Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,772,157 Members 42,777 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] [S-On][Unbranded]Firmware Question

Tip us?
 
mazhar_uchiha
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jun 2014
Question [Q] [S-On][Unbranded]Firmware Question

Hey Guys,

I have an unbranded HTC Amaze(Asian Version), s-on and rooted, recently I tried to flash Cyanogenmod 10 on it using 4ext, it flashed fine, but after starting, it kept hanging and rebooting, so I researched a bit and found out that my firmware is still the old gingerbread one, and to upgrade it I would have to turn s-off first.
However, I found a stock T-mobile Gingerbread ROM ,and flashed it its working fine now, and the it also allows me to update the system to ICS officially using the update available.
But my question is that if I update my android officially using the ICS update available, would it update my kernel as well? So I may be able to flash custom ICS roms on it.


Any help would be greatly appreciated thnx
 
chevycowboyusa
Old
(Last edited by chevycowboyusa; 3rd June 2014 at 12:25 AM.)
#2  
chevycowboyusa's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2906
Posts: 2,252
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Victorville, Ca

 
DONATE TO ME
Yes, it'll upgrade the software, kernel, and radio. But it's not recommended to do.

There's a link to the guide to upgrade the Asian amaze in the OP of the viper thread.

Follow the guide and read it thoroughly first.

Afaik you should use the guide and it'll then you'll be good!

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Viper Amaze thread http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2198480
Liberty thread http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2637730
The First Sense 5 rom for the Amaze

ViperAmaze Dev



<-- If I've helped you, Click on that little THANKS button over yonder!

 
mazhar_uchiha
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by chevycowboyusa View Post
Yes, it'll upgrade the software, kernel, and radio. But it's not recommended to do.

There's a link to the guide to upgrade the Asian amaze in the OP of the viper thread.

Follow the guide and read it thoroughly first.

Afaik you should use the guide and it'll then you'll be good!
Alright but as Im not using the stock RUU anymore, but the T-mobile one, so would I be able to turn S-off ? because I read that stock RUU is a must if u want to go s-off?

.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes