FORUMS

Android System WebView Update – XDA Xposed Tuesday

Android Webview is a system component powered by Chrome that allows Android … more

Hands-on With T-Mo LG G4 and Q&A

XDA Senior Member WinDroidGuy posted a hands-on video of the T-Mobile LG G4, and he is now … more

Quick Notes – Notification Panel Reminders

This app by XDA Senior Member yogi.306 is a quick and productive tool that … more

Who Is Your Favorite YouTuber That Covers Mobile?

There are dozens of talented YouTubers who cover mobile, but we want to know which … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Replaced digitizer touch screen on Asus Transformer T300 but is not working

24th May 2014, 02:54 PM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Hi, my asus transformer T300 screen cracked. So I replaced the digitizer with a brand new one. (Correct Model 5158n) Put everything back and all looks ok but the touch screen is not working at all. My tablet comes on and I can see the screen but I unable to touch anything on the screen. I opened the tablet back up and reconnected everything about 5 times but the touch screen still doesn't work. Any Ideas. When I navigate down to the developer options using the keyboard and select show touches, I get a load of white dots flying around the screen. What does this mean? Do I have a faulty digitizer or is there anything else I can try to get the digitizer touch screen to start working.

Many Thanks

Steve G
 
 
28th May 2014, 11:34 AM |#2  
noahvt's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Antwerpen
Thanks Meter: 444
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steveg10

Hi, my asus transformer T300 screen cracked. So I replaced the digitizer with a brand new one. (Correct Model 5158n) Put everything back and all looks ok but the touch screen is not working at all. My tablet comes on and I can see the screen but I unable to touch anything on the screen. I opened the tablet back up and reconnected everything about 5 times but the touch screen still doesn't work. Any Ideas. When I navigate down to the developer options using the keyboard and select show touches, I get a load of white dots flying around the screen. What does this mean? Do I have a faulty digitizer or is there anything else I can try to get the digitizer touch screen to start working.

Many Thanks

Steve G

Did you toggle the service switch to off before removing the old digitizer?

Sent from my C5303 using XDA Free mobile app
28th May 2014, 11:58 AM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by noahvt

Did you toggle the service switch to off before removing the old digitizer?

Sent from my C5303 using XDA Free mobile app

No I didnt. do you think that has affected the digitizer ot the touchscreen board? and do you think not toggling the switch would have affected anything else? How do you think I can fix this problem? Would it be worth replacing the touchscreen main board?
28th May 2014, 05:44 PM |#4  
noahvt's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Antwerpen
Thanks Meter: 444
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steveg10

No I didnt. do you think that has affected the digitizer ot the touchscreen board? and do you think not toggling the switch would have affected anything else? How do you think I can fix this problem? Would it be worth replacing the touchscreen main board?

Yeah your touch screen main board is probably fried try to replace and toggle that switch off next time!
2nd June 2014, 02:54 AM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
What do you mean by the service switch?
2nd June 2014, 06:48 PM |#6  
noahvt's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Antwerpen
Thanks Meter: 444
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdonahue

What do you mean by the service switch?

There should be a little switch near the power button on the main board! Flip that before disconnecting anything and flip it again when everything is connected again

Sent from my C5303 using XDA Free mobile app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes