Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,738,867 Members 41,177 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Australian Owners of Optimus G Pro HELP

Tip us?
 
djfunktrip
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Jun 2013
Default Australian Owners of Optimus G Pro HELP

Thought i'd start this thread so australian owners of this phone can help each other out.

I bought this phone & had it shipped to AUS at a cost of about $290 AUD. The phone is to replace my Galaxy note 2 that got smashed.

At half the price i originally paid for the GN2 it seemed like a good deal!.

However when i got it i realised it is actually a refurb & its is also pre-rooted

However I can't get it to detect any sim that has been installed, tried TELSTRA 3g & 4g sims - Also tried Optus sim, no detecting of sim.

The specs/details of this phone are:
This XML file does not appear to have any style information associated with it. The document tree is shown below.
<response req_cmd="auth_model_check" status="OK">
<auth_model_check>
<result>OK</result>
<esn>3550............</esn>
<model>LGF240L</model>
<suffix>ALGTWH</suffix>
<msn>304KPDT.........</msn>
<esn_date/>
<sw_version>F240L20F_00</sw_version>
<sw_url>
http://pkg02.xcdn.gdms.lge.com/dn/do...240L20f_00.kdz
</sw_url>
<sw_locale_url/>
<sw_recommand_uri/>
<app_version/>
<app_url/>
<cs_em_flag>N</cs_em_flag>
<cs_em_uri>N</cs_em_uri>
<chip_type>EG</chip_type>
<prod_type>CDMA</prod_type>
</auth_model_check>
</response>

BASEBAND VERSION
APQ8064T/MDM9X15M

BUILD NUMBER
JZ054K-XMX

SOFTWARE VERSION
LG-F240-EUR

It has clockworkMod Recovery v6.0.2.8 installed.



> I figured I would try to go back to stock and install KITKAT. I tried to use the method here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2420219 but, it didn't work.

> So what should i try next?

> my goal is to have KITKAT (rooted OR not don't care)
> but just want it to detect the sim cards!


DO I NEED TO MESS AROUND WITH MODEMS OR BASEBANDS OR KERNELS? if so what should i try first?
 
MitoTakatori
Old
#2  
MitoTakatori's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 191
Posts: 1,341
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Quezon City
Quote:
Originally Posted by djfunktrip View Post
Thought i'd start this thread so australian owners of this phone can help each other out.

I bought this phone & had it shipped to AUS at a cost of about $290 AUD. The phone is to replace my Galaxy note 2 that got smashed.

At half the price i originally paid for the GN2 it seemed like a good deal!.

However when i got it i realised it is actually a refurb & its is also pre-rooted

However I can't get it to detect any sim that has been installed, tried TELSTRA 3g & 4g sims - Also tried Optus sim, no detecting of sim.

The specs/details of this phone are:
This XML file does not appear to have any style information associated with it. The document tree is shown below.
<response req_cmd="auth_model_check" status="OK">
<auth_model_check>
<result>OK</result>
<esn>3550............</esn>
<model>LGF240L</model>
<suffix>ALGTWH</suffix>
<msn>304KPDT.........</msn>
<esn_date/>
<sw_version>F240L20F_00</sw_version>
<sw_url>
http://pkg02.xcdn.gdms.lge.com/dn/do...240L20f_00.kdz
</sw_url>
<sw_locale_url/>
<sw_recommand_uri/>
<app_version/>
<app_url/>
<cs_em_flag>N</cs_em_flag>
<cs_em_uri>N</cs_em_uri>
<chip_type>EG</chip_type>
<prod_type>CDMA</prod_type>
</auth_model_check>
</response>

BASEBAND VERSION
APQ8064T/MDM9X15M

BUILD NUMBER
JZ054K-XMX

SOFTWARE VERSION
LG-F240-EUR

It has clockworkMod Recovery v6.0.2.8 installed.



> I figured I would try to go back to stock and install KITKAT. I tried to use the method here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2420219 but, it didn't work.

> So what should i try next?

> my goal is to have KITKAT (rooted OR not don't care)
> but just want it to detect the sim cards!


DO I NEED TO MESS AROUND WITH MODEMS OR BASEBANDS OR KERNELS? if so what should i try first?
Hi. As I see, your G PRO is Korean. Such as F240 is for Korean versions. However, it may have been converted to Korean for the KitKat ROM. You mean SIM is not being detected, that it says SERVICE DISABLED? If so, Try this:

1. Flash KDZ of Mexico from here: http://csmgdl.lgmobile.com/dn/downlo...980H10A_00.kdz
2. Then flash your desired KDZ.

This worked for me so, feel free to try it!
Genius.

DEVICE: LG Optimus G Pro F240
ROM: VANIR 4.4.4


OTHER DEVICE:
Nokia X7 - MiG CFW 3.3
 
djfunktrip
Old
(Last edited by djfunktrip; 28th May 2014 at 06:39 AM.) Reason: forgot stuff
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by MitoTakatori View Post
Hi. As I see, your G PRO is Korean. Such as F240 is for Korean versions. However, it may have been converted to Korean for the KitKat ROM. You mean SIM is not being detected, that it says SERVICE DISABLED? If so, Try this:

1. Flash KDZ of Mexico from here: http://csmgdl.lgmobile.com/dn/downlo...980H10A_00.kdz
2. Then flash your desired KDZ.

This worked for me so, feel free to try it!

I think the phone is definitely F240, well that's what the stickers says on the inside & what is reported by the IMEI checking link.
So maybe not a good idea putting E980 firmware??

EDIT: constant message on screen saying "check the USIM card is installed. cell phone function is limited"
 
MitoTakatori
Old
#4  
MitoTakatori's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 191
Posts: 1,341
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Quezon City
Quote:
Originally Posted by djfunktrip View Post
I think the phone is definitely F240, well that's what the stickers says on the inside & what is reported by the IMEI checking link.
So maybe not a good idea putting E980 firmware??

EDIT: constant message on screen saying "check the USIM card is installed. cell phone function is limited"
Even though the SIM is inserted it displays that message?
Genius.

DEVICE: LG Optimus G Pro F240
ROM: VANIR 4.4.4


OTHER DEVICE:
Nokia X7 - MiG CFW 3.3
 
djfunktrip
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Jun 2013
Yes, i tried two different sims. same message.... the phone doesn't seem to recognize any australian sim
 
djfunktrip
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Jun 2013
These are the freq available on different Australian mobile networks
2G

2G, other wise known as GSM, is standard on almost all phones (except CDMA phones in the USA). Most new phones come with quad band GSM support. A quad band GSM phone supports 850, 900, 1800, and 1900MHz.

2G is old technology and provides a fall back position when 3G coverage is unavailable.

Australian 2G bands:

900Mhz (Telstra, Optus & Vodafone)
1800Mhz (Telstra, Optus & Vodafone)
3G

There are several 3G networks operating in Australia. 3G frequencies are usually specified as UMTS/HSDPA or WCDMA frequencies on the mobile phone specifications.

Australian 3G bands:

850MHz (Telstra, Vodafone) Exclusive 3G band
900MHz (Optus, Vodafone) available in most metro areas on Optus, with both Optus and Vodafone re-farming the 2G 900 spectrum in regional and rural areas
2100MHz (Telstra, Optus, Vodafone) Exclusive 3G band
4G

Australia is currently using these LTE bands (LTE bandmask in brackets):

2100Mhz (B1) FDD (0000000000000001) Telstra (3G spectrum)
1800Mhz (B3) FDD (0000000000000004) Telstra, Optus, Vodafone
900Mhz (B8) FDD (0000000000000080) Telstra, Vodafone?, Optus (utilises spectrum previously used by 2G)
2300Mhz (B40) TDD (0000008000000000) Optus (Vivid wireless spectrum)
To follow late 2014:

2600Mhz (B7) FDD (0000000000000040) Telstra, Optus, TPG?
700Mhz (B28) FDD (0000000008000000) Telstra, Optus



This is what the F240 Optimus G Pro supports.
GSM-1800; GSM-1900; GSM-900; UMTS(3G)-2100; UMTS(3G)-1900; LTE(4G)-2100; LTE(4G)-850

CHECK YOUR PHONE HERE: http://checkphone.australianphone.com.au/


So looks likes optus is the best bet for anyone wanting a F240



However I cant get any sim to detect so it must be a hardware faults, any good way to test hardware?
 
djfunktrip
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Jun 2013
so no one in aus seems to use this phone.... can someone tell me why?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Browse the Internet with the Innovative Atlas Web Browser

For the most part, Chrome, Firefox, and Dolphin Browser have no real rivals among … more

Choose from Over a Thousand Battery Styles with 3Minit Battery Mod

The battery style in stock Android looks pretty dull. It doesn’t … more

Organize Your Cloud Storage Files with Unclouded

Cloud storage services like Dropbox or Google Drive have grown in popularity dramatically … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: Blur Your System Notification Panel – XDA Developer TV

Listen, we love innovative applications and modules that … more