M9: Is Throttling a Non-issue? Can’t We Trust Benchmarks?

When the first reports of the M9 overheating came to light, many forum … more

Unofficial Omni 5.1 for the Xperia Z

Unofficial Omni 5.1 builds just landed on the Xperia Z (yuga), thanks to recognized Developer … more

What’s Next For Pebble?

It is all well and good stating figures, but what does $20 million of crowd funding mean for a company? … more

LG G4 Note Picture Leaked, Oxygen OS Delayed – XDA TV

The LG G4 Note has been leaked! That and much more news is covered by Jordan … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Connects but doesn't surf wifi!

31st May 2014, 04:25 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Hi, I have this s3 mini (SM G730W8) . I have had it for 4 months and never had any problems. But since yesterday, it connects to wifi network internet doesn't work. Chrome says you are offline after trying , apps can't connect etc.

The device works fine on LTE.
Other devices can connect to the same wifi and are working fine, even other samsung devices.

Please advise.
31st May 2014, 03:53 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Harare
Thanks Meter: 255
 
777 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by khaleel5000

Hi, I have this s3 mini (SM G730W8) . I have had it for 4 months and never had any problems. But since yesterday, it connects to wifi network internet doesn't work. Chrome says you are offline after trying , apps can't connect etc.

The device works fine on LTE.
Other devices can connect to the same wifi and are working fine, even other samsung devices.

Please advise.

delete the saved wifi network and add it again
31st May 2014, 08:44 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by efaustino84

delete the saved wifi network and add it again

Hi, thanks for your reply.
I tried doing that, tried deleting +restarting then adding. But unfortunately still same problem.
1st June 2014, 09:58 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Harare
Thanks Meter: 255
 
777 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by khaleel5000

Hi, thanks for your reply.
I tried doing that, tried deleting +restarting then adding. But unfortunately still same problem.

when your phone connects to the wifi does it obtain an ip address?
2nd June 2014, 06:15 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
I believe so, it even shows connected to xyz network. But when I start browsing...nothing!

Oddly enough, even when I try to connect to those free wifi networks which require 'sign in' as opposed to username/password. The 'signin' page doesn't open either!
2nd June 2014, 06:30 PM   |  #6  
tys0n's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Stockholm
Thanks Meter: 1,270
 
1,982 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
I would have reflashed stock firmware to see if it solves it, otherwise it must be some hardware failure.

Sent through time and space from my s3mini/CM11
3rd June 2014, 12:15 AM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
ok, thanks. I will check it out over the weekend.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes