FORUMS

3D Printable Mobile Microscope? Nexus 7 Discontinued – XDA TV

The Nexus 7 2013 has been discontinued on the Google Store! That and … more

Which Lockscreen Security Type Do You Use?

From pattern locks to the controversial face unlock, there are a number of different ways you … more

Xposed 3.0 Alpha 3 Released

A new alpha for the Xposed framework is out and brings several bug fixes. You’ll only need to flash … more

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (Apr 18 – 25)

Here in the digital XDA newsroom, we spend our days pouring over an average of … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Bricked Device?

28th May 2014, 03:40 PM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I tried following this tutorial: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2322820 to change my Modelid for OTA update. Download the files on the post and followed the given example, but when I tried to writemid, all I get is this:
C:\platform-tools>fastboot oem writemid PN0712000
...
(bootloader) [ERR] Command error !!!
OKAY [ 0.004s]
finished. total time: 0.004s


and when I run fastboot getvar all, I get this:
C:\platform-tools>fastboot getvar all
(bootloader) version: 0.5
(bootloader) version-bootloader: 1.57.0000
(bootloader) version-baseband: N/A
(bootloader) version-cpld: None
(bootloader) version-microp: None
(bootloader) version-main:
(bootloader) version-misc: UNKNOWN
(bootloader) serialno:
(bootloader) imei: PRIVATE
(bootloader) meid: 00000000000000
(bootloader) product:
(bootloader) platform: HBOOT-8064
(bootloader) modelid: *********
(bootloader) cidnum:
(bootloader) battery-status: good
(bootloader) battery-voltage: 3587mV
(bootloader) partition-layout: Generic
(bootloader) security: off
(bootloader) build-mode: SHIP
(bootloader) boot-mode: UNKNOWN
(bootloader) commitno-bootloader: dirty-e47fb74b
(bootloader) hbootpreupdate: 11
(bootloader) gencheckpt: 0
all: Done!
finished. total time: 0.024s


fastboot recovery and erase cache commands are all failing. All I have I a blank screen. Can someone help me out?
Note: The phone had SuperCID and S-OFF and was unlocked using htcdev prior to the problem
 
 
28th May 2014, 04:57 PM |#2  
Seanie280672's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Halesowen
Thanks Meter: 639
 
Donate to Me
More
Write super CID back again, Super CID allows you do get updates, if its the sense 6 update your after you wont get it cos they've found a problem / bug and pulled it from the servers until further notice, people who did get it have the bug.
28th May 2014, 07:17 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seanie280672

Write super CID back again, Super CID allows you do get updates, if its the sense 6 update your after you wont get it cos they've found a problem / bug and pulled it from the servers until further notice, people who did get it have the bug.

I have. This is what I got:
C:\platform-tools>fastboot oem writecid 11111111
...
(bootloader) Start Verify: -1
(bootloader) Input CID is super CID
(bootloader) Start Verify: -1
OKAY [ 0.078s]
finished. total time: 0.078s


But when I input getvar, CID is still blank
29th May 2014, 05:29 PM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I'm thinking of downloading Ubuntu to try out the command in terminal
29th May 2014, 06:09 PM |#5  
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ickling

I'm thinking of downloading Ubuntu to try out the command in terminal

i'm pretty sure you have a problem with MID not CID, try writing your original MID back, and hope for the best... and make sure it's your original MID, down to every single character (not an extra 0, and not a missing 0, etc), exactly the way it was before.
30th May 2014, 09:44 AM |#6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkk71

i'm pretty sure you have a problem with MID not CID, try writing your original MID back, and hope for the best... and make sure it's your original MID, down to every single character (not an extra 0, and not a missing 0, etc), exactly the way it was before.

I've tried writing MID and what I get is this:
C:\platform-tools>fastboot oem writemid PN0771***
...
(bootloader) [ERR] Command error !!!
OKAY [ 0.002s]
finished. total time: 0.002s
30th May 2014, 09:57 AM |#7  
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ickling

I've tried writing MID and what I get is this:
C:\platform-tools>fastboot oem writemid PN0771***
...
(bootloader) [ERR] Command error !!!
OKAY [ 0.002s]
finished. total time: 0.002s

1- That command only works with ENG hboots

2- and what is PN0771*** supposed to be
30th May 2014, 02:01 PM |#8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
PN0771**** was the ModelId I saw before trying to change it
30th May 2014, 08:11 PM |#9  
DeathAngel66669's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 267
 
More
have you tried
fastboot oem writemid PN077100
?
2nd June 2014, 08:40 AM |#10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Yep. I've tried that, still the same error
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes