FORUMS

Google No Longer Sending Calendar SMS Notifications

In a not entirely surprising move, Google announced that it’s putting an … more

Enable Multi-Window Mode on M Developer Preview

What was not mentioned in yeterday’s keynote was Android M’s multi-window … more

I/O Summary: Google Cardboard Virtual Reality

One year ago, Google introduced cardboard. Amazingly enough, that was all it took to fire … more

Android M Preview Images – XDA TV

Android M preview images are available. That and much more news is covered by Jordan when he … more

[Q] GPS No Lock. Fix?

Thanks Meter: 300
 
By geokilla, Senior Member on 2nd June 2014, 06:04 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I am not at home right now, and won't be for the next few days as I am out of town. However yesterday I noticed that the GPS does not lock anymore. I already restored the EFS backup I had from before but to no avail. Is there a way to get GPS working again? Some threads say to flash stock. Others told me it's impossible to fix it. I desperately need it as I am not familiar with the area and it's very inconvenient to not have working GPS. You never know when you might need it.
 
 
2nd June 2014, 04:44 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 72
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla

I am not at home right now, and won't be for the next few days as I am out of town. However yesterday I noticed that the GPS does not lock anymore. I already restored the EFS backup I had from before but to no avail. Is there a way to get GPS working again? Some threads say to flash stock. Others told me it's impossible to fix it. I desperately need it as I am not familiar with the area and it's very inconvenient to not have working GPS. You never know when you might need it.

Flash stock based rom first, get a gps lock, then restore your backup. What rom are you using btw?
2nd June 2014, 11:11 PM |#3  
geokilla's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 300
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by grunch21

Flash stock based rom first, get a gps lock, then restore your backup. What rom are you using btw?

Carbon ROM created by me and @mathsz.

What do you mean by restore the backup? The EFS backup I made was made in Carbon ROM.
3rd June 2014, 10:14 AM |#4  
toybxb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Portugal
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
I just realized that i have the same problem (Carbon too)...i saw in the e970 topics that some guys had the same problem, they fixed with FREEGEE, option RESTORE EFS, i had restore but havent tried it yeat, because im at the office building...i think this will work
3rd June 2014, 05:11 PM |#5  
toybxb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Portugal
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
It didnt work
4th June 2014, 06:39 AM |#6  
toybxb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Portugal
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
Hello ! I have solved the gps fix ! I had to install/flash the original rom...now i have the gps working.

Enviado do meu LG-E975 através de Tapatalk
5th June 2014, 03:07 AM |#7  
geokilla's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 300
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by toybxb

Hello ! I have solved the gps fix ! I had to install/flash the original rom...now i have the gps working.

You just KDZ back to stock JB? Or flashed one of the CWM ones out there?
5th June 2014, 09:44 AM |#8  
toybxb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Portugal
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla

You just KDZ back to stock JB? Or flashed one of the CWM ones out there?

I did whit the LG software KDZ update...lost root and bootloader unlock. i think i will stay whit original rom but with root...
5th June 2014, 06:33 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 72
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla

Carbon ROM created by me and @mathsz.

What do you mean by restore the backup? The EFS backup I made was made in Carbon ROM.

Quote:
Originally Posted by toybxb

I did whit the LG software KDZ update...lost root and bootloader unlock. i think i will stay whit original rom but with root...

It'd be easier if you could find a stock based rom for your model (E971?) rather than using KDZ. Get GPS lock, then restore your ROM if you want. Though in your case i think it's safer to use stock rom for a while since GPS issue is known bug for gee/b based ROMs.
6th June 2014, 02:40 PM |#10  
toybxb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Portugal
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by grunch21

It'd be easier if you could find a stock based rom for your model (E971?) rather than using KDZ. Get GPS lock, then restore your ROM if you want. Though in your case i think it's safer to use stock rom for a while since GPS issue is known bug for gee/b based ROMs.

Mine is e975
I was using Carbon Rom since january...and never got any problem with gps, but now...had to return to stock.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes