Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Security question about lock pattern in sense 5

OP beerfly

30th May 2014, 02:09 PM   |  #1  
beerfly's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
229 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
Hi guys, recently my friend`s phone was stolen and I found this bug in the lock pattern , where even if you your phone is locked with some pattern , you can actually use the power button to turn it off (and prevent the tracker to find it/lock it/erase it) or reset in bootloader and access recovery so the bad guy can do anything with it... is there a way to prevent power button menu to appear while phone is locked vie pattern ? (nerd)
31st May 2014, 04:05 PM   |  #2  
Flashalot's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 2,423
 
2,377 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by beerfly

Hi guys, recently my friend`s phone was stolen and I found this bug in the lock pattern , where even if you your phone is locked with some pattern , you can actually use the power button to turn it off (and prevent the tracker to find it/lock it/erase it) or reset in bootloader and access recovery so the bad guy can do anything with it... is there a way to prevent power button menu to appear while phone is locked vie pattern ? (nerd)

Well the only way I know of is through rooting the phone and running venom,Aosp,or useing xposed

Sent from my 831C using Tapatalk
31st May 2014, 04:12 PM   |  #3  
beerfly's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
229 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flashalot

Well the only way I know of is through rooting the phone and running venom,Aosp,or useing xposed

Sent from my 831C using Tapatalk

My phone is rooted, I use maximushd 10 rom and xposed but didnt fint the option.
31st May 2014, 05:01 PM   |  #4  
Flashalot's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 2,423
 
2,377 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by beerfly

My phone is rooted, I use maximushd 10 rom and xposed but didnt fint the option.

I think sense 5 toolbox has it but I know for sure venom and aosp have it

Sent from my 831C using Tapatalk
1st June 2014, 11:57 PM   |  #5  
beerfly's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
229 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flashalot

I think sense 5 toolbox has it but I know for sure venom and aosp have it

Sent from my 831C using Tapatalk

Well, i got it. So if i use maximus rom i am not able to use this option. Cant find this in toolbox options.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes