Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,809,247 Members 46,872 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Question about Network Unlock

Tip us?
 
xhalz
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 37
Join Date: Apr 2010
Default Question about Network Unlock

Hello all,

I have a Samsung Galaxy S III from AT&T.

I plan on traveling so, I wanted to unlock it. I followed the steps on Android 4.1.1 I believe and it seemed to work (my menus looked identical to the tutorial I followed, but I don't have another SIM to test with). But, I have had the phone for a while and it is really sluggish, so I backed it up and decided to do a hard reset. The phone is running much smoother now, but I did do an AT&T software update which brought it to Android 4.3, and now when I look at the menu after typing *#197328640# and following the steps, when I get to Network Unlock, it looks different. Did the update relock my phone to the AT&T network. Is there a way to verify? Should I just hard reset again and stick with 4.1? Pleas let me know as soon as possible as I am traveling soon.

Thanks for all the help
 
audit13
Old
#2  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 420
Posts: 2,362
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Toronto
If your phone was unlocked using any method, it should not relock. You can test it with a non att sim.
 
xhalz
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 37
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post
If your phone was unlocked using any method, it should not relock. You can test it with a non att sim.
How do I test if I don't have access to a non ATT sim, I have one Korean SIM card, but I don't know how to test with it because it is not currently being serviced.
 
audit13
Old
#4  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 420
Posts: 2,362
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Toronto
Put in the non-ATT sim, power up the phone. If it does not ask you to enter an network or carrier unlock code, the phone is unlocked.
 
xhalz
Old
(Last edited by xhalz; 2nd June 2014 at 12:57 AM.)
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 37
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post
Put in the non-ATT sim, power up the phone. If it does not ask you to enter an network or carrier unlock code, the phone is unlocked.
it shows no signal, but does not ask me for a network or a code. So it should be fine right?
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes