Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,772,395 Members 46,818 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Connects but doesn't surf wifi!

Tip us?
 
khaleel5000
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 23
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default Connects but doesn't surf wifi!

Hi, I have this s3 mini (SM G730W8) . I have had it for 4 months and never had any problems. But since yesterday, it connects to wifi network internet doesn't work. Chrome says you are offline after trying , apps can't connect etc.

The device works fine on LTE.
Other devices can connect to the same wifi and are working fine, even other samsung devices.

Please advise.
 
efaustino84
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 251
Posts: 772
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Harare
Quote:
Originally Posted by khaleel5000 View Post
Hi, I have this s3 mini (SM G730W8) . I have had it for 4 months and never had any problems. But since yesterday, it connects to wifi network internet doesn't work. Chrome says you are offline after trying , apps can't connect etc.

The device works fine on LTE.
Other devices can connect to the same wifi and are working fine, even other samsung devices.

Please advise.
delete the saved wifi network and add it again
Use the search functionality before you post as the question may have already been asked

I don't need donations, all I ask for is a bit of thanks and some appreciation for my work
My Work
 
khaleel5000
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 23
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by efaustino84 View Post
delete the saved wifi network and add it again
Hi, thanks for your reply.
I tried doing that, tried deleting +restarting then adding. But unfortunately still same problem.
 
efaustino84
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 251
Posts: 772
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Harare
Quote:
Originally Posted by khaleel5000 View Post
Hi, thanks for your reply.
I tried doing that, tried deleting +restarting then adding. But unfortunately still same problem.
when your phone connects to the wifi does it obtain an ip address?
Use the search functionality before you post as the question may have already been asked

I don't need donations, all I ask for is a bit of thanks and some appreciation for my work
My Work
 
khaleel5000
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 23
Join Date: Feb 2011
I believe so, it even shows connected to xyz network. But when I start browsing...nothing!

Oddly enough, even when I try to connect to those free wifi networks which require 'sign in' as opposed to username/password. The 'signin' page doesn't open either!
 
tys0n
Old
#6  
tys0n's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1231
Posts: 1,979
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Stockholm
I would have reflashed stock firmware to see if it solves it, otherwise it must be some hardware failure.

Sent through time and space from my s3mini/CM11
 
khaleel5000
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 23
Join Date: Feb 2011
ok, thanks. I will check it out over the weekend.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Get Your Special xda:devcon ’14 Hotel And Conference Rate While It Lasts

By now you’ve definitely heard about XDA’s … more

Google Chromecast Rootable Once Again!

Over the six months, theGoogle Chromecasthas gained a considerable amount of official functionality. … more

YAATA isn’t Just Another Android Texting App

Although our mobile devices today are capable of executingnearly every task we normally … more

MacroDroid Update Brings Android Wear Automation

A few months ago, we talked about MacroDroid. For those who don’t remember, MacroDroid … more