Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Will OTA Kit Kat break stock unrooted image?

OP arcsum68

29th May 2014, 11:32 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
42 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
Pretty much what the title says.

I have Safestrap installed, but mostly use the stock non rooted image. I specifically set it up this way for Good compatibility, just like to keep the other image around for certain occasions.

Will it even work as is, or will it fail due to the modified bootloader?
30th May 2014, 01:53 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Decatur
Thanks Meter: 834
 
2,452 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by arcsum68

Pretty much what the title says.

I have Safestrap installed, but mostly use the stock non rooted image. I specifically set it up this way for Good compatibility, just like to keep the other image around for certain occasions.

Will it even work as is, or will it fail due to the modified bootloader?

Can't go back and forth with safestrap and kitkat...ss 3.72 ....which is out for att..will not do rom slots only stock slot install is allowed...There is downgrade method that allows NC5 to downgrade to mk2....but you would have to reload any rom in Stock slot.

sent by safestrap enabled bajarom
30th May 2014, 02:00 AM   |  #3  
k1mu's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Virginia
Thanks Meter: 1,580
 
1,925 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
My understanding of the reason that Safestrap 3.72 isn't released for our phone is that it doesn't support bootstrapping the slots.
If that's true, then you can't do what you want.
Also, if you upgrade, you'll get the Kit Kat kernel, which means that even if you get a slot to boot, you'll need to use bypasslkm to load the modules into that slot (otherwise, no wifi, etc.) But since you're not rooted, you can't run bypasslkm.
30th May 2014, 05:33 AM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
42 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
Bummer. I guess its time to pony up for a wife tether app, which is really all I need root for anymore. I love the ROM's, but it's gotten to the point where I can make most of the stock image run well for me and still be compliant for work. If I didnt need good, none of this would even be a consideration.

Will the update take and "fix" Safestrap, or will I have to manually uninstall it again?
1st June 2014, 01:59 AM   |  #5  
k1mu's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Virginia
Thanks Meter: 1,580
 
1,925 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by arcsum68

Bummer. I guess its time to pony up for a wife tether app, which is really all I need root for anymore. I love the ROM's, but it's gotten to the point where I can make most of the stock image run well for me and still be compliant for work. If I didnt need good, none of this would even be a consideration.

Will the update take and "fix" Safestrap, or will I have to manually uninstall it again?

You'll need to uninstall Safestrap and probably unroot before the OTA will work.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes