Post Reply

[Q] Restore S4 from a bootloop with the no recovery?

OP CountVlad

15th April 2014, 06:41 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
i just bought an s4 and i kind'a messed upped the recovery. so everytime i boot into recovery it doesn't show the recovery screen and restarts.
i tried to go to download mode but it also doesn't go download mode and restarts.
now, its in a bootloop after an atemp of increasing the ram size of my s4.
could anyone please show me a way on how i could recover/reset my phone?

P.S. i tried searching the net for answers but not even one at 10th o of google.
15th April 2014, 06:55 AM   |  #2  
jeffsf's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag San Francisco
Thanks Meter: 977
 
1,086 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
You have a Galaxy S 4, yes?

"These are not the phones you're looking for."

Look for "back to stock" or the like in the proper S 4 forum.

---
Posted from whatever phone booted today
15th April 2014, 07:05 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
i have an Galaxy s4.

can you please rephrase your paragraph, i cant understand it.
15th April 2014, 02:35 PM   |  #4  
garwynn's Avatar
Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Flag Chi-town
Thanks Meter: 7,592
 
4,696 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Donate to Me
More
Thread moved to International S4 Q&A.
Please add your model number as there are various types of S4s, mainly Exynos or Qualcomm based.
This will help others as well in assisting you.

And just curious, how are you trying to increase RAM size? A physical modification?
Last edited by garwynn; 15th April 2014 at 02:49 PM.
15th April 2014, 03:52 PM   |  #5  
ranger4740's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 445
 
1,446 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Why don't you flash a custom recovery again?

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
16th April 2014, 02:52 AM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
i cant flash a new recovery since i cant go to fastboot/download mode and recovery mode.

my phone model is GT-I9500

i am trying to increase my ram using the app AParted, i am using a swap file, after i increased the ram.
also, i tried to make a new partition on my sd card(60% android readable, 20% link2sd partition, 20% additional ram partition), but i forgot to unmount sd before making another partition on my sd card.(the guide for aparted told me to unmount[not remove] my sd card first before doing any operations)
Last edited by CountVlad; 16th April 2014 at 02:57 AM.
16th April 2014, 08:35 AM   |  #7  
ranger4740's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 445
 
1,446 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Well yes I guess if you can't get to download mode you can't flash recovery 😔.
Can you boot into your rom? If you can have you tried using either a 3rd party rebooted to get into download mode?
Here's another thing there are lots of clone/fake i9500 is yours a real one?
You know you can't actually resize ram it's a fixed value you can of course create swap memory which is a bit of a compromise. Are you sure you are using the right terminology?
Your talking about link2sd which is used to extend app storage not ram. Ram is the working memory.
So what I think your trying to do is create an ext partition on sd card for extended app storage yes?
What you said your trying to do is very confusing.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
16th April 2014, 09:26 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Netherlands
Thanks Meter: 257
 
1,794 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
Try removing the sdcard and then booting into the download mode.
2nd June 2014, 06:58 AM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
sorry for the long wait for my reply.
yes my phone is real.
and i used link2sd and it worked, i already have a partition, i used aParted for using a swapfile te extend my ram
3rd June 2014, 05:09 AM   |  #10  
Zaraee's Avatar
Member
Flag Kuala Lumpur
Thanks Meter: 14
 
51 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by CountVlad

sorry for the long wait for my reply.
yes my phone is real.
and i used link2sd and it worked, i already have a partition, i used aParted for using a swapfile te extend my ram

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lennyz1988

Try removing the sdcard and then booting into the download mode.

if you can go to download or recovery mode after removing sdcard or even normal boot i suggest you remove the app
and if you still can't get it out then send your phone for repair.

I'm once hard brick my device by using app to extend my ram, on other phone of course!

if you use GALAXY S4, you probably have enough ram to to play around

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Galaxy S 4 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank