Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,733,460 Members 40,423 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

sim unlock after OTA 4.4 update?

Tip us?
 
georgia411
Old
#11  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by carb0nrain View Post
Hmmm. That is interesting. The only thing that i can think of is your QC diagnostic driver may be corrupted somehow? Did you follow the video tutorial (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mm2NKdXdHnc) to install it? Also can you post a screenshot with your device manager open while your phone is connected in bp tools mode. In you device manager expand the "Other Devices" tab.
im gonna try reinstalling the drivers, i forgot how to delete them though do you know the location cause they arent under installed programs
 
carb0nrain
Old
(Last edited by carb0nrain; 27th May 2014 at 11:53 PM.)
#12  
carb0nrain's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 19
Join Date: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by georgia411 View Post
im gonna try reinstalling the drivers, i forgot how to delete them though do you know the location cause they arent under installed programs
Under installed programs, look for a name that begins with Motorola. Good Luck. If it isn't under installed programs, then I don't think they are installed. If so, go grab the official drivers from here: http://www.mymotocast.com/download/MDM?platform=windows
 
georgia411
Old
#13  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by carb0nrain View Post
Under installed programs, look for a name that begins with Motorola. Good Luck. If it isn't under installed programs, then I don't think they are installed. If so, go grab the official drivers from here: http://www.mymotocast.com/download/MDM?platform=windows
ok thanks for all the help, i think ive made progress. i switched the cable i was using with my brothers razr m with my blu studio 5.3s cable and loaded up cdma workshop 2.7 and i was able to do all the steps. another issue i found is the other cable wasnt letting me install the qc interface. so now i gotta wait for him to come over and put in his straight talk sim and hopefully we are back in business with it . ill let you know how it goes when hes able to come over

thanks again
 
carb0nrain
Old
#14  
carb0nrain's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 19
Join Date: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by georgia411 View Post
ok thanks for all the help, i think ive made progress. i switched the cable i was using with my brothers razr m with my blu studio 5.3s cable and loaded up cdma workshop 2.7 and i was able to do all the steps. another issue i found is the other cable wasnt letting me install the qc interface. so now i gotta wait for him to come over and put in his straight talk sim and hopefully we are back in business with it . ill let you know how it goes when hes able to come over

thanks again
No problem, glad I was able to help. Have a good rest of your day. Hopefully everything works out.
 
georgia411
Old
#15  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: Jan 2014
thanks, much and you have a good one as well.

just to recap for anyone else having this issue here goes what was wrong.

the issue: droid razr m xt907 on straight talk updated to 4.4 and service was lost

first thing make sure all your drivers are installed. in you have the phone plugged in and you dont see QC Interface then uninstall all and reference the links listed above in the other replies (or i may have them listed if i edit)

now make sure your usb cable is working, the one for this phone would not work properly for this so the blu studio 5.3s cable worked great. make sure you have cdma workshop and the spn code is "000000" aka six zeros.

follow all the steps in the tutorial and you should be up and running. this phone does work on straight talk if you follow the tutorial.
 
georgia411
Old
#16  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by carb0nrain View Post
No problem, glad I was able to help. Have a good rest of your day. Hopefully everything works out.
hey buddy i put the sim card in today and it wont work i done everything by the tutorial and it writes the file. when the phone restarts if i do a network search it shows ATT but it will not connect. any ideas?
 
carb0nrain
Old
(Last edited by carb0nrain; 29th May 2014 at 04:06 AM.)
#17  
carb0nrain's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 19
Join Date: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by georgia411 View Post
hey buddy i put the sim card in today and it wont work i done everything by the tutorial and it writes the file. when the phone restarts if i do a network search it shows ATT but it will not connect. any ideas?
Yeah, I think the problem is that it knows that its ATT but it doesn't know what to do with the connection. You probably have to set a manual APN setting. Go to Settings-->Wireless&Networks-->More-->Mobile Networks-->Access Point Names-->Add Button(Upper Right Corner)

Use the following values:

NAME: (type anything you like, this doesn't matter. Use "AT&T Phone" or "My Phone", something like that. Just remember that every access point you create should have a different name.)
APN: wap.cingular
Proxy: (not set)
Port: (not set)
Username: wap@cingulargprs.com
Password: CINGULAR1
Server: (not set)
MMSC: http://mmsc.cingular.com
MMS Proxy: wireless.cingular.com
MMS port: 80
MCC: 310
MNC: 410
Authentication Type: (not set)
APN type: (not set)
APN protocol: IPv4
APN: enabled (may need to check this, not sure about your model)
Bearer: unspecified

*DOUBLE CHECK SPELLING*

These values may not work. They were just the first ones i saw. If they don't work, then i will look for a new set of values.

If they dont work, also try the same settings with the username and password blank

When its added make sure you click on it in the access point names list.

Also go back from the access names list and make sure your "Prefferred Network Type" is set to Global.

Hopefully this works for you.
 
Games Goblin
Old
#18  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Oct 2010
Question Does GSM mode with APN settings still work in 4.4.2

I have a Verizon RAZR M running on stock 4.1.2 + root + Xposed. I am using a GSM sim on my phone and I'm getting HSPA+ data (so I guess my phone is "unlocked" as I can use another carrier).

My question is does the 4.4.2 ROM support GSM mode and can we add/edit apn in the 4.4.2 rom?
 
carb0nrain
Old
#19  
carb0nrain's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 19
Join Date: Aug 2013
You can edit/add APNs on 4.4.2 and I'm pretty sure you can use GSM on a 4.4.2 ROM.

Sent from my DROID RAZR M using XDA Free mobile app
 
notrite63
Old
#20  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Mar 2014
Default Razr M Kitkat Straight Talk AT&T sims

I updated to KitKat 4.4.2. and my service stopped. I used Radiocomm to set the NV to 00. I failed at least three times. You have to enable developer options, usb debugging and boot up in Factory mode. Follow the instruction that have been poster on this form = http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2166542 After I changed the NV I always pressed the restart button. After the phone has rebooted, unplug it and turn it off. Close Radiocomm and open Radiocomm up again. Boot phone back up in Factory mode and connect back usb to Radiocomm. Read the NV again. If it still 00, it has worked. Radiocomm, like people have said, will not see your phone unless usb debugging and Factory mode have not been set. My only complaint is that JB worked prefect and KK has the "Modem Fast Dormancy Monitor Service" screw up. Me and my wifes phone both are effected by this. Our JB battery life was real good. Now we both have reboots 2 or 3 times a day. My battery was dead one morning. I have found no help for this. Good luck with your phone. My Straight Talk AT&T service is really good. Fast Dormancy errors will make me buy some another phone unless Motorola issues a fix. I'm not going to hold my breathe!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Shane Francis to Talk Android, Robotics, and Vision at XDA:DevCon 2014

Our international xda:devcon 14in Manchester, UK on the weekend of … more

LG G Watch Tool is a Toolkit all Owners Need

The LG G Watch is one of the first two devices hitting the market rocking the highly anticipated … more

Benchmark Your CPU Performance with Mini CPU Integer Script

When it comes to device testing, there are two types of people on XDA. The first … more

Rid Yourself of Charging Annoyances with No Wake on Charge Xposed Module

Almost every OEM has skinned and otherwise modifiedAndroid to suit … more