Lenovo Officially Owns Motorola, Following ~$3 Billion Deal

Google is now officially no longer the owner American phone manufacturer … more

Microsoft Band Fitness Tracker Announced, Available

The wearable market has been around for a few years, with Pebble and Samsung smartwatches … more

Forums Added for the Oppo R5, Oppo N3, and Xiaomi Redmi Note

Just yesterday, Oppo unveiled a pair of rather unique smartphones, the Oppo … more

How to Play Music From Android Wear – XDA TV

Yesterday, we showed you how to do some advanced things with your Moto 360 quite easily … more
Post Reply

[Q] AT&T OTA Not working - Stock

OP Piachnp

31st May 2014, 08:08 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Buenos Aires
Thanks Meter: 24
 
97 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Hey guys, I just bought this phone yesterday from AT&T. Just out of the box I received an OTA update, which I thought was the KK update. But no, I am stuck on android 4.1.2 and Sense 5.0, and when I try to update, all I get is a message saying that everything is up to date and there are no updates available for me.

I am on the AT&T network at the time, and my phone is completely stock, no mod whatsoever. Any ideas what is going on????
31st May 2014, 08:12 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
You might want to exchange for a new unit or request for them to update, for all we know applying solutions suggested by us might just void the warranty instead.

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
31st May 2014, 08:18 PM   |  #3  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Central Florida
Thanks Meter: 1,093
 
4,052 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Piachnp

Hey guys, I just bought this phone yesterday from AT&T. Just out of the box I received an OTA update, which I thought was the KK update. But no, I am stuck on android 4.1.2 and Sense 5.0, and when I try to update, all I get is a message saying that everything is up to date and there are no updates available for me.

I am on the AT&T network at the time, and my phone is completely stock, no mod whatsoever. Any ideas what is going on????

use this RUU to get to 4.3 >> http://androidruu.com/getdownload.ph...5_signed_2.exe

you need locked / relocked bootloader

being your on 4.1.2 now would be a great time to get s-off before doing the ruu update. check this guide for getting s-off
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2365506
31st May 2014, 08:39 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 423
 
1,753 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsA

being your on 4.1.2 now would be a great time to get s-off before doing the ruu update. check this guide for getting s-off
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2365506

+1 .. do it now!
31st May 2014, 10:11 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Flag Buenos Aires
Thanks Meter: 24
 
97 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Lets say I don't do S-Off (i don't really know what that is, my earlier phone was a crappy samsung) and I do the update with the RUU, will I be able to do S-Off later???

The thing is that i don't want to void the warranty. Coming from a really bad phone, where I had to mod EVERYTHING to get it working acceptably, I would really like to settle down and be stock for a while. Of course, that feeling will probably last a few months and then I will be flashing roms every 2 days lol.

If I flash the RUU manually, that doesn't void the warranty right? I mean, its an official firmware i suppose. On the other hand, if I can only do the S-Off thing right now, i might consider staying a while longer with 4.1.2 ... after all it is not so bad.
31st May 2014, 10:33 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 423
 
1,753 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Piachnp

Lets say I don't do S-Off (i don't really know what that is, my earlier phone was a crappy samsung) and I do the update with the RUU, will I be able to do S-Off later???

The thing is that i don't want to void the warranty. Coming from a really bad phone, where I had to mod EVERYTHING to get it working acceptably, I would really like to settle down and be stock for a while. Of course, that feeling will probably last a few months and then I will be flashing roms every 2 days lol.

If I flash the RUU manually, that doesn't void the warranty right? I mean, its an official firmware i suppose. On the other hand, if I can only do the S-Off thing right now, i might consider staying a while longer with 4.1.2 ... after all it is not so bad.

Yes it is HARDER to do S-OFF on later updates.
31st May 2014, 11:16 PM   |  #7  
OP Member
Flag Buenos Aires
Thanks Meter: 24
 
97 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SaHiLzZ

Yes it is HARDER to do S-OFF on later updates.

Mmm I think I'll start reading more before I make any decisions. Eventually I will root and install custom rims and kernels, so I'd like to keep my options open. If it's HARD but not impossible I might upgrade and stay stock.

Would you say there's a big difference between 4.1.2 / Sense 5.0 and 4.3 / Sense 5.5 ???
1st June 2014, 01:19 AM   |  #8  
JiroPrinz8's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Island city of the South
Thanks Meter: 296
 
1,237 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
It's not that hard really.. i decided to s-off when im already running a KK rom. Firewater worked like a charm.

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
1st June 2014, 02:10 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Mobile, AL
Thanks Meter: 41
 
270 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Gain S-Off now, and forever be happy. I never cared about OTA when I had that phone, I could run any RUU I wanted to, I changed from ATT to Dev, to GPE and back so many times. Just awesome.
1st June 2014, 02:12 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 423
 
1,753 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by JiroPrinz8

It's not that hard really.. i decided to s-off when im already running a KK rom. Firewater worked like a charm.

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Until you get whelped..

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes