FORUMS

Mysterious GG1 Google Device Stops by FCC. Glass v2?

As the year progresses, we draw further away from Google’s annual I/O … more

Material and Material Dark Hit Samsung’s Theme Store

The latest version of Touchwiz, launched alongside the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge, … more

Swappa’s New App Helps You Value Your Device

There comes a sad time in everyone’s life where you must part ways with your … more

Xiaomi Sold 34.7 Million Phones In 6 Months

2015 has been a phenomenal year for Xiaomi so far. With a stellar rise in 2014, 2015 saw … more

[Q] Help (No service, imei, baseband etc)

5 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By Neomop, Junior Member on 31st May 2014, 10:05 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Trying to upgrade to custom 4.3 roms and have run into an issue (been at this for almost 48 hours, I can't get anything to work at this point so I'm quite frustrated).

Upon flashing a 4.3 custom rom, wifi stopped working, so I sought a solution to that. After wiping and installing several different ROMs with the same result, i ODIN'd a stock 4.3 (so now i have that knox counter). That didn't work either. I ended up flashing that Dr wifi patch, which finally got my wifi to search properly.

But wait, there's more!

I get no mobile service now. Phone doesn't recognize SIM, no baseband, no IMEI, no nothing. All other 4.3 roms give the same result. All other functions seem to work. Re-flashed modem, didn't fix it. Tried to use NV items reader/writer to write my IMEI back, but every time I try to read the phone it fails.

Also been trying to flash a Jedi x20, but every time it just boot loops me right back into recovery.

I'm stuck, and I need help.
 
 
1st June 2014, 01:34 AM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
I read somewhere using SELinux Mode Changer

Sent from my SGH-T889 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
1st June 2014, 02:43 AM |#3  
Coug76's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag East of Seattle
Thanks Meter: 929
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neomop

Trying to upgrade to custom 4.3 roms and have run into an issue (been at this for almost 48 hours, I can't get anything to work at this point so I'm quite frustrated).

Upon flashing a 4.3 custom rom, wifi stopped working, so I sought a solution to that. After wiping and installing several different ROMs with the same result, i ODIN'd a stock 4.3 (so now i have that knox counter). That didn't work either. I ended up flashing that Dr wifi patch, which finally got my wifi to search properly.

But wait, there's more!

I get no mobile service now. Phone doesn't recognize SIM, no baseband, no IMEI, no nothing. All other 4.3 roms give the same result. All other functions seem to work. Re-flashed modem, didn't fix it. Tried to use NV items reader/writer to write my IMEI back, but every time I try to read the phone it fails.

Also been trying to flash a Jedi x20, but every time it just boot loops me right back into recovery.

I'm stuck, and I need help.

Install this app and let us know which bootloader you are running if you cam boot at all. https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...uyen.phoneinfo

What your story indicates and what your results are don't sound typical. Also, which device are you running (according to the sticker under the battery)? Is this a device you bought new or is it one you bought used, if used when did you get it and did it work before?

Which modem did you flash and using which method?

Hastily spouted for your befuddlement
1st June 2014, 05:42 AM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
@technogadget I have tried to set permissive via Selinux modechanger, didn't work
@Coug76

Device was bought new Dec 2012. Prior to this issue I had been using Liquid-JB-v2.37-OFFICIAL-t0ltetmo with no issues (other than awful battery)

Phone INFO:

Bootloader Version: T889VVLUCMK4


Under the battery -
Model: SGH-T889V

Most recently flashed a MK7 modem from http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2564430 via TWRP hoping it would revive network functions, no dice.
1st June 2014, 06:34 AM |#5  
Coug76's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag East of Seattle
Thanks Meter: 929
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neomop

@technogadget I have tried to set permissive via Selinux modechanger, didn't work
@Coug76

Device was bought new Dec 2012. Prior to this issue I had been using Liquid-JB-v2.37-OFFICIAL-t0ltetmo with no issues (other than awful battery)

Phone INFO:

Bootloader Version: T889VVLUCMK4


Under the battery -
Model: SGH-T889V

Most recently flashed a MK7 modem from http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2564430 via TWRP hoping it would revive network functions, no dice.

You are on a Canadian Note 2 then. You should flash the LUCMK4 rom for your device's original carrier from this thread and factory reset. Once you have done that boot and ensure that you have baseband. One fellow reported that flashing the a tmo modem was tough to fix on his Canadian Note 2.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1975560

Hastily spouted for your befuddlement
1st June 2014, 09:14 AM |#6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coug76

You are on a Canadian Note 2 then. You should flash the LUCMK4 rom for your device's original carrier from this thread and factory reset. Once you have done that boot and ensure that you have baseband. One fellow reported that flashing the a tmo modem was tough to fix on his Canadian Note 2.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1975560

Hastily spouted for your befuddlement


Just tried your recommendation. Still no baseband.
1st June 2014, 04:32 PM |#7  
Coug76's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag East of Seattle
Thanks Meter: 929
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neomop

Just tried your recommendation. Still no baseband.

What does that app from a couple posts up show for your modem/baseband? Canadian devices seem to want Tmo modems to stick tight.

Hastily spouted for your befuddlement
1st June 2014, 08:20 PM |#8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coug76

What does that app from a couple posts up show for your modem/baseband? Canadian devices seem to want Tmo modems to stick tight.

Hastily spouted for your befuddlement

Baseband version and modem board are both blank.
2nd June 2014, 12:50 AM |#9  
Coug76's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag East of Seattle
Thanks Meter: 929
 
More
You might give Kies emergency recovery a shot. That Canadian modem swap bit is harsh. I think Teshx had a thread about the subject at one point. I think he just ran the tmo modem... That doesn't seem to work for tie device though.

Hastily spouted for your befuddlement
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes