Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,985 Members 53,786 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] MHL works on TabPro but it doesn't on S4

Tip us?
 
jaswinky
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 98
Posts: 609
Join Date: Jun 2009
Default [Q] MHL works on TabPro but it doesn't on S4

Hi,

I've just bought this MHL cable:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...nsearchshop-20

The problem is that it works perfect on my new Samsung Galaxy Tab Pro 10.1 (even without extra power supply, so it is 11 pins MHL 2.0), but it doesn't wotk on my S4 (i9500, last stock KK rom, custom recovery and rooted).

Do I need to activate any extra setting on the S4? I know it is not a samsung MHL cable, but is it possible that same MHL cable works fine on one device but it doesn't on a different device even for the same brand (Samsung)?????

Thanks,
 
Lennyz1988
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 180
Posts: 1,512
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Netherlands
It's probably because your Galaxy Tab is not rooted.

If you want a fix, you have to make one yourself. There is a fix for the I9505 and for older firmwares of the i9500, but not for Kitkat.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2621550
Current:

Samsung Galaxy S 4 I9505 | WanamLite v2.6

Retired:

Samsung Galaxy S II I9100 : AOKP 4.2.1
HTC Touch Pro2 | ROM: Valkyrie 6.5.23115TR2.5
HTC HD2 | DarkStone1337 [FroyoStone Sense - V3.2]
HTC Desire : Oxygen v2.1.3
The Following User Says Thank You to Lennyz1988 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jaswinky
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 98
Posts: 609
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lennyz1988 View Post
It's probably because your Galaxy Tab is not rooted.

If you want a fix, you have to make one yourself. There is a fix for the I9505 and for older firmwares of the i9500, but not for Kitkat.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2621550
Yes, you could be right, my tabpro isn't yet rooted, I was thinking in rooting it this week so, should I assume that once rooted mhl won't work on my new tab? Mmmmmm...

I will check that thread and libs and I will also try mhl in my s4 unrooted...

Thanks!

Enviado desde mi GT-I9500 mediante Tapatalk
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes