Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Sony Album/Gallery shows cache and thumbnails?

OP sumpf2

3rd June 2014, 01:39 AM   |  #1  
sumpf2's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 23
 
198 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Since the Sony Album app got the last update cache and thumbnail pictures from Walkman and Album start to pop up in my Album app..

I never had that problem with the old app, but now they always pop up when Album generates them. Even if I delete them, half an hour later they are back.
The folders the thumbnails and cache pictures are comming from are /sdcard/Android/data/com.sonyericsson.album , com.sonyericsson.music and com.sonyericsson.movie.


What I tried was to make a new .nomedia file in all of these folders, but if I do so the folders are still in the Album app. When I click on them they are just empty, but the app shows "22 pictures" beneath the title of the folder.

I like the new Album app more then the old one.. Is there any way to get rid of these folders without using the old version? :/


edit: Also these goddamn facebook images or smileys or whatever they call them are now showing, never had that before too.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	sketch-1401751448598.jpg
Views:	234
Size:	141.0 KB
ID:	2777353  
3rd June 2014, 08:15 AM   |  #2  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Manchester
Thanks Meter: 4,570
 
10,016 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Find the folder where they are stored and add a file called

.nomedia


That file stops the mediascanner from scanning that folder.
3rd June 2014, 02:12 PM   |  #3  
sumpf2's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 23
 
198 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregbradley

Find the folder where they are stored and add a file called

.nomedia


That file stops the mediascanner from scanning that folder.


I already did. If i put .nomedia files in the folder and in the folder above the folder itself still shows in the gallerie including the "22 pictures" beneath it. But when i open the folder it shows that there are no pictures in it (because oft .nomedia)
3rd June 2014, 02:53 PM   |  #4  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Manchester
Thanks Meter: 4,570
 
10,016 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sumpf2

I already did. If i put .nomedia files in the folder and in the folder above the folder itself still shows in the gallerie including the "22 pictures" beneath it. But when i open the folder it shows that there are no pictures in it (because oft .nomedia)

Clear the cache of the gallery

The .nomedia file will not stop you seeing the files in a folder using an explorer app, it just stops the media scanner seeing them.
You will have have another folder somewhere with the cache of thumbnails in them. Goto settings apps and clear data for the gallery
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes