FORUMS

Sunday Debate: How Can We Get a No-Compromise Phone?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Compromises. Come with your opinions and … more

PSA: You Can Optimize Your Note 4’s Recents Menu & RAM

The Note 4 never had the fastest Recents Menu, and despite its 3GB of RAM, … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (July 25 – Aug 1)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Voices Of XDA: Orbiting The Earth With Android

Editor’s note: This week’s feature has been written by forum … more

[Q] Replaced digitizer touch screen on Asus Transformer T300 but is not working

3 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By Steveg10, Junior Member on 24th May 2014, 02:54 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi, my asus transformer T300 screen cracked. So I replaced the digitizer with a brand new one. (Correct Model 5158n) Put everything back and all looks ok but the touch screen is not working at all. My tablet comes on and I can see the screen but I unable to touch anything on the screen. I opened the tablet back up and reconnected everything about 5 times but the touch screen still doesn't work. Any Ideas. When I navigate down to the developer options using the keyboard and select show touches, I get a load of white dots flying around the screen. What does this mean? Do I have a faulty digitizer or is there anything else I can try to get the digitizer touch screen to start working.

Many Thanks

Steve G
 
 
28th May 2014, 11:34 AM |#2  
noahvt's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Antwerpen
Thanks Meter: 448
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steveg10

Hi, my asus transformer T300 screen cracked. So I replaced the digitizer with a brand new one. (Correct Model 5158n) Put everything back and all looks ok but the touch screen is not working at all. My tablet comes on and I can see the screen but I unable to touch anything on the screen. I opened the tablet back up and reconnected everything about 5 times but the touch screen still doesn't work. Any Ideas. When I navigate down to the developer options using the keyboard and select show touches, I get a load of white dots flying around the screen. What does this mean? Do I have a faulty digitizer or is there anything else I can try to get the digitizer touch screen to start working.

Many Thanks

Steve G

Did you toggle the service switch to off before removing the old digitizer?

Sent from my C5303 using XDA Free mobile app
28th May 2014, 11:58 AM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by noahvt

Did you toggle the service switch to off before removing the old digitizer?

Sent from my C5303 using XDA Free mobile app

No I didnt. do you think that has affected the digitizer ot the touchscreen board? and do you think not toggling the switch would have affected anything else? How do you think I can fix this problem? Would it be worth replacing the touchscreen main board?
28th May 2014, 05:44 PM |#4  
noahvt's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Antwerpen
Thanks Meter: 448
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steveg10

No I didnt. do you think that has affected the digitizer ot the touchscreen board? and do you think not toggling the switch would have affected anything else? How do you think I can fix this problem? Would it be worth replacing the touchscreen main board?

Yeah your touch screen main board is probably fried try to replace and toggle that switch off next time!
2nd June 2014, 02:54 AM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
What do you mean by the service switch?
2nd June 2014, 06:48 PM |#6  
noahvt's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Antwerpen
Thanks Meter: 448
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdonahue

What do you mean by the service switch?

There should be a little switch near the power button on the main board! Flip that before disconnecting anything and flip it again when everything is connected again

Sent from my C5303 using XDA Free mobile app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes