How to Root Android Wear 5.0.1 Lollipop Devices – XDA TV

The Lollipop update for Android Wear devices has hit the market and people are … more

Android 5.0.2 and New Factory Images For Nexus 7 (Wi-Fi) Available

Android 5.0 is has been publicly available since early November, and the … more

Github Tutorial App Shows You How to Use… Github

Github can get pretty complicated and using it can become quite daunting, especially … more

Google Glass-like Clip-On For Regular Glasses Developed by Sony

For the price of $2,000, a pair of glasses that can run apps, take pictures, … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] I can't find a good .md5 for rooting

OP Krux9

26th May 2014, 09:48 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
I'm just trying to root my note 3.
The steps seem easy, I have odin, I can put my phone into bootloader mode, but every .md5 I try Fails in odin.

The "root" tab on this website is aged and doesn't specify Verizon Kitkat SM-N900V
so obviously everything I tried there failed.

does anyone have an md5 for this I can use?
27th May 2014, 07:19 AM   |  #2  
ultramag69's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Waratah
Thanks Meter: 578
 
4,474 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krux9

I'm just trying to root my note 3.
The steps seem easy, I have odin, I can put my phone into bootloader mode, but every .md5 I try Fails in odin.

The "root" tab on this website is aged and doesn't specify Verizon Kitkat SM-N900V
so obviously everything I tried there failed.

does anyone have an md5 for this I can use?

Try here - http://forum.xda-developers.com/verizon-galaxy-note-3
27th May 2014, 09:35 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by ultramag69

Try here - http://forum.xda-developers.com/verizon-galaxy-note-3

yea....no.. you just linked me back to where i started
27th May 2014, 11:35 PM   |  #4  
4aces's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,073
 
732 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krux9

yea....no.. you just linked me back to where i started

Look here

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=46818366

Follow each step and don't forget to enable USB debugging and unknown sources on your note 3
1st June 2014, 02:42 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4aces

Look here

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=46818366

Follow each step and don't forget to enable USB debugging and unknown sources on your note 3

Awesome, this looks like a step in the right direction but it seems that I have to create the custom firmware, but it has to be done with a Linux terminal.

"How to use Universal Root de la Vega:
Open a terminal to the directory containing URDLV.sh (not windows command prompt)"

I don't have linux, and I may be missing something but I don't see a way to do this with windows. Any ideas?
1st June 2014, 02:59 AM   |  #6  
4aces's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,073
 
732 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krux9

Awesome, this looks like a step in the right direction but it seems that I have to create the custom firmware, but it has to be done with a Linux terminal.

"How to use Universal Root de la Vega:
Open a terminal to the directory containing URDLV.sh (not windows command prompt)"

I don't have linux, and I may be missing something but I don't see a way to do this with windows. Any ideas?

Under how can I try my firmware are two links. One seems to be the file u need. N900V right? Click on it and it should open a mega upload link.
1st June 2014, 09:25 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4aces

Under how can I try my firmware are two links. One seems to be the file u need. N900V right? Click on it and it should open a mega upload link.

Alright.. well, I ran that md5 through Odin and it failed. I got this:




And I guess it corrupted my firmware or something because my phone wouldn't boot after that. Had this "Firmware upgrade encountered an issue. Please use Software Repair Assistant & try again."

Thankfully in my adventures of trying to root this damn thing, I've encountered this before and have a stock md5 to recover the phone when this happens.
1st June 2014, 09:36 PM   |  #8  
4aces's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,073
 
732 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krux9

Alright.. well, I ran that md5 through Odin and it failed. I got this:




And I guess it corrupted my firmware or something because my phone wouldn't boot after that. Had this "Firmware upgrade encountered an issue. Please use Software Repair Assistant & try again."

Thankfully in my adventures of trying to root this damn thing, I've encountered this before and have a stock md5 to recover the phone when this happens.

Good for you.

Did u read everything? Got cygwin? I don't want to make a new how to as there is one, just follow it step by step

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes