5,814,863 Members 47,978 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Connects but doesn't surf wifi!

Tip us?
 
khaleel5000
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 25
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default Connects but doesn't surf wifi!

Hi, I have this s3 mini (SM G730W8) . I have had it for 4 months and never had any problems. But since yesterday, it connects to wifi network internet doesn't work. Chrome says you are offline after trying , apps can't connect etc.

The device works fine on LTE.
Other devices can connect to the same wifi and are working fine, even other samsung devices.

Please advise.
 
efaustino84
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 251
Posts: 772
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Harare
Quote:
Originally Posted by khaleel5000 View Post
Hi, I have this s3 mini (SM G730W8) . I have had it for 4 months and never had any problems. But since yesterday, it connects to wifi network internet doesn't work. Chrome says you are offline after trying , apps can't connect etc.

The device works fine on LTE.
Other devices can connect to the same wifi and are working fine, even other samsung devices.

Please advise.
delete the saved wifi network and add it again
Use the search functionality before you post as the question may have already been asked

I don't need donations, all I ask for is a bit of thanks and some appreciation for my work
My Work
 
khaleel5000
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 25
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by efaustino84 View Post
delete the saved wifi network and add it again
Hi, thanks for your reply.
I tried doing that, tried deleting +restarting then adding. But unfortunately still same problem.
 
efaustino84
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 251
Posts: 772
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Harare
Quote:
Originally Posted by khaleel5000 View Post
Hi, thanks for your reply.
I tried doing that, tried deleting +restarting then adding. But unfortunately still same problem.
when your phone connects to the wifi does it obtain an ip address?
Use the search functionality before you post as the question may have already been asked

I don't need donations, all I ask for is a bit of thanks and some appreciation for my work
My Work
 
khaleel5000
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 25
Join Date: Feb 2011
I believe so, it even shows connected to xyz network. But when I start browsing...nothing!

Oddly enough, even when I try to connect to those free wifi networks which require 'sign in' as opposed to username/password. The 'signin' page doesn't open either!
 
tys0n
Old
#6  
tys0n's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,246
Posts: 1,982
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Stockholm
I would have reflashed stock firmware to see if it solves it, otherwise it must be some hardware failure.

Sent through time and space from my s3mini/CM11
 
khaleel5000
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 25
Join Date: Feb 2011
ok, thanks. I will check it out over the weekend.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Change the Style of Your Notifications with HeadsUp

Head Up notifications is one of these upcoming features that Android developers hid deep … more

Google Play Store to Show Price Ranges for In-App Purchases

Google recently announced a change to Google Play Store policy that requires … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: How to Shut Up Your Phone – XDA Developer TV

So many different applications want to send us notifications that … more

Add Some Power to First Generation Snapdragon CPUs

Some older devices still remain very popular. Phones like theHTC Desire, Sony Ericsson … more