evolved quite a bit since the days of Pole … more

Automate Your Device with Sfen

Changing the profile of yourdevice manually is now long forgotten. Since the advent of Android automation … more